We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique location, , unique hotel, wonderful views, great location”
Review of Hotel Old Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Old Inn
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is located in a very beautiful and romantic town which used to be part of the Iron Curtain. The village is breathtaking, and the hotel is very unique. You will be living in the equivalent of a bread and breakfast from ancient times. This hotel was three separate houses that were combined and remodeled to be a hotel. To get to your room is like living in a labyrinth. The disadvantages of this hotel was that there was no electrical outlets in the bathroom, the toilet paper when hanging down rested on the toilet bowl brush, to turn off the light next to your bed you had to climb behind the headboard to find the switch on the cord, No shampoo, no lotion. no conditioner, only a combination dispenser of liquid soap for your hair and body in the shower and at the sink. The safe was so small my camera could not fit in it and the operation was so antiquated that the Three Musketeers may have used it first. They did keep the hotel extremely clean, and were washing and cleaning at all times, except the floors were very slippery when wet and there was no notification such as a sign. The room only had one electrical outlet for guest use, The bathroom design and layout needs a change as the towel rack is on the opposite side of the room from the bath / shower. Very poor water pressure, you will be lucky to get all your soap off, The hand-held shower is at waist level so you cannot have it permanently above your head. You must use the handle to wash over your body, but it is only a slight dribble. The air-conditioning was adequate and kept the room comfortable. There was a safety bar in the tub, which was appreciated and it is a great location right in the center of the town and you could not ask for a better location. However, if you wanted the gym or the pool you had to go to another hotel. The rooms are extremely small. But what you would get on the top floor of a house with slanted ceilings. It is okay for a one night stay to experience this unique town. I give this a 1 1/2 star rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We value your opinion which helps us to identify areas for improvements as well as guiding us for improving our service. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations.

Your comments are well respected and taken in consideration by the Management. Based on your comments corrective actions will be taken.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Whilst on a tour in late June, 2013 we stayed at The Old Inn in Cesky Krumlov which is in the main square of a picturesque medieval town nestled on the banks of the Vitava. The single beds were very small but the actual hotel was rather unique with stairs and corridors every where so one had to be mindful of where your room was otherwise you could get lost, which was rather fun.

As you step outside the entrance to the hotel you face the square which leads you through the narrow cobbled streets and arch covered footpaths. The restaurants are all around the square and down some small cobbled streets and all are really well worth going to as the food is well presented and very inviting. The staff in the restaurants are so welcoming, it is a pleasure to eat at them.

The hotel is easy walking distance to the Oravsky Hrad Castle which is considered to the finest in the land and believe it or not they actually have two bears in an enclosure at the entrance to the castle.

Room Tip: As it is a medieval town all the rooms seem to be quite as most of the activity at night seem to com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Old Inn during your stay in Cesky Krumlov and for your nice feedback.

We are delighted to learn that our facilities, service and location met with your expectations.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Minimum furnishings. Room was clean. Staff were not very helpful. Tiny bathroom. Breakfast was average. Rude staff. Arrived as the 3 day festival commenced. Were forced to pay 200 krones entrance fee to the city. Our room overlooked the city square, which ment we were able to observe all the festivities of the event. Great location, and an ideal place to stay when the festival is on. However, this was the highlight of our 7 week trip to Europe. Loved Cesky Krumlov. Could have stayed a week. Superb buildings. It is listed as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage City. Would stay next time in the sister hotel "Hotel Ruze"

Room Tip: Front rooms could be noisy. WiFi only worked in the foyer. Very central
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

We appreciate your comments re. your recent stay at the Old Inn Hotel. Those are very important in helping us identify the specific areas for improvement and better service by taking the necessary corrective actions.

Truly sorry for not having met your expectations. Still hoping to welcome you again at the Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We went into the Old Inn Hotel / Restaurant on a cold, rainy night. We ordered soup, and when we requested the menu to order a main course, the waiter told us that the kitchen had closed. Between courses? It was no wonder that we were the only guests in the restaurant. The waiter was surly and the ambiance non-existent (like the food). Give it a miss.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valuable guest,

Your comments are very important to us and we are deeply sorry about your disappointment. The Food and Beverage Manager was duly informed so that he and his staff be made aware and understand the value of the customer.

Wishing you well and hoping to welcome you again at the Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Hotel and its room are so post communist, and the people are dude the resturant food was OK but the service was disgusting that treated us like like crap and locked us out on the terrace, wanted to go to the bathroom and they wouldnt let us back in, never stay there again We will stay at the Grand Hotel across the Square much friendlier place the staff there saw everything wwe had to go through just to use the bath room, never again, terrible experience. Totally don't recommend this pplace YUK. and ignornat, arrogant and horrible.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sorro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The building is large and old and interesting. But the rooms are cheaply furnished. Cheap sheets, pillows, curtains, furniture and the bedspreads that surely are not washed between guests. It didn't like the hotel. I would have been happy to pay a more expensive price for a better quality room.

The receptionist was quite hopeless and inefficient. She didn't seem to be well trained or to even have an understanding how she could make guests happier.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Cesky Krumlov is a medieval city - to get a flavour of this place it is suggested that you stay back and once all the tourists have left and place quietens down you can then really understand this place - We found Cesky Krumlov to be a very special place complete with cobbled stones, medieval buildings and of course the wonderful Castle which dominates the place. Hotel Old inn was right in the center of the town square - perfect location ! a walk away from all the attractions

The decor of the hotel was quaint and small town types - we loved it !

The buffet breakfast is quite a spread !

We went to the Catacombs restaurant below for dinner and it was a very unique experience - the restaurant is situated in what used to be a catacomb..! the food was good, prices moderate enough for the place ... staff very helpful...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Inn

Address: Namesti Svornosti 12, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £54 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Old Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the main square of the beautiful UNESCO town of Český Krumlov Hotel Old Inn provides all the comforts, quality services and gastronomic experience in its two unique restaurants - restaurant with summer terrace and Grill Restaurant Katakomby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing