We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and location with modern facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riverside
Ranked #117 of 141 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location with modern facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

The surrounding riverside area of Cesky Krumlov is full of hotels/pensions, most boast view of the castle/tower. This one must be one of the most modern, being completely refurbished only recently. It had key-card entry/power switch, clean and new bathroom and a good size bedroom. We inspected the room before we made the decision to stay so was able to select which view we would prefer to have from lying on the bed. The downside is no lift for the ~40kg luggage but then I bet most other pensions around had no lift.

The service was exceptional with the manager eager to help out with regards to every aspect of our request. We felt very at home indeed. We enjoyed the included buffet breakfast; it had only a small selection of hot and cold food but it was very pleasant nonetheless. It was close to most tourist attraction and at night fall while some tourists walked to the riverbank underneath the hills, we stayed atop of them in the comfort of our room enjoying the spectacular view.

I think this hotel is still on the improve: it seemed at time short-staffed, having to manage a cafe/restaurant on site, the mini-bar at the room we stayed had empty bottles not restocked and the fridge initially wasn't functional. The manager needed to come up to our room to do some maintenance a couple of time.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the view and the much modern facilities, especially having stayed at another accommodation here in Cesky Krumlov, the comparative value of this hotel was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Last week-end I spent in Cesky Krumlov in Hotel Alchymy. It was already second time we stayed in this hotel. Hotel is very nice: friendly staff, big and clean rooms. Location - just in historical part of the city.
We did reservation via Interacta Travel - very much professional service. This company even offered us an opportunity to chose our room (hotel web site has pictures of all rooms).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and were given a room on the 2nd storey facing the street. The noise from the bar across the road went on till late and was quite disturbing. Plus we had to draw the curtains for privacy most of the time, as it overlooked the rooms of the building across the road directly. We asked for a change of rooms but were rejected. That aside, the room itself was roomy and decorated nicely. The tub's water plug did not work though, so we could not enjoy a proper bath. Breakfast consisted of some breads, cheese, ham, salami, cornflakes and choice of milk, juice...no eggs unless you order and pay for it. The cafe at the hotel serves mostly light refreshments, we went to the Penzion KRISTINKA beside it for lunch but do not recommend it, Food was average and service was bad.

The location is not bad for walking around Cesky Krumlov, but Krumlov is small enough that you don't really need to be staying in the centre of it. Especially if you are taking a bus here, you would do well to book hotels nearer to the main road as it could be quite a distance to carry your luggage.

Lastly, the staff's grasp of the english language is not very proficient, although they do make an effort.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChouOojimahei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed in a large castle view room, which was about Euro 90. The view was excellent, no need to describe in words, just see the photos!! The room was large and cozy. It provides all the facilities of a modern hotel, except the lift. I especially like the booking process of this hotel, that you can choose your favourite hotel room from the photos and book that particular one.

There's free internet access in the hotel room, although I didn't spent much time in the room. The location of the hotel was excellent too. The breakfast was OK, but not an outstanding one.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

An absolutely fantastic hotel and place. Loved our 24 hours in Cesky Krumlov and wanted to stay there forever. Hotel was awesome, although one of the more expensive ones there. Had a nice large room with a view of the river and castle, which at night is quite a sight. The breakfast was great and so was the service. Parking was available close by.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfanatic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

It's a modern hotel right on the center of the historical center, big rooms and good breakfast. Easy to reach from the parking P1.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazitRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Downtown Apartments
Downtown Apartments
#16 of 46 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Hotel Belarie
Pension Hotel Belarie
#108 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside

Property: Hotel Riverside
Address: Dlouha 95, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing