We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to the Czech Republic - outstanding!”
Review of Penzion Krumlov

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penzion Krumlov
Ranked #3 of 139 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Our first trip to the Czech Republic - outstanding!”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed in this excellent Pension in Cesky Krumlov during our first trip into the Czech Republic.

While the trip from Salzburg to Cesky Krumlov was a bit disconcerting, as we were late arriving and had to complete the trip in darkness, the effort was well worth it.

This old town is a true gem with all of the old Bohemian features preserved - due no doubt to the lack of development. The old town, with the original architecture and fascinating differences to the rest of Europe, was outstanding.

We enjoyed excellent, cheap meals in the local restaurants which were full of atmosphere. To top it off the Pension was only $65 AUD a night!

We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    26
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
83
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I consider several factors in choosing a hotel, then rating it afterwards. I also try and get hotels that have character or a feel for where we are, or the type of trip I am on. In other words, when in Prague, I don't want the Hilton.

Reviews by others are very important, and we do our homework. Also considered are location, price, breakfast, communication. This hotel had it all.

Location was great. As other reviewers said, not a bad walk because the town is so small. On a trip like ours, time is valuable and better spent not looking for places to eat breakfast. The breakfast was perfect for us. I had to ask for hot chocolate but it was available. My only complaint is that breakfast was later than we would have liked. We are early risers AND were on a tight schedule. We were literally waiting at the door to get in, then sat down to wait while they set up. Probably not a good idea because others came in and started before we were told it was OK.

Communication via email was great. I actually didn't see the rooms I wanted (needed 2) available online, so asked and they got us right in. The staff was very helpful.

This hotel actually had a lift for luggage which was really nice.

Once in the room, cleanliness, good hot water pressure, lighting, mirrors, space to put personal bathroom items, comfort and sometimes view are considered. The room was large. Shower was wonderful. Difficulty accessing mirror/light over sink for doing makeup. I am 5'6 but it was tricky. (Those of us that can't see need these things).
We slept wonderfully, the bedding was great.
Didn't figure out temp controls, if there were any.
No real view, but then, we weren't in the room much. They kept our luggage the next day while we toured more and before taking the bus out, then got us a taxi.
Be sure you get off at the right bus stop when you come. There are several.

Besides the price, great reviews and free parking, another reason I had for choosing this place was policies. We want non-smoking and no pet rooms. It seems easy to get a room with no smoking, but pets are welcomed everywhere in europe. I love dogs. We have a dog of our own but he doesn't travel with us. This penzion specifically states no pets and we really appreciate that. None of the other penzions I researched had this policy.

We were very happy here.
I would recommend it.

Room Tip: email them directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

From what I understand, the town gets insanely crowded during the busy seasons. The implications are limited parking and the sounds of street noise. We had enough luggage that we needed to make two trips from the car up to the room, and if we had had to park .5 mile away it would have been inconvenient. Penzion Krumlov has plenty of parking. And because it's away from (but still within 10 min walking distance) from the hustle and bustle, we could sleep with our windows open without street noise (which can apparently get quite loud and run late into the night). As others have stated, its very clean. Breakfast is exactly as you would expect, and it's still new and modern. The free internet service was faster than we experienced at other hotels in Europe. The place might not age well, but right now it's great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The first impression of this hotel is the cleanliness. Pure white towels! The cleaning staff has done a good job. Our room was in good size. Breakfast was simple but enough. There are over 100 TV channels. Internet is provied in room if you have notebook with you. Plus free car parking. It takes 10 mins to walk to the town. That was OK for us. We paid not much, it was a good deal.

If you want to stay there, you need to bring your tooth paste, tooth prush, shower gal, shower head and slippers, if you needed.

One more thing, they have playground for childern. If you travel with children, they may love it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at the Pension Krumlov for two nights in late September and enjoyed the immaculate room and excellent breakfast. The pension is only about 10 minutes walk from town but we had a longer walk through town from the Spicak bus stop where the student agency bus dropped us off. Apparently Pension Krumlov is only 10 minutes walk from the main bus stop but we are not sure if student agency buses go there.

The breakfast room is huge and a wide range of breakfast food was provided. The only little hiccup we had was perhaps due to a language barrier and our preference for paying the night before leaving as we were to leave early the next day. Breakfast was supposed to be included but they charged us for the morning we left so we only had one breakfast included. It was too hard to debate so we put it down to experience and the confusion over us paying the night before leaving. Other than that, we would stay there again as it was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liza8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This Penzion is set about 10 minutes walk (albeit uphill) out of the main tourist town of Cesky Krumlov. I consider the extra walk is far outweighed by the residence. The whole building looks brand new. We had booked a room for 3 but it wasn't ready when we arrived so were offered 2 separate rooms, which was fine. The rooms themselves are immaculate and clean. The bathroom was sparkling and the shower was brilliant. The staff were incredible courteous and spoke good English. There is an honesty system for any beers, wine or cold drinks you drink from the bar. The continental breakfast included in the price was extensive - yum. The penzion is obviously set-up for families with plenty of parking and a childs play area. Best of all this penzion is Non-Smoking - unlike so many other places in the Czech Republic. Although you may see many many other penzions in the centre of Cesky Krumlov I doubt they would come close to this one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

This is the kind of experience that makes me a Tripadvisor fan. I would never have learned of Penzion Krumlov but for Tripadvisor. I don't know how long this place has been open, but I have never stayed anywhere that had furnishings that seemed so brand new. We got the quadruple room, which actually was a duplex. Downstairs was a king bed, with a sitting area and a desk, and upstairs was another small bedroom with two twin beds. I found myself looking for tiny imperfections, just for fun. In short, the place was as clean and new as could be. It is located a short walk from the center of town, served a pleasant breakfast, and was generally a low-key, pleasant place to stay. I definitely recommend it. PS -- bring an ethernet cable and get blazing fast in-room internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Beatika
Villa Beatika
#1 of 139 in Cesky Krumlov
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Krumlov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Krumlov

Property: Penzion Krumlov
Address: Stinna 620, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Krumlov 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family B&B Hotel where you can expect to be greeted by a nice receptionist or kind owners of this accommodation. It's an ideal place not only for tourists and business guests but also for families with children. The accommodation capacity consists of 14 rooms with a total of 34 beds. The rooms are mostly double rooms, four rooms are triple rooms, and one accommodation room consists of two rooms connected by a stairway. All rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable satisfying 3 star *** quality. The hotel also has a common room where a generous buffet breakfast is served and includes a play area for children. The common room also has a beverage refrigerator with both alcoholic and non alcoholic options, and several types of beer, a refrigerator for the use of guests, and a wine bar offering a wide selection of Moravian wine. The common room also has direct access to the terrace where you can sit and enjoy a sunny day. There is no smoking allowed indoors however there are outdoor spaces available either on the terrace or in our garden where it is allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penzion Krumlov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing