We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, okay hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dvorak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dvorak
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view, okay hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in the room with the terrace that had a great view of the town. The hotel is right by the water and walking distance to everything that the town has to offer. The hotel itself does not live up to its 4-star rating. It's more of a 3-star (Holiday Inn, Doubletree Hotel). The lack of quality can be seen in the bed sheets, towels, toiletries, bathroom facility, etc. They have a restaurant but it's not a good deal. Lastly, they charge for parking and it's a pain. You drive to a lot clear across town and then take a taxi back to the hotel. They do cover the taxi but still an inconvenience. A redeeming perk is the nice breakfast that is included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deartrinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    90
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
56
115
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and we enjoyed the view from the room a lot. You can see the castle on the hill and the river right outside the window. It is also very conveniently located in the center. The only complain I have is that the restaurant is quite small and not too many options. We got served our breakfast in the bar, which was smoking and I did not enjoy that too much.

Room Tip: choose a river side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SALTB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked this property because of a coupon we saw on Tripadvisor for free parking. At checkout, the man at the front desk said,"What is Tripadvisor!? I'm not paying for your parking!." He then called out the large manager from his den, who didn't speak a word of English, who then tried to pull me back into his little room to "discuss" things further.
Additionally:
1. Small dark rooms.
2. No internet of any kind in the rooms. Only spotty connection in the lobby.
3. Front desk barely speaks English.
4. TV size of a laptop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eric50555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This old hotel sits at the edge of the river that meanders through Cesky Krumlov, pretty close to the entrance to the city's highlighted castle. The third floor room was huge, but it felt like something out of the 1950s - with no updating. The staff was friendly and the bed was OK. The bathroom had marble everywhere yet offered a wall-mounted hairdryer with an old-fashioned hose, no power outlets, no face cloths, an old, kinda moldy shower enclosure, water faucets difficult to push off and on and a shower head that sprayed sideways. The chain lock on the door was broken. Breakfast was in the basement and offered an assortment of dry breads and past-prime fruit. Unfortunately, it didn't look like there were too many better hotels available in Cesky Krumlov. And - if you go - one night will do you. There's not that much to do in Cesky unless you want to spend time [lots of time] on the river.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank foggySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is tricky to find if you are driving (we had to park the car and walk to it) but it was worth it. The staff was extremely helpful and the room was a gem. It was HUGE and the bathroom was gigantic. After the tiny rooms we'd had the rest of our trip, it was quite a change. Obviously it's in a historic building. We had views of the castle outside our windows which were gorgeous. You could walk to the castle within 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the castle side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our reservation information said only to come to the hotel and then we would be directed to parking. However, the old town is closed to traffic without a permit, and the hotel is impossible to find without a detailed map or specific directions. GPS is absolutely no help. Finally we parked and two of us wandered through the town until we found the hotel. The desk clerk gave us a map, but it was poorly printed and very difficult to follow. A nice policeman gave us a better map, and we finally were able to drive to the hotel. The desk clerk called a taxi to lead us to where the parking area was and then bring us back to the hotel. The cost for this service was included in our room cost. However, no such arrangements were available the next morning, and the desk clerk (same guy) made it clear that it was not his problem. I suppose we could have asked him to call us a taxi, which we would have had to pay for, but by then we were determined to solve the problem on our own, which we did by walking to the parking lot and then using the better map and our memory of the taxi driver's route out of town to find our way. There's no excuse for the hotel not being more helpful to guests who need to locate the hotel. They obviously know it's a problem or they wouldn't have the taxi arrangement, and why not include the cost of the taxi both ways? We spent so much time trying to find the hotel and then hassling with the parking that we lost most of the afternoon we had planned to spend sightseeing.

Room Tip: Our large corner room on the third floor had a view of the river and part of the castle, but since i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDLCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It was an absolute pleasure. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. I payed extra for deluxe room and it was absolutely worth it. You get huge room which would be a suite elsewhere with the spectacular view on the river, wooden bridge, and Cesky Krumlov castle. If you expect to have modern rooms, then this place is not for you. As a matter of fact, you would need to look for hotel outside of Cesky Krumlov old town since town people are very proud of their efforts to keep this town as close to its medieval atmosphere as possible. So, the rooms have a bit of antique feeling, which in my opinion was absolutely GREAT!!! It works extremely well with the whole atmosphere of the town. However, when you walk in to bathroom, you get all modern amenities your heart desires, there is no skipping in there. WiFi in rooms could be improved, but considering that you get almost an apartment, it is understandable that far edges of it would have poor coverage, but it works perfectly well within sitting area. Breakfasts were good. There is absolutely no complaints about that. As I mentioned, hotel is within old town, so everything is within very short walk from it. Great location, great service. One thing, if you are travelling to this hotel by car, contact hotel in advance to get proper directions to it, GPS will be very misleading when approaching this old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dvorak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dvorak

Property: Hotel Dvorak
Address: Radnichni 101, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dvorak 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dvořák is allocated at the historical centre of Český Krumlov and its rooms offer a unique view on the Vltava River and the magnificent castle panorama. Historical town of Český Krumlov is based in the valley of meandering Vltava River and it was established by the Vitek family early around 1274. The historical centre of the town was recorded in the UNESCO list of world cultural heritage in 1992. The castle of Cesky Krumlov is the most impressive landmark with the round tower. The part of the town Latran is also admired with so-called Budejovicka gate, Main Square with city hall, plague pillar and the fountain. The whole town managed to keep the unique medieval streets with a significant number of Renaissance buildings containing Gothic cores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dvorak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dvorak Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing