We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Visit!”
Review of Penzion Gardena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Gardena
Ranked #7 of 138 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Visit!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our room had a view of the castle - it was gorgeous! Glass of wine in the evening on the balcony and the lights at the castle came on - absolute magic. Breakfast was great and the staff's recommendation for restaurants in town was also helpful. The historic town is totally walkable and its within minutes from the hotel. Best to leave your car at the hotel for free secured parking and forget about it. Good value and friendly staffs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChunkysoupSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    33
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
55
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the building across the road from the main hotel. Room was nice if a little shabby. We enjoyed having a drink in the garden behind the room. It was a short walk into the town. Breakfast was adequate and the staff very helpful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgomanero, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 1 night in Cesky Krumlov in August 2013. The pension has several apartments throughout the city center, while the "headquarter" is located out of the town, on the main road. At our arrival, the owner walked us to the apartment, which was next to the main square, and during the short walk he took some time to explain what we could find and visit in Cesky Krumlov and to give us some advices about where to eat and drink. He also offered to drive us to the apartment, which was a 2 room flat, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served at the Pension main building, but one could also choose to have it in a bar in the town main square. At our departure, the owner came with his car to drive us where we parked, offering an unasked extra service we really appreciated since it was raining.

Overall, we really had a great time there and I heartily recommend Pension Gardena for your stay in beautiful Cesky Krumlov!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raziel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at Kaplicka 21 in a lovely big room, with a comfy bead and a nice bathroom. Really good value for money, a good breakfast and really accessible for the town. The staff were friendly and seemed to be able to speak most languages that walked in through the door. Nice garden as well.

Room Tip: We were told that rooms on the top floor were smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

i m travelling with family and rent a 2 rooms apartment which opposite the building, but under penzion gardena. They are family running business - very friendly and helpful, especially the host can speak very good english, which hardly find in krumlov.

2 bed room - spacious place
kitchen - good
space for kid in room - excellent
facilities - fan, kettle, kitchen utensil everthings there
breakfast- good

there are only 2 things from my own perception :

1. the staircase walk to the room no.1 quite narrow...
2. should put more curtain..which could let me sleep until 10am....

ya, it is a wonderful b&b with plenty of parking space and just couple mins of walk to the river and the castle ( opposite only)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Small_BuG_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Of all the places we stayed during our 20 day trip this was the most disappointing. The pension has 3 locations - 2 houses on kaplicka street & 1 on kajovska street (downtown). We chose the main house on kaplicka 21 (away from downtown) cos of its close proximity to the bus stop where we were arriving and cos we read reviews of the castle view from suite on the top most floor. We were a group of friends and hence booked the suite no.5 for 4 people at the main house (kaplicka 21) Months in advance. We specifically mentioned that we only wanted to book if the suite with the view was available. We had also read previous reviews on how you don't get the rooms you book and hence took the effort of writing numerous emails to confirm & reconfirm we had the suite we had chosen and booked.
When we arrived we were told that instead of the suite no.5 at kaplicka 21 we were moved into two double rooms at kaplicka 3 - reason being the river was flooded and people who were staying at the kajovska location (downtown) had been shifted/ accommodated in the two houses at kaplicka.
This was very disappointing - the rooms we were given were so tiny that after placing 2 suitcases u had no floor space to walk around the beds. We actually moved the chairs out of the rooms into the common corridor to make walking space! The bath was so small that if I stretched my arms out I would probably touch its two opposite walls (exaggerating just a ill bit due to the disappointment!!)
We weren't informed of this change on email/phone.
And what beats me is that the downtown kajovska building is located well away from the river - we walked all over the old town I didn't see any building that far away from the river being closed/evacuated. I doubt this was evacuated. Even if for some security measure it was being evacuated - then I guess those guests could have been accommodated in these double rooms..and they would have understood that due to the weather and bad luck their rooms we being altered.
The lady at the reception told us that since those guests were staying for a longer duration they had been given our suite while we had been moved to the double rooms since ours was a one night stay and were offered a 10€ discount. I wouldn't have chosen to stay in those double rooms even at the discounted price!! There's far better options than the double rooms we got.
I wouldn't recommend this place for this reason - you can probably get just as nice a place with the surety of getting the room you book!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We rented the apartment which was charmingly decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. The only consideration would be the need to carry your luggage up a winding staircase. The host was very helpful and spoke excellent English. The location is perfect as it is just across the street to the old city. My daughter was woken up by some revelers but that can be tough to avoid. Breakfast was excellent.
I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: The apartment was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penzion Krumlov
Penzion Krumlov
#2 of 138 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Gardena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Gardena

Property: Penzion Gardena
Address: Kaplicka 21 | 381 01, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Gardena 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Gardena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing