We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bohemiene, Confortevole, Pulito. Tornerei!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Skippy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Skippy
Roma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bohemiene, Confortevole, Pulito. Tornerei!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Cesky Krumlov it's just a lovely city. I enjoyed every minute of my stay in this place maybe aldo thank's to kindnsess and hospitality of the young owners of hostel skippy.
The hostel is located at 5 minute walking to the most important square, beside the nice river which run into the city.
Ambient is a little naive and we liked it so much. it seems to stay in some friends house, very confortable, Our room, in the first floor was very big. A nice soft bed and a windows to the river. Also good was the breakfast in the terrace. I really should spend all my day sitted there looking and listening the river.
Of course it's not the Hitlon but it's a good choice to discover this fantastic spot of czech republic. I really reccomend that to anyone want enjoy the city. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoDiPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

While the name is Hostel Skippy, staying here feels more like being invited into someone's home. It is a small building located right on the Valtala River, about a 10 minute walk from the heart of town. There are many things that make Hostel Skippy special. First & foremost are Skippy & Teresa. They are both extremely welcoming, friendly, and laid-back people who really want to help you enjoy all that Cesky Krumlov has to offer. The terrace in the back overlooks the river and hills and is perfect for relaxing while you enjoy a book, meal or glass of wine.

We stayed in the private room upstairs and thought that it was perfect for a 3-night stay. The room was spacious with a small dining table, coffee table, and two lounge chairs. The plants and decorations in the room, plus its great river view, made it feel like home; these features were a welcomed change from the sterile feel of so many hostels & hotels.

Like the bedroom, the shared kitchen and bathrooms are what you would expect when staying in someone's home. They are nothing fancy, but serve their purpose well. We had a great time here and would definitely stay again.

A few things to note:
They have a dog. So if you're allergic, you may want to stay elsewhere
There is only 1 shower.
You have to take your shoes of inside.

None of these things were an issue for us. Just FYI.

Room Tip: The private room is worth the money over a dorm bed. Really nice place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

In 2011 I set off to see the world.I could have done just that and had an awesome time, but I randomly chose to stay at Hostel Skippy and ended up having a home away from home.This is way more than a backpackers or hostel- it has a heart and soul. It redefined fun, traveling spirit (v different from being a tourist) and set me in good stead for really appreciating the Czech Republic and it's people. I has a wonderful time there indeed!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gleeglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pethohenye, Zala, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Thank you for your hospitality and kindness.
Your hostel is realy friendly and it's 5 min to center of the town.
I hope we will meet you again next summer:)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khanabyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The first time I visited Hostel Skippy I was blown away, I've never visited a place as glorious as Cesky Krumlov and Hostel Skippy made my visit 100% perfect.
It is a comfortable, cosy, artistic hostel which felt like a home from home - much needed after months of traveling away from my family. Everyone was so friendly and happy to be there. The second time I stayed here I paid for the more expensive double room - which has lovely views of the river and is still absolutely fantastic value!
Since falling in love with Cesky Krumlov I plan to return as often as possible - there is no other place I'd stay than Hostel Skippy.
Skippy herself is an absolute delight - serenading us with her Billy Jean renditions and laughing with everyone into the night. For me she is an inspiration, a woman who you can tell really loves life and it is worth staying here just to meet her!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LettuceMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Skippy"s place is just perfect. Next to the river Vltava, the balcony is right above it. You can watch canoers. The location is very good. Shops are close, and the centre as well.
Skippy is a great host. You will feel like at a friend, not at a hostel.
A homey and friendly place.
We suggest everyone to visit her place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tothferko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Hi,
Skippy is a very friendly owner, loves to talk and makes you feel comfortable.
Very good communication thru email as well before our stay.

We had a double room and a shared bathroom. The room is quite spacious and has windows opening towards the river. So excellent views.

What I did not like much is that it was very tight and dark all the time in the common areas. The hostel is a bit below the ground level and windows/doors generally shut, so not much light comes in. Plus the stairs to our room were very tight, so with luggage it was a tough call.

On the whole, for the price, the views are unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonirohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Krumlov House
Hostel Krumlov House
#1 of 45 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#36 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle View Apartments
Castle View Apartments
#2 of 45 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Skippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Skippy

Property: Hostel Skippy
Address: Plesivecka 123, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Skippy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing