We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, fantastic hostel.”
Review of Hostel 99

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel 99
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, fantastic hostel.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Could not have enjoyed my time in Hostel 99 any more. The hostel itself is unlike any other i've stayed in, it kind of felt like we were staying in a tree house. The receptionist Zezu was an absolute treat, and the all round vibes are very laid back, could not be a more perfect stop between Prague and the next major city your headed too. Just make sure you leave enough time to explore Cesky as well as doing the river rafting pub crawl, because there's no way you can stay at this hostel and not conquer that !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
33
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hostel 99s rooms were really nice. We stayed in the apartment one night and the dorm another night. Really cool building with a good restaurant and deli. Well planned activities and free beer on Wednesdays. Staff was really friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauractravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Zezu! You are brilliant!

I had the good fortune to spend three nights in Cesky Krumlov and base myself at the Hostel 99. Zezu could not have been more welcoming. A great cofy bed, long hot showers and a free keg of beer on the terrace on a Wednesday. Hostel 99 rocks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenakedtourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

First of all, the town of Cesky Krumlow is absolutely beautiful. Quaint cobbled streets and the carved a castle out of the rocks! There is not much to do here, but walk around and gorge on the beauty of the town. In peak season, the tourists outnumber the local population, and there is no public transport.
And from what I figured, Hostel 99 is probably the best hostel in the town. Situated right at the town entry, one can walk around the town from here. The staff is courteous and helpful. And the hostel itself is quite pleasant, better than what you'd expect in this small-ish place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sum_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hostel is in a great location, a 10 minute walk from the centre of this small town and very close to the castle. You can get reasonably priced food at the restaurant next door. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were airy.

Showers and toilets were alright but I noticed they were not cleaned everyday and you have to share two showers and two toilets with up to 30 or so other people.

Room Tip: If you have a large/heavy suitcase, try to get a room downstairs as the stairs to the loft area upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbitten03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very good value for money, great location (although Cesky Krumlov is tiny!), generally a nice atmosphere, although one of the guys who worked there I found unnerving, but only came across him briefly, the other two guys I met were very welcoming. Had a nice little patio area where you could light a fire which was nice and cosy. Not many shower facilities considering the size of the hostel, but to be honest I didn't have a problem with getting in the shower when I wanted! Only downside was that the rooms don't lock (lockers inside though). During my stay, this meant on one night we had a few members of a stag do wandering into our room at the early hours of the morning as they weren't sure which room was theirs!! Didn't have a problem the second night though!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent 4 nights at hostel 99. The hostel is in a great location at the northern end of the old town and very close to the castle. It is clean, the beds are comfortable and the temperature indoors was perfect. The bathroom showers have more pressure than anywhere I've ever stayed. We were very impressed by the friendliness of the manager - and it was for this reason, plus the beautiful weather that we stayed an extra night. The hostel was quite quiet when we were there but we spent some time chatting to the few other guests in the small but well equipped kitchen.
Really must emphasise the friendliness of the staff, really made our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mlyn
Hotel Mlyn
#10 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Krumlov House & WriteAway Retreat
0.7 mi away
Hostel Havana
Hostel Havana
#29 of 53 in Cesky Krumlov
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 99

Property: Hostel 99
Address: Vezhni 99, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel 99 is a friendly, family-owned hostel in a lovingly-restored 16th-c. Building located in heart of UNESCO protected Cesky Krumlov, one of the world's-best preserved medieval cities. We offer a variety of accommodation from dorm rooms with unique atmosphere, to comfortable private doubles and triples. Hostel 99 is centrally-located within the old town, only steps away from all that Krumlov has to offer. It is the closest hostel to both the train station and bus stop, making it a great place to unload your backpack and relax. Whether you choose to spend your days exploring the city, enjoying delicious Czech beer in the local pubs, gently floating down the river in one of our rafts, or just hanging out on the hostel terrace or in our friendly Hospoda 99 or cozy Deli 99, Hostel 99 provides you with all you need to fall in love with Krumlov. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel 99 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing