We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Pension Athanor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Athanor
Ranked #7 of 141 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was hands down one of the best places we have ever stayed. We got the apartment with the sauna, it had an amazing view of the castle. The bed was comfy, the place was spacious and the shower was fantastic. Can't say enough good things, also the location is ideal. it's just over the bridge into the main center so you're a little (5 min walk) ways out of the way which is nice as the core could get pretty noisy at night time.

Room Tip: get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziq83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I can only recommend this place. My friend and I stayed here during the International Music Festival and we could not choose a better place than this.
Appartments are five minutes walk from the centre of town, so you are close to everything you need to see here.
Building as such is gorgeous, rooms give you all the comfort you need and are very well equiped. There was no noise at night and we had a great sleep! You can perceive a very special atmosphere here, all is really quiet and calm. I will definitely return back, the service is excellent and place is just stunning!
Thank you very much!

Room Tip: even the rooms in attic are great, this place is worth booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jana_portasikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in CZ for 2 nights at the Athanor in mid June 2013. We selected the Athanor since we were travelling by car and we wanted somewhere outside of but close to the old city. The apartment was lovely and the view across to the castle from our window was fabulous. The location was wonderful, away from the crowds but only a short walk across the bridge to the old city. We would have like to stay longer, excellent value and service from Blanka including a great breakfast.

Room Tip: You could ask for the apartment with its own sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Undercliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Absolutely amazing ambience.
It's not just renovated building with modern and luxury furniture, but all the small details and accessories (e.g. slippers, wine glasses with corkscrew, umbrella, bathroom accessories...) really make you feel like home. Everything is clean and fresh and the staff is really friendly. Also for a small B&B the breakfast is good, there are some basic items in the buffet and warm meals on the menu. I think it is a reasonable solution.

The rooms to the street may be affected by the noise as night travelers are returning to the camp up the river. But it is all right with closed windows.

The value of this place is incredible, for sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silence_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This beautifully restored large, heritage house dating back from the 16th century is an absolute find. The interior is modern, light with fantastic architectural features. We stayed in a large sparkling clean, gorgeous, attic room and jaccuzi with all kinds of special touches you wouldn't find in other places. The views from our room were something else in this delightful little town dominated by a medieval castle. Blanca, the manager is terrific and can't do enough. Breakfast is delicious and served in the dining room, with a huge fire place, and is is part of the restored lower part of the house, which might actually have been once the entrance for horse drawn vehicles. All kinds of interesting ancient fixtures left in place to please the eye and ask questions about. The nights were quiet - no revelers. Its excellent value for money too. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marinagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The place is on the "other side" of the river from the center of CK, and it takes about a 5 minute walk to get to town. This gets you away from most of the crowds and noise, but we did notice an annoying amount of street noise in the middle of the night coming from revelers returning from town.

While the building is hundreds of years old, the rooms are very modern and stylish. The rooms are very large. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathroom even has a modern sauna. They also have a private garden that we used to kick back and drink a bottle of wine. Their breakfast was sufficient, not amazing.

The place really is good. Aside from the noise at night, the only other negative was that their Wi-Fi was non-existent. We would stay there again..for sure,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Simply great stay. Our room was really large, equipped with sauna, which was a great choice in the February freezing cold.. Basic tasty breakfast, great location, helpful manager. Definitely worth recommending!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_sAyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penzion Krumlov
Penzion Krumlov
#3 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Beatika
Villa Beatika
#2 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Athanor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Athanor

Address: Pleshivecke namesti 271, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Athanor 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic family pension is situated in the picturesque little square only 300 metres from the historical square of Český Krumlov.The historically valuable house was transformed into an accommodation facility with extra spacious and comfortable rooms. The family pension offers 2 luxury apartments and 3 rooms with total capacity of 10 beds and possibility of 2 stationary and 2 mobile additional beds. The house is fashionably furnished which makes provoking contrast with its ancient history. Apartments are equipped with modern kitchen including all accessories. LCD television sets, satellite TV, internet connection, minibar, and air conditioning in the attic rooms are matter-of-course. The apartment No. 1 and the room No. 4 are equipped with whirlpool baths. Sauna, free of charge available for guests in the apartment, is a part of the apartment No. 2 bathroom. Most of our windows offer unforgettable views of ancient town Český Krumlov, the chateau and St. Vitus church, which attract to endless walks along crooked streets and secret corners of this precious town.Breakfast is served in the eldest parts of the house, in medieval and renaissance cellar. The cellar also contains the private wine room held by the owners of the house, where guests can taste some samples according to up-to-date wine list. The house also has ornamental garden suitable for the rest after daylong cultural or sportive activities. Hundred years old apple tree will surely offer enough genial shade for all to relax in the tropical summer days. The guests, who are interested in gastronomy, can use their culinary skills in barbecue using the grill, which is available in the pension. Our guests can drive up directly to the house and park there free of charge. Bicycles can be saved in the hall or in the garden according to the personal convention. So welcome to our pension and fully enjoy unforgettable genius loci of Český Krumlov. Let the nostalgia of the good old days attract you. And if haply the nostalgia turns to sorrow, don´t forget to taste good Moravian wine, which exorcizes the sorrow and brings good temper. The towns with the bouquet of the south simply have the power and emotions belong to them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Athanor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing