We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and Great Location”
Review of Penzion Gardena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Gardena
Ranked #8 of 138 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
155 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quirky and Great Location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent location with only 5 minutes walk to the main square. Large car park and secure place to store bikes.

Staff could not have been more helpful and spoke great english. Our room had an adjoining bedroom which also included an old oven and other antiques - which added to the interest. Also a series of pottery heads were on each stair - adding to the homely feel.

There was a fridge, microwave and kettle (all modern!) on the landing for guests to use.

Beds were comfortable, breakfast was plentiful with good selection.

Great stay and would love to return - definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    33
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
55
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had two nights in the delightful Gardena, in an early June heatwave. The Gardena is easy to find, and has plentifule on site secure parking. The owner who greated us could not have been friendlier, and spoke good English. The hotel is a conversion from, I would guess, earlier apartments, and the layout and fittings reflect this - each area is an eclectic collection of antiques and memorabilia from the past. Love it or hate it - we thought it fascinating.
The old property is nonetheless very well appointed and comfortable, The rooms were spacious and cool, and spotlessly clean.
The beautiful Old Town was only 2-3 minutes walk away, but wear comfortable shoes as the cobbles are tiring on the feet.
Breakfast on both days was plentiful and varied, and featured a lot of local produce too. I look forward to returning to the Gardena - and at about £55 ($80) per night for the two of us, it was great value too

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Penzion Gardena is only 5 minutes walk from the bus station and the centre of the old town. The room was clean and tidy, just fine for an overnight visit to magical Cesky Kromlov. Our room had a direct view of the castle tower. Nice breakfast spread with boiled eggs available. We would recommend this well run penzion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights, having flown into Linz and transferring in a mini-bus organised by LOBO, who were very punctual, good value and efficient. The drive took about one and a quarter hours and went through some very pretty countryside.
We were greeted in a very friendly manner and shown to our room - not in the main building but just across the road in an annexe where we enjoyed a clean double room with a small balcony that looked across to the tower in the Chateau.
Breakfast was served in the dining room in the main building and had cereals, pastries, toast, eggs, cheese, cold meats, coffee (use the insulated jug - it is nicer than the machine) and juices. It set you up well for the day.
TIP: They provided a kettle, mugs and a fridge outside the bedroom but you need to take your own tea/coffee/milk - there is a small Co-op supermarket just yards away across the main road.

Room Tip: We stayed just across the road in an annex with a small balcony and a view of the Chateau. Very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are a lot of penzions in Cesky Krumlov, and this is a very good one. We took the bus (highly recommend Student Agency) from Prague and spent 2 nights here, which is a few minutes' walk from the bus stop and 5 minutes into town. Our room was huge, wide plank wood floors, comfy bed and nice wood furnishings. Everything was spotless. They have a refrigerator and tea kettle to use right in the hallway. There were lots of choices for breakfast, though we did see some guests getting specially-prepared hot eggs and that was not offered to us. You might want to ask if that interests you. It was cool and rainy the whole time, so we didn't get to spend any time in the garden. They evidently have 3 different buildings - we stayed at the main one at Kaplicka 21.

Room Tip: There are stairs, so request your room accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked a last minute room here for a quick trip through Cesky Krumlov on our way home from Prague. And hit the jackpot with this bed and breakfast. Super kind and helpful staff. They gave us a map, recommended restaurants, showed us a few points to check out. They are super close walk into the center of town. Maybe 5-10 min. Breakfast was delicious and good selection of items to choose from. Beds were comfy, room was clean. We did have quite a hike of stairs to get to our room on the 4th floor. Great little garden area, would have been nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine out there if we had had more time. We were able to park our car there for free which was a bonus! We absolutely feel in love with this sweet town. Felt like we were in a storybook land. And would highly recommend this cozy pension!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice pension with family atmosphere on grate place (5 minutes from city centre) with own parking place (what is necessary in CK). Very good rich breakfast.
In pension you have nice room with billiard and you can take a drink (beer, wine, non alcoholic) by your self and just wrote it on paper :-))) I never seen it in Czech .-)
Rooms are cosy, nice furnished and clean.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penzion Krumlov
Penzion Krumlov
#2 of 138 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Gardena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Gardena

Property: Penzion Gardena
Address: Kaplicka 21 | 381 01, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Gardena 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penzion Gardena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing