We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied for the price.”
Review of Hostel Merlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Merlin
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Good location, but the surrounding gets a little noisy if you have windows into the town side. We had problem because of the parking spot (overbooking) but kitchen is nice, the staff is friendly and the price is awesome.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LenkaZv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Pension Merlin has 2 parts. the hostel that located in the old town and the pension, 500m up hill south to old town. both owned and run by the same owners. we stayed at the pension. our room was big, clean, and with nice view over the town. small but nice kitchenet & dinning room and big quiet garden to seat and relax.
only problem with this hostel is the service. the lady at the reseption was not nice and very unpleasent to deal with. refuse to help us with information and creates difficulties about our payment (refuse to take czhce crones because they were "not from the bank" so we had to pay in euro)
overall: very nice place but very poor experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank gil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've been to three hostels in Cesky Krumlov (had to switch every day due to lastminute availability), and this is what I found:

This hostel is right in the old town, next to the river. I think that is its major advantage. Other than that fairly normal hostel facilities - wifi, no bunk beds (yay), a number of bathrooms, a small kitchen, a very small fridge, but no real common room. This meant it was hard to meet up with people here, and no real place to hang out in between doing activities in Krumlov. Aside from that there was a guy taking a shower at 12am, and it made so much noise in our room that noone could sleep. The showers are not great because they go for literally 5 seconds and then you have to press the button again. All in all this hostel wasn't that much fun, but it was a cheap place to sleep. (P.S. Note that the lockers don't work, two people of staff looked at them for me).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wazoozaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We absolutely loved this hostel! It is the best value in town. Staff was friendly and upgraded us to a private room which was very inexpensive. There is a kitchen to share with complimentary tea. The rooms are small but cozy. Everything in town is within walking distance. Be prepared to pay in cash.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The price for the room is cheap so you can't get high level you expect. I still recommend! The host is very nice and friendly. You can get some information from the desk. Only one thing I want to blame is the room is too small, but it’s cheap so….

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianian39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Really good location and cute little comfy rooms in the pension. Nice to have our own kitchen and bathroom. A few things weren't good... The room wasn't very clean when we arrived (hairs all over the floor) and the fridge and toaster didn't work.. A bit disappointing. The staff were very friendly but not really helpful at all. For such a cheap price however we really couldn't complain.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ab170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

it's among one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.
Although a bit lack of atmosphere inside, hostel merlin is very well located right in the very centre of Cesky Krumlov. It has beautiful view from the window, I enjoyed my one-day-stay there.
The only problem is that in the room,wifi signal sometimes get very weak and will disconnect occasionally.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostel Krumlov House & WriteAway Retreat
0.4 mi away
Hostel 99
Hostel 99
#11 of 53 in Cesky Krumlov
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Havana
Hostel Havana
#27 of 53 in Cesky Krumlov
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension U Hada
Pension U Hada
#46 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension Vodotrysk
Pension Vodotrysk
#63 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Merlin

Address: Kajovska 59, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £19 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Merlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing