We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value - fantastic breakfast”
Review of Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Anna
Ranked #51 of 138 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
aberdeen
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“great value - fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We have stayed in Pension Anna every year for a single night in the middle of a February week spent in Prague for the last 10 years . We have come to love its unspectacular charm, comfort and truly fantadstic breakfast . Although the price for us has risen as a result of exchange rates it is still very good value . Its only a five minute walk from the bus station from which a bus to Buduvice leaves every 30 minutes and takes about 40 minutes. The pension has a lounge for guests with a snooker table and an large roaring wood fire in front of which it is a delight to doze when the weather is very cold as it was this year. This year we treated ourselves to a second night in this wonderful village and Pension Anna did not let us down. It is very quiet and we sleep well on a comfortable bed. In the morning the breakfast is a model of its kind - from a content and presentation point of view . The cheese ham salami and scrambled egg are arranged beautifully and accompanied by a sweet or cake . It puts many Prague hotels to shame. The staff are a family . Friendly and efficient. We have every expectation that we we wil lbe back fro more next year !!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broombank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Although some of the qualifications given by others are true, the pluses FAR outweigh these for Pension Anna in our opinion, and this was possibly our favorite lodging during a two week tour of Central Europe. The apartment room was less economical due to changes in the exchange rates prior to our travel, but still a good deal for staying in this incredible town. We loved the room, plenty of space for four. Easy in and out access for a car on this street, a garage to keep it in, a relaxing several minute stroll to the main town square, river rafting reservations and put in just 100m away, it was just right. Nothing fancy, but it perfectly fits this town. Breakfasts are excellent, almost too much to eat each day. The family owners are extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank run4lifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
402 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We spent three nights at Pension Anna in the beautiful town of Ceskey Krumlov.
There is no internet connection but nearby is a wi-fi café at the City Theatre and across the street at Restaurant Barbakan is pay wi-fi.

We had Apartment 6 at an end of a hallway.

Check in was very quick and they parked out rental car in their locked garage. There is no refrigerator in the room and no English speaking TV stations.

A note said to take fast “5 minute” showers as our apartment shared a hot water heater with another apartment. We never ran out of hot water but we did try to take short showers.

We had a loft bedroom and the apartment was clean. There are 15 steps up to the bedroom. The windows are double pane. There is no air conditioning and at times the street noise was evident when we had the windows open to cool off our apartment.

The bathroom towels are rough as they are dried outside on a clothesline. Kind of like drying off with a Loofah scrub. Like most European Pensions, if you want a washcloth, bring it with you.

There was amble storage and light sockets to recharge batteries.

There is a quiet almost meditative private garden.

They served a hot breakfast with a colorful presentation and there was a different breakfast each of the three days. It was a “set” breakfast, in that there was no menu- you got what you got but everything was good.

It is quick walk to the town square.

Bottom line: very enjoyable and we would stay there again. But if the weather was hot, we would to stay somewhere else that had air conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarJan6861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Hubby, the teens & I stayed 1 night at this extremely well located Pension in delightfull Cesky Krumlov. We stayed in a split level family room. The bathroom (very old, but clean with very thin, hard towels- my daughter, I'm ashamed to say, refused to shower that night!) + small sitting room downstairs. (Tiny TV, no english speaking channels). Upstairs 2 single beds on either side of a large double, very little room between. We left most of our luggage downstairs.

The staff were very friendly with reasonable english. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bath towels
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed 3 nights, loved Cesky Krumlov. A less pristine version of Rothenberg, Germany. Rafting down the river was a fun experience. Lots of choice for restaurants.

Pension Anna's has a very nice breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Secure parking for vehicles, there is an enclosed building for the cars just down the road 20 or 30 meters. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — breakfast, location, reading room
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calgaryjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

We decided to stay in Czesky Krumlov an extra night because it was cheaper than prague and this B&B looked really cute from the pictures. if i did it again, i would have stayed in my prague B&B for that night. We had the double apt, and it was basically a bedroom with a small living room attached, which contained an uncomfortable couch and a TV that only got a few channels. The people were really nice and the breakfast was typical and fine, but the room was not attractive or comfortable. I think the place is totally fine, and once again, the owners are very mice, but the rooms are definitely not as cute as the front of the place (which is pictured on the site) and I would look for another place in Krumlov if I went back.

  • Liked — the staff were very friendly
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jen42ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

This is a cute B&B. The staff is very warm and helpful. Breakfast is very large and a bit different everyday. We had a two story room, so there was plenty of space to relax. There is a tv, but no English speaking channel. We enjoyed our two nights here.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JSWTAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Antoni
Pension Antoni
#26 of 138 in Cesky Krumlov
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#28 of 138 in Cesky Krumlov
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Mysi Dira
Hotel Garni Mysi Dira
#19 of 138 in Cesky Krumlov
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penzion Landauer
Penzion Landauer
#71 of 138 in Cesky Krumlov
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension U Hada
Pension U Hada
#41 of 138 in Cesky Krumlov
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Anna

Property: Pension Anna
Address: Rooseveltova 41, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing