We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““ Cozy place, friendly and helpful people, nice spot at the river, a bit musty, You really feel like a guest in the house :-).”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Skippy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Skippy
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
““ Cozy place, friendly and helpful people, nice spot at the river, a bit musty, You really feel like a guest in the house :-).”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Nice welcome with an introduction and places to go in Cesky Krumlov. Nice talks with the owners in their old house, where you feel like a guest. The dorm is a little musty though, toilet, bathroom and kitchen are clean. From the balcony at the river you can see the people turnover with their canoes and laugh at them (the same will happen too you too...).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This "hostel" was one of the highlights of my Europe trip. I put hostel in quotation marks since it is actually just a lady's house situated right on a beautiful river overlooking a hillside. Skippy was such a gracious and nice host, and I spent 2 hours talking with her on her deck about Czech Republic history, politics, and life! I would consider her a friend rather than the owner and operator of this hostel. The hostel is about a 7 minute walk from the main square in Cesky Krumlov and 15 minutes away from the castle. I have read reviews saying that the location of Hostel Skippy is not ideal, which I think is terribly false since the short walk consists of walking through Cesky Krumlov that maybe the most beautiful city I have ever been in. There is a gorgeous deck overlooking the river, and if you open the windows of your room you can hear the loud rushing of the water. The house is very cozy and clean, and it made me feel like I was right at home. There is also a small grocery store and restaurant on the same block as the hostel, which is very convenient. I would HIGHLY recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: The second floor single bed is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMeyers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I dare you to try and find better hostesses than Skippy and Olga. From the moment you arrive they go above and beyond to make your stay in idyllic Cesky a memorable one. The pension is very clean and charming. There is no bad location in Cesky and Hostel Skippy is located right on the river where you can sit on the patio watching rafters go by. You definitely won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've been to three hostels in Cesky Krumlov (had to switch every day due to lastminute availability), and this is what I found:

Hostel Skippy: This was my favourite hostel in Cesky Krumlov. The owner Skippy, and her help Olga, are super friendly and fun to chat with. This hostel felt more like someone's home: it's an older, beautiful house, with nice spacious rooms, and a really nice covered deck out the back, with a view on the river. The wifi works best on the deck but is fine over all. There are two toilets and one (non-hostel) shower, but there aren't that many spaces in the hostel anyway, so it doesn't get too crowded and I never found an occupied bathroom. I would definitely go back here!! (And don't think that it's far out of town, it really isn't. It looks far on the map but is just a short walk - Cesky Krumlov just isn't that big).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazoozaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for 2 nights in the double room.
It's not like any other hostel in Europe - the rooms were very peaceful and homely with a very nice view of the river.
Skippy and Olga showed and recommended to us all the hot spots in town which was very helpful :)
It's abit from the train station but very close to town centre, bus station and local supermarket.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahTeee55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcunda, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This cozy guesthouse is located right on the Vlatava river, only a short walk from the old town and about a 20 minute walk from the main bus station. Skippy and OLgA are warm and welcoming hosts and have created a lovely place for travellers to chill out.

The rooms are spacious with comfy beds, there's nice hot water in the shared bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen for preparing meals. Best of all is the terrace overlooking the river where it's possible to spend many hours recharging your batteries!

The nearby supermarket and bakery supply breakfast and grocery needs, and the local bar is only a few steps away.

The rustic feel, conversations, books and music my mother and I shared with Skippy and OLgA made our time in Cesky Krumlov very special and we have left with only wonderful memories.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The owner of the hostel, skippy, is such a great person! She's nice and she's always ready to give you good advices: all that you need to see, cool restaurants , and activities.

The place is very cool and cosy with a beautiful terrace above the river. So nice!
The rooms are cleans, there is a skylight in the bathroom (so pretty) and a cool atmosphere.

If you're looking for a place, don't hesitate, and go there !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterofphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penzion Weber
Penzion Weber
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Krumlov House
Hostel Krumlov House
#1 of 46 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#27 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Havana
Hostel Havana
#23 of 46 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Skippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Skippy

Property: Hostel Skippy
Address: Plesivecka 123, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Skippy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing