We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the rooms”
Review of Penzion Gardena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Gardena
Ranked #6 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had booked a large room / suite overlooking the castle. However, on arrival, we were put into 2 small rooms which were very ordinary and had no castle view. When we took it up with the management we were told that some other guests had booked for four nights and hence hence they couldn't give us the suite that we had booked. This was ridiculous...

while the lady was apologetic and offered us a discount of 10 euros, it was not good enough.

The rooms are tiny and bathrooms are tinier...with two suitcases on the floor, there was no room to walk around.

Now the positives: very close to the bus station, nicely located on a hill, you can walk to the castle and the town square. Breakfast was good. Am a vegetarian and loved the wholesome breakfast.
Despite the room goof-up, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure of the room number that you book, what we got was very bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a double room.I had just broken my ankle so I stayed in the room.Comfortable large room.
Good breakfast with lots of varietyFree secure parking onsight Good location close to old towm (5 min walk)Only downside -it was quite noisy,street noise and guests.Maybe a room at the back would have been quieter.Host friendly and spoke good english

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I came for a workshop in the winter and it was just perfect, though a note...if you are placed in a room upstairs bring luggage you can lug up windy stairs, there is no elevator and the stair cases higher up wind around. My suitcase was a bit painful to get up and down. But the place has a ton of charm, great breakfast, amazingly friendly owner who is very accommodating and offers a lot of information. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

It was very clean, warm, good wifi connection. I was on the top floor corner room on the left hand side which had two beds. The ceilings in the tops rooms are slanted, so be aware if you are tall you'll be slouching a lot or hitting your head. I'm short and still clocked myself a couple times.

The walk to the center of town and to the bus station are 5 min (if you aren't lugging a bunch of luggage). The bus station is pretty desolate at the evening or early morning hours so when you get off the bus, just follow the bus parking area in the direction of the castle, you'll see a hill in front of you and a very small sign pointing up the hill toward the center of town. Follow the path up the hill, then down the hill when you reach the cobblestone road, Gardena will be on your left.

I was very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor corner room on the left hand side which had two beds. The ceilings in the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melmel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I booked hotel for a 2-night stay. Much to my regret, I was forced to cancel the reservation on the same day. I promised myself I would book again as soon as I had the chance to head to the lovely town I had read so much about. Little did I know the cancellation didn't come through.
When the time came for justyfying why I didn't show up, the hotel charged me the whole fee of my stay with absolutely no sign of understanding. I will eventually make it to Cezky Krumlov but will surely stay away from this bitter staffed hotel. Far from kind, polite or professional if you think about it.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

A superb B&B across the road from the historic centre of Cesky Krumlov. The rooms are spacious, very clean and well sppointed. The house is decorated with antiques and collectibles a in every nook and cranny. The breakfast selection is very broad and caters to all tastes. Our host Vlaclav is very friendly and helpful and speaks good English, much better than he thinks he can. Altogether one of the best places I have stayed at in terms of quality and value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The hotel has 2 building.The main building is just outside the city center but you can walk and the other one is in the city center. When we arrived we checked in at the main building and park here after that the staff(may be he is an owner)take us to the other building.
We got the apartment room in the city center building which we love this place so much.It's near the river and it's the old building but new decoration.
Everything here is very good,more than we expected.
I surely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NuNeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I'm going to stay here next time, maybe in few years?
the price was just more than reasonable, I felt like I needed to pay more and I still doubt how you can get a profit from it.
nice location and really nice people and especially I adored the room at the top floor.
breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: the highest floor is the best one, I think. I liked the interior design ; cozy, cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller12345149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Beatika
Villa Beatika
#2 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Nostalgie
Pension Nostalgie
#5 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Gardena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Gardena

Address: Kaplicka 21 | 381 01, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £57 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Gardena 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Gardena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing