We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and exceptionally clean pension of great value”
Review of Penzion Delanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penzion Delanta
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Penzion Delanta is a budget pension that offers superb quality in almost every aspect, with only one noteworthy potential weakness – location.

This pension is in a modern and quiet residential neighborhood, located about 700m southwest to the old town of Český Krumlov. There is a gentle hill in-between, and from the southern bridge (Most doktora Edvarda Beneše) of the old town it takes around 10 minutes of pleasant walking. This is not much of a trouble for people who drive to the hotel. For those who take train or bus, however, the extra 1Km of luggage hauling through hilly terrain can be of some significance. The bus station for Student Agency coaches from Prague and elsewhere is in the eastern part of town, and it takes about 20 minutes (1.6Km) of walk to Delanta. The Český Krumlov train station is at the northern edge of the town, and it probably takes more than 30 minutes (2.6Km) of walk to the pension, although taking a bus at the train station and getting off at the northern gate of the old town saves you about 1Km (drivers don’t speak English, but they do drop you off if you ask for “Český Krumlov”). The owner couple did give us a ride to the train station on the way back, and it seems they try to give a ride whenever they are not too preoccupied with their three young children.

The said owners are capable and well-meaning hosts. Martin, the husband, speaks English well, and Julie, the wife, speaks German as well as some English. While Julie often looked tired and distracted, understandably due to her three younglings running around, she was clearly interested in our satisfaction and tried to anticipate our needs.

The pension has four rooms in a house that the owner family also lives in. Our room was a bit cold, with no heating turned on in September (13 degree Celsius outside in mornings). But the room as well as the bathroom was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Outside some East Asian countries, it is not often that you meet independent lodgings this clean. It was also very quiet, and the sleep quality was good.

As of September 2013, the owner couple is building a small building, next to the house, that will house a reception and a wellness center. It is meant to open in Spring 2014, and will solve the issue where people often have to pre-arrange the time for check-in/out or call and wait. In addition to this, if they manage to operate a regular shuttle bus to/from the train station and bus station, perhaps in partnership with other pensions, we think Delanta will become a full five-point lodging.

To conclude, Penzion Delanta is an impeccably clean and quiet pension run by a competent couple. While the location may not be ideal, the rate is very attractive. Overall, we think its performance-to-price ratio is superb, and would recommend Delanta to most anyone visiting this wonderful town that is Český Krumlov.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Penzion Delanta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

After many reviews, I feel like there's nothing to add, so I normally don't do one. However, Penzion Delanta so impressed us, I want to add my endorsement of it. The price is very reasonable, the location is convenient if you're driving, it's very clean, and the breakfast was good. With that out of the way, I can't praise Martin enough. We came in much later than I had originally told him because of all sorts of little things that added up, but Martin couldn't have been more gracious. Another couple traveling with us, were in a different lodging in the Old Town, after not being able to get a room here. Martin patiently explained to them how to get to their penzion. He even called it to make sure there was someone there to greet them because it was well after their check-in time also. He told me where to park in sort of a hidden spot right by Old Town and the procedure for it. And his restaurant recommendation was right on. All of this was at a time he was dealing with three young children because a new baby in the family was his wife's focus. The man did look a bit tired!

Two bits of advice. The penzion is not located in the old town so you do miss that experience. On the other hand, I will take cleanliness and quiet over quaintness any day if it might include noise and crowds with it. We did have a little trouble finding it, but only because we didn't realize the bridge on the map was the second one after the roundabout. Simply cross that bridge and look to turn right immediately if you are driving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCDM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We got a double for under 40 Euro (breakfast is extra 4 per person). The location is a 5-10 minute walk from the Old Town and it's very quiet here. The rooms are nicely furnished in a modern style. Our double had two sitting chairs and a futon which is usually not included in budget places. The bathroom is of good quality and clean. The owners are extremely, friendly, and helpful. They let us check-in even though we were early. We paid for the breakfast and it was a nice spread of cheese, cold cuts, rolls, pastries, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, eggs, and fruit (the most fruit I saw on our whole trip to Germany, Austria, and Czech Republic). I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaSeesTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived to Cesky Krumlov very early . We were not expecting to be able to check in at 10:30 in the morning but since the 2 rooms we had booked were available they graciously let us i . The rooms are simply furnished and spotlessly clean- we are used to suites in high end hotels.
I will say that internet is somewhat spotty although it's free, but I can live without gadgets for a few days! There is a hair dryer in the bathroom as well as a heated towel rack. They provide a small body wash, but no shampoo or conditioner.
Breakfast is included. It is not fancy, but it is ample and presentaion is very appealing. We were offered coffee, rolls, cheeses, cold cuts, fruits and yogurts.
The walk to the center of Cesky Krumlov is about 10 minutes.
The young couple running this little pension are very friendly and helpful. Martin provided us with a map and pointed us to highlights in Cesky Krumlov.
Overall we found this to be a breath of fresh air in the little town of Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Exceptionally clean and modern room. Very friendly owners and staff. Just a short and easy 10 minute walk right into the heart of Krumlov without any traffic. Excellent value. Martin is doing a great job. Very hot water in the bathrooms. Breakfast was served very well and the kitchen is open if you need to keep something cold or get a beer. This is not the place for rowdy or party-seeking youth hostelers - this is for couples or quiet families that want easy access to central Krumlov and kayaking, etc., but want a quiet, clean, affordable and pleasant to relax and sleep. A Coop store very close.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably quiet. Do not stay there if you are looking for partying, etc.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had been travelling with friends who had been called home due to a tragedy in their family. Martin was very caring & empathetic about this.

He showed us each of the rooms & we were able to choose the one bedroom apartment on the lower level. It is as lovely as the photos portray. Actually, all the rooms are very nice...any one of them would have been just fine!

Martin was very helpful & solicitous of making certain our needs were being met. As said elsewhere, the pension is not in the historic area. However, it's an easy walk to get into that area. There is a co-op grocery quite nearby, so it's easy to purchase whichever items you might need for your stay. The breakfast was very complete & there were various kinds of beverages easily obtained from the kitchen. My only problem with that is that I can't read the language, so that just added to the adventure!

I would highly recommend Penzion Delanta.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiking-nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were very happy with our stay in Penzion Delanta.

Once you get off from the bus (Student Agency from Prague to Cesky Krumlov, the last stop), get onto the taxi. It costs about 80 - 100 CZK to the pension from the bus station. We could not find any taxi there and we called Martin for help. He arranged immediately for us.

The room is very new and very spacious.It's nicely decorated with clean towels, hair-dryer and washing liquids. The wifi connection is fast. They have a little kitchen but we did not go there and did not try the breakfast. We had breakfast in town which was not very expensive.

It's about 10-15 mins walk to the town centre. The walk is a bit uphill walk but very pleasant walk as well. And there are some restaurants on the way which cost less than the town centre.

Basically you can walk to all the tourist sights. It's a very safe little town, very quiet.

Juria helped call for taxi for us also back to the bus station.

The couple are very helpful and we thank them for all their help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penzion Weber
Penzion Weber
#13 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Delanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Delanta

Address: Vencova 393, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Delanta 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new wellness center available (for an extra charge) to the guests equipped by whirlpool, massages, finish sauna, infra sauna, solarium, beauty studio ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Penzion Delanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing