We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Lovers: Don't be afraid of "Vegetarian"”
Review of Laibon

Laibon
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers: Don't be afraid of "Vegetarian"”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. Our tour guide also recommended it. What a great surprise--beautiful ambiance and delicious food. We had had our fill of meat lately, so the vegetarian menu was a welcomed change. A combination plate for 2, appetizer, and two large beers was under $40. The hummus is amazing and you cant' go wrong when you customize many different options on the combination plate. The view of the castle and location on the river was the cherry on the cake. If we had more time in Cesky Krumlov, we would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TarheelDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    205
    62
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent veggie food in a great location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is great veggie restaurant with a superb range of really tasty treats on the menu. We dined here 3 times whilst we were in Cesky Krumlov and found the food to be consistently very good .The service is really good and friendly.We were lucky enough to dine outside on each occasion, within feet of the Vltava river and with the castle in the background (very romantic). lovely Czech wine is also on the menu (we particularly like the Frankovka). Next time we are in Cesky Krumlov we would definitely dine here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 125Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place, perfect food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I'm not vegetarian, but I really enjoy expirience in this restaurant. And also perfect view on Krumlov.
100% recommend!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Accidently found, wonderful meal!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our tour group had stopped at Cesky Krumlov, on the way from Prague to Vienna. We were tired of the same mystery meat in mystery sauce meals typical in the region and apparently in most of the restaurants in this town. We wandered down a quiet side street looking for something different and luckily found Laibon. It has a great vegetarian menu along with some pastas for non-veggie folks like me. Our food was fabulous, tasty, and quickly served. Serving staff spoke great English so ordering and requests were easy for us. We sat outside, along the river, watching kayakers float the river. It was the best experience of our day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highlight of our wonderful visit to Cesky Krumlov”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A meal at Laibon is not to be missed during any visit to Cesky Krumlov, whether you're vegetarian or not! We loved every minute of our 2-day stay in Cesky Krumlov, and Laibon was one of the many highlights. The menu is extensive, and a great relief from the meat-heavy offerings in most local eateries, and offers many vegan options as well. We loved the soup of the day, guacamole, hummus, tofu salad, the homemade lemonade, and many of the other dishes we tried in our 3 visits. The blueberry dumplings, which can be made vegan on request, we the undoubted highpoint for our vegan daughter. But it's also worth visiting Laibon for the excellent and very personalised service, the riverside location, and the interesting cave-like indoor seating area. We can't wait to visit Cesky Krumlov again, and Laibon will be our first point of call when we do!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laibon also viewed

Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 

Been to Laibon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing