We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star to me .....”
Review of Hotel Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ruze
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights. We were on a tour and I must say that other members of the group did get better rooms. However, hubby and I were on the third floor in what can only be described as an attic room overlooking an internal courtyard. Two small twin beds and really antique furniture (I would say old). The main bedroom was tiny with one small window set in the roof space and not enough room to swing the proverbial cat. The ante room contained a wardrobe with some dusty shelves. Bathroom was adequate with shower in bath. Hair dryer in bathroom was one of those hose types and completely useless except for guys with short hair. When I asked if there were other hair dryers available I was told NO is no uncertain terms.

While I can appreciate historic hotels I do not expect to pay good money and have an historic room, so when booking, make sure you know what you are getting for your money.

Breakfast was OK. Location to central town was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time and sharing your review with us.

Our team is genuinely focused on wanting to create the best experience possible for our guests so we really appreciate it when someone takes the time to give us their feedback, as it helps us to improve our services.

Your comments are duly noted and we are sorry that your stay was not to your full satisfaction. We are working on the improvements, as we want to meet our customers’ expectations and requirements.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

A comfortable hotel with great views from the terrace. Don't let the midieval decor distract you from enjoying the history surrounding you! Easy walking distance from the hotel in and around the village. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KmL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your valuable comment regarding your recent stay at Hotel Ruze. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in near future in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The old world feel of this converted monastery matches the magical nature of the city of Cesky Krumlov. My room was small but nice with a good sized bathroom, anteroom for clothes and small bedroom. Nice view from the window of the gardens below. Breakfast was a bit chaotic - this is a very busy hotel with lots of traveling groups. The hotel was close to the main square and we enjoyed walking around the old city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsaMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Our team is genuinely focused on wanting to create the best experience possible for our guests so we really appreciate it when someone takes the time to give us their feedback, as it helps us to improve our services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Only stayed one night on the tour but wished we stayed longer. The room was fantastic, well themed and very large. Meals were great as was the service and advice we received from staff. View from the outdoor terrace was simply marvellous overlooking the valley and river. Location was excellent just inside the village but easy walking to all sights, the castle and other attractions. Really can't complain about anything. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne111256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Ruze and for sharing your beautiful review about our property here on Tripadvisor.

With great pleasure we learnt, that you had a great stay with us and that you very much enjoyed our meals, and overall our facilities.

Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our Jan Hotels on your next visit to the Czech Republic.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights; great location in the center of the area to visit yet just on the edge so not as busy with loads of people as some of the other hotels right by the castle though tourists are walking in and out of the hotel to check it out. Parking is interesting; there is parking very close to the hotel for guests (16E daily) but you cannot get in until you check in and have a room key ... you will need to park elsewhere to check in.
We booked a deluxe suite .. nice room with period furniture .. we had a view of the castle out one window. Nice size room for sure, good bed. The bathroom was nice though the shower barely drained ... no issue really though.
Breakfast was included ... with was nice with a fair selection.
Overall, a nice hotel with some character in a great little town ... We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ruze during your stay in Cesky Krumlov and for your nice feedback. We are delighted to hear that our facilities, service and location met with your expectations.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our room was large and very quiet. It had a sitting area with comfortable chairs; a table and a desk as well as king size bed. The restaurant provided us with the best meals during our 12 day stay. Everything we had from the menu was excellent. The service by all staff was of high quality and they were very helpful in arranging individual tours and providing information about Cesky Krumlov. It has rooftop dining overlooking the river as well as a bar and restaurant. They have secure parking available (for a charge). The hotel is an easy walk to any attaction in Cesky Krumlov

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moabmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing a beautiful feedback about our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the services provided by our team.

We would be very happy to welcome you back in our Jan Hotels in the future.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Prefer the rooms in the tower with direct view on the city. Beds are smaller but rooms more quiet and you really feel like being invited by the Castle owner. Breakfast is great and you can have it on the terrace at the back. Very quiet in spite of being right in the city, a much better location than the Old Inn, part of the same group.

Room Tip: Ask for the castle view, it's the better ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Ruze as your ‘Home away from home’ in Cesky Krumlov.

We are glad to learn that you liked our facilities and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#11 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#10 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruze

Address: Horni 154, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £69 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ruze 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star Hotel Ruze located in the former Jesuit dormitory from the 16th century together with its 70 rooms designed for comfort represents a unique accommodation with a charming atmosphere. Historical spaces of the conference center and spectacular summer terrace are ideal places to organize a wedding or hold a meeting. Guests can enjoy also Wellness center with a range of various health services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruze Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing