We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, beautiful place in wonderful town”
Review of Hotel Leonardo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Leonardo
Ranked #44 of 138 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Calabasas, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, beautiful place in wonderful town”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We had two fantastic rooms...lots of antiques, beautifully appointed rooms, with all the modern convenieces! Girl at the front desk extremely helpful and friendly. Made some great chioces for dining (Svetlana restaurant) Only drawback. hotel is just off main square and can be noisy with your windows open...but all windows were double paned, so closed, it was no problem. Nice inclued brweakfast...We loved Krumlov!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanCalabasas_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    38
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
70
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Hotel Seneca forms part of Hotel Leonardo. It has just nine rooms, which are all newly furnished in excellent taste and with high-quality bathrooms. It is well-sited in the pedestrianised centre of Cesky Krumlov (although it is too noisy for windows to be left open at night). On the downside, there is no lift and no help with luggage, breakfast is basic and there was no cleaning to speak of: new bin-liners and towels were deposited outside the door each day and we were left to make our own beds. But the availiability of 4-bedded rooms (a sofa-bed provided two extra beds) made the hotel price competitive. Despite the poor service, we have rated the hotel five stars because of the standard of accommodation, the location and relative value-for-money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

What a charming hotel the Leonardo is with its ancient stone walls, wide window sills,
stone and wood floors, great decor. Just off the main square in the town of Cesky Krumlov. Great room, comfy bed and pillows, lovely modern bathroom, nice amenities.
Buffet continental breakfast very nice. Hotel employees very accomodating.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dandy985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The three of us received a very nice two-level room (#11) with terrace at Hotel Leonardo (2,350 CZK or about $120 for 3). On the lower level was a couch (converted to the third bed), table, chair, TV, bath, and door to a good-sized terrace. Up some stairs was a bed for two, more seating, and another TV - all very comfortable. The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful, and the included breakfast (usual sliced meats, cheeses, cereals, juices, etc.) was good. As noted by others, there's no lift, but pause on the way up and down to enjoy the atmosphere and interesting prints along the way!

When we arrived, we first parked at a gated pay lot at the edge of the old-town area and walked in to find a hotel. Since it was early March, we didn't reserve hotels in advance (with the exception of Prague) for our road trip, we just noted a couple of interesting possibilities for each town before leaving home - and here as elsewhere we had no trouble finding a room. At check-in, the hotel gave us a pass to drive into the old-town area to unload baggage and then provided a parking ticket for another lot at the edge of old town - about an eight minute walk. It didn't seem a good idea to just drive into the restricted old-town area without a pass - we saw police checking cars near the hotel.

Restaurants are nearby - we were the only guests in one on the square, and the dinner was good and reasonably priced. No castle tours in March, but we had a good time hiking through the passageways (one of the guard bears was out) and courtyards and enjoyed the views of the town from up there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImTeague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
351 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We were given an attic room with no windows, only ceiling "skylights" that opened for ventilation. Since it was heavily raining, these had to be kept closed - the room was sweltering. The next day we were promised another room, but when we came back at the time staff directed us to be there to move our belongings, they had given all 6 vacant rooms away! Also, the tub/shower was under the attic eaves, so you couldn't stand up. And the hotel is next to several discos, with blaring music and loud drunks shouting ALL night.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I returned to Krumlov after two years to find out that the same guy running Leonardo opened Seneca hotel in same street. We loved Leonardo for its genius loci and we love Seneca - it is CLEAN, QUIET and who knows the staff at Leonardo must love to hear that these guys operate hotel Seneca as well. WIFI free of charge, perfect

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — had to leave after four nights
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kru-kef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2008

We highly recommend the Hotel Leonardo!! It is located just off the main town square and is within walking distance to all major hotspots. The room had a wonderful feel to it with a small hallway opening up to a bathroom and the bedroom. Great service. Continental breakfast included in price of room. WiFi internet and parking including in cost of room. Affordable and perfect for a young couple.

  • Liked — Great room and location
  • Disliked — lugging suitcases up three floors
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandBarbaraT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#14 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonardo

Property: Hotel Leonardo
Address: Soukenicka 33 | 30 m From Main Square, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Renesance)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Leonardo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town, just thirty metres from the central square and ten minutes from Krumlov chateau. The very first owner of this newly rebuilt house was mentioned already in the year 1582. We offer accommodation in 11 double rooms including four spacious deluxe rooms. All rooms are equipped with mini bars, satellite TVs, phones and, of course, own bath and toilet. They are furnished with carefully selected mix of original antique furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Leonardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing