We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful medieval hotel in fairytale town”
Review of Hotel Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ruze
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful medieval hotel in fairytale town”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As a Medieval Times fan (USA readers will understand) and huge medieval castle enthusiast, I LOVED the medieval feel to this superb hotel. The location was perfect - near the central square and castle but away from any noisy revelers. Our room was perfect and we had an amazing view of the castle from our bathroom window. The bathroom was fabulous, especially our own personal "throne". The breakfast buffet was delicious with both hot and cold fare. Cesky Krumlov was one of the most beautiful and historic towns we have visited - do not miss it! And the Hotel Ruze just put you right into the medieval vibe. (We didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked delicious although a bit expensive.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    176
    99
    50
    37
See reviews for
100
268
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location in Cesky Krumlov with beautiful views. The bartender, Martina, was the most delightful and helpful person we met in the Czech Rep. The hotel was fine but could be greatly improved by removing the creepy medieval mannequins placed throughout.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank suebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This was probably the most enjoyable weekend we experienced in a long time.the hotel is just SPLENDID....staff , facilities and food are great. Krumlov is an Amazing little town....One of most beautiful I ever visited...its an Unesco Heritage city....rightfully so!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank RafiCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 1 night here having driven in from Vienna. The city world heritage city is a real treat to discover after lots of driving and the somewhat drab countryside of the Czech lake region. We had a top floor room with a river view which was excellent. Staff was cordial and helpful.

This is an all walking city (nothing is far). It seems as though you are always looking up a the castle (which is closed on Mondays and we did not know this). We had a package that allowed for breakfast (good) and upgraded room.

All in all a very comfortable experience (parking was free and about 150 meters from the hotel). Plan on walking and strolling with lots of photographic opportunities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IllinoisWETRAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Hotels P, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ruze during your visit of Cesky Krumlov and for giving us a chance to learn about your experiences. We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the services provided. All of them we value as they help us to identify our guests’ needs, expectations and requirements. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great hotel with a view of the Vltava, 2 minute walk to the main square which is just far enough away to be out of the way of tourist traffic. The place was really awesome! Originally built as a Jesuit monastery in the 17th century.. Hardwood floors in the rooms, great bed, "blackout" curtains that fit the décor well and when closed will make it dark as midnight in the room. A/C worked well, was quiet, and the staff was more than helpful.

We are more than grateful for Petra at the front desk. She was very helpful and accommodating, giving us directions to a raft rental place around the corner and was generally very helpful. Thank you Petra! You helped make this a wonderful stay and I hope to return soon! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TxTwist2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Hotels P, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for the nice feedback given, complimenting us on our quality of facilities and services. We forwarded your review to our Front Desk Manager and to Petra personally in order to thank her for a great job she did. We are all looking forward to host you in our Jan Hotels soon again.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland. Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent one night at the Hotel. Had a charming room, felt like I was transported to the Middle Ages ( with a nice bathroom though, and toiletries made of Dead Sea minerals...though produced in the Czech Republic..go figure). Lovely terrace where dinner as well as breakfast is served, overlooking the Town and the River. I want to particularly mention the concierge who could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had to move to a different hotel the following morning and she actually drove with us and walked back! My mom had the handicapped room ( which they called 'invalid room' - made us laugh) with a real hospital like and wheelchair accessible bathroom. Excellent breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank vamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and write your review regarding your stay at Hotel Ruze.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the services provided. All of them we value as they help us to identify our guests’ needs, expectations and requirements.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks nice. large room, clean, service nice and friendly.
Great for the families with pets.
Be careful when booking the room over internet specially if you looking for double bedroom with 2 separate rooms, there was a bit confusion with out booking, but end if the day we get what we wanted to. Definitely worth a visit.
The one minus so far, it's a coffee for breakfast, it's horrible ! They will make you nice one for extra charge ?!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Theonereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuze, Hotel Management at Hotel Ruze, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Duo during your visit of Prague and for giving us a chance to learn about your experience.

We apologize that our coffee did not met you expectations. We are currently in process of choosing a new supplier of coffee and we do hope to get better feedbacks after.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and we hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruze

Property: Hotel Ruze
Address: Horni 154, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ruze 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star Hotel Ruze located in the former Jesuit dormitory from the 16th century together with its 70 rooms designed for comfort represents a unique accommodation with a charming atmosphere. Historical spaces of the conference center and spectacular summer terrace are ideal places to organize a wedding or hold a meeting. Guests can enjoy also Wellness center with a range of various health services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruze Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing