We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this family hotel!”
Review of Pension Barbakan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Barbakan
Ranked #8 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This family hotel is not located in the center of the town, but it is easy for me to get everywhere because the beautiful town is not big.

The man of the house is very friendly and warm. He looked up the time table of the train and arranged the best schedule for me.

The bed is somewhat hard but the washroom is very clean.

The breakfast is OK.

There's a resturant below the hotel and near the river. The food there is rather good, but you have to wait more than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatSkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stopped by the reception of the pension. The manager offered to hold their last room available for 15 minutes as we were waiting for our friends to join us. When we came back to the pension 5 minutes later, he pretended that he forgot about us and told us he gave the room to other people. What a poor customer service and unprofessional behaviour!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank TravelingFan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Pension Barbakan certainly doesn't win any service awards for replying emails! I emailed the guesthouse to do a booking but when there was no reply, I got my room through a hotel portal, a deluxe room with river view.

When we were in the guesthouse, it was a different story. The lady at the reception was pleasant, willing to help with dining recommendations. She also assisted with a booking at their restaurant below the guesthouse.

My friend and I were won over by the room #6. Absolutely value for money! The deluxe room was huge, it was as though staying a in suite with much simpler, but comfortable, furnishing. Lovely view overlooking the river and a park. Bathroom came with a nice tub for a good soak, bring your own foam bath. There's a little kitchenette with a musty old fridge that seemed unused for ages, but it was not something essential for me. Oh yes, there is no air-con though, so I'm not sure how the room is cooled in summer, but in late spring, the weather was perfect.

If you are coming by coach, Pension Barbakan is ideally located just a few minutes walk from the bus station, at the bridge leading towards the old town square. Not too much walking with your luggage!

We ate the Krcma Barbakan below the hotel. Food took a while to arrive but it was good and the atmosphere, while a little dark, was nice and cosy. Continental breakfast was at the little dining room on the ground floor. Good spread, I am satisfied!

Overall, an excellent stay at the Pension Barbakan and I will return if given the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drunk-on-gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Pension Barbakan was a delight. We had a lovely large room with views over the river and the old stone bridge; the large bathroom also had good views over the stone bridge. The room was furnished with some lovely antique pieces and the large bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well. There was a great selection of hot and cold foods for breakfast and this was served in a prettily furnished dining area. The receptionist and owner were very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We also enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant down below the pension. The location was perfect, peaceful, easy to find and only three minutes walk from the main square. We would definitely return to this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The woman we dealt with at the front desk was beyond dreadful. Can't understand what these other reviews are talking about as we did not have anything other than a horrible experience here. There was a woman behind the desk with short brown/black hair and glasses who has embarrassingly poor customer service skills. She was not helpful with our questions and verbally assaulted, literally screamed at us, as we were trying to check out of the property. This business should be mortified to have such a person in place to interact directly with customers. We wouldn't recommend anyone stay here when there are many lovely other hotels/pensions right down the street which, from our experience, have an understanding of what good customer service is and how to provide it to their customers. Be warned! While we love Cesky Krumlov, we will never return to Barbakan!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackdog1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Our visit to this small, charming medieval town, which I greatly recommend, was made perfect by our stay at the Barbakan. Located within the old town area it was easy walking to everything. Our room had a lovely view overlooking the Vlata River. The breakfast was delicious and healthy with a nice variety of choices. The room was also lovely, more like staying in a bedroom than a hotelroom, in the best of ways but most noteworthy was the service. Dana Zikova took such care of us. No matter what we were looking for, she found a way to make it happen. She was a friend trying to make our visit to Cesky Krumlov as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We had 2 nights at Pension Barbakan and really enjoyed our stay. The friendly owners were willing to answer questions and make sure we were comfortable. The pension is in a great position right at the entrance to the old town, and has some rooms overlooking the river. Our room was cosy and clean, and the free wifi was great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grubduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penzion Krumlov
Penzion Krumlov
#3 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penzionek Olsakovsky
Penzionek Olsakovsky
#4 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Beatika
Villa Beatika
#1 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penzion Gardena
Penzion Gardena
#7 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Barbakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Barbakan

Address: Horni 26, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £37 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Barbakan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Barbakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Barbakan Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing