We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great place”
Review of Penzion Gardena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Gardena
Ranked #7 of 141 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights, having flown into Linz and transferring in a mini-bus organised by LOBO, who were very punctual, good value and efficient. The drive took about one and a quarter hours and went through some very pretty countryside.
We were greeted in a very friendly manner and shown to our room - not in the main building but just across the road in an annexe where we enjoyed a clean double room with a small balcony that looked across to the tower in the Chateau.
Breakfast was served in the dining room in the main building and had cereals, pastries, toast, eggs, cheese, cold meats, coffee (use the insulated jug - it is nicer than the machine) and juices. It set you up well for the day.
TIP: They provided a kettle, mugs and a fridge outside the bedroom but you need to take your own tea/coffee/milk - there is a small Co-op supermarket just yards away across the main road.

Room Tip: We stayed just across the road in an annex with a small balcony and a view of the Chateau. Very quie...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Penzion Gardena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are a lot of penzions in Cesky Krumlov, and this is a very good one. We took the bus (highly recommend Student Agency) from Prague and spent 2 nights here, which is a few minutes' walk from the bus stop and 5 minutes into town. Our room was huge, wide plank wood floors, comfy bed and nice wood furnishings. Everything was spotless. They have a refrigerator and tea kettle to use right in the hallway. There were lots of choices for breakfast, though we did see some guests getting specially-prepared hot eggs and that was not offered to us. You might want to ask if that interests you. It was cool and rainy the whole time, so we didn't get to spend any time in the garden. They evidently have 3 different buildings - we stayed at the main one at Kaplicka 21.

Room Tip: There are stairs, so request your room accordingly.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked a last minute room here for a quick trip through Cesky Krumlov on our way home from Prague. And hit the jackpot with this bed and breakfast. Super kind and helpful staff. They gave us a map, recommended restaurants, showed us a few points to check out. They are super close walk into the center of town. Maybe 5-10 min. Breakfast was delicious and good selection of items to choose from. Beds were comfy, room was clean. We did have quite a hike of stairs to get to our room on the 4th floor. Great little garden area, would have been nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine out there if we had had more time. We were able to park our car there for free which was a bonus! We absolutely feel in love with this sweet town. Felt like we were in a storybook land. And would highly recommend this cozy pension!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very nice pension with family atmosphere on grate place (5 minutes from city centre) with own parking place (what is necessary in CK). Very good rich breakfast.
In pension you have nice room with billiard and you can take a drink (beer, wine, non alcoholic) by your self and just wrote it on paper :-))) I never seen it in Czech .-)
Rooms are cosy, nice furnished and clean.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Filip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Cesky Krumlov is a wonderful town. It's especially great when you are there after the tour buses have departed. We stayed in an apartment in the heart of town for one night. We were within easy walking distance of everything in town. The apartment was clean & neat. The bathrooms were also clean. The owner of the Penzion couldn't have been more helpful & accommodating. Breakfast was included at a delightful restaurant in town. While the apartment isn't overly luxurious it is comfortable & a great value for families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee70471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This Penzion was perfect. We had two large rooms for 4 people, each with interesting furnishings and great bathrooms. A small fridge was outside on the landing allowing us to keep milk and champagne cool. The whole place is furnished in a most interesting, eclectic style and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay over Christmas and Boxing Day. It is located just across the road from one of the main roads leading into the heart of Cesky Krumlov, so ideally situated. Nothing was too much trouble for our host - he was happy to supply milk, make suggestions on places to eat and provide directions. Breakfast was a highlight - a buffet with lots of choice to suit all tastes - and it was included in the price. Cesky Krumlov was a fantastic experience - made all the better by staying at Penzion Gardena.

Room Tip: Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we returned
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENISEMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed with six people in the cozy upstairs apartment at Christmas time. There was no lift which was a bit of a problem for those with difficulties climbing stairs, but the nice apartment made up for it. It was an attic apartment and there was a great view of the castle at night and at sunrise. We were able to park our car at the hotel, and it was an easy walk across the street and down the hill into town. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and there was a good variety for breakfast. This is our second time to Cesky Krumlov and it was again a magical experience. The hotel made our trip easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Barbakan
Pension Barbakan
#8 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Gardena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Gardena

Address: Kaplicka 21 | 381 01, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Gardena 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Gardena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing