We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine, but overpriced for what we got”
Review of Hotel Leonardo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Leonardo
Ranked #24 of 141 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The building is lovely and the location is great if you want to be in the very center of Cesky Krumlov. But our room was quite dusty, seemed not to have been fully cleaned for a while, there was nobody at the front desk for many hours, and there was no room cleaning while we stayed (they simply left each room a new garbage bag and hand towel, on the floor outside the door). Meantime, we paid quite a bit. It's a perfectly nice place, beautiful wood floors, spacious, etc. But it was way way overpriced for this sort of bad service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stopped in Cesky Krumlov on our way from Prague to Salzburg. We found the hotel online and hoped for the best (after doing some research here). We were very, very happy.

First, Jana from the hotel emailed back and forth with me several times answering all of my questions - both about the hotel, the room, the town and things to do. She was amazingly helpful to us as we were unfamiliar with the region. We even got in touch with her late one night to get advice about what to do about the outdoor opera being rained out. It wasn't. She was very accessible and helpful. Other staff were too.

Second, the room was fantastic. We stayed in room 11. It is two stories with a balcony that looks over the rooftops of the beautiful town and you can see the castle. Lovely. Lots of space. Clean and comfortable.

Third, they have a van and a driver who actually picked us up in Prague (our previous stop) and drove us (and our suitcases) to Cesky -with a stop in Tabor. We paid, of course, but it was very reasonable and we really enjoyed him. It was great to see the countryside and make some stops at our own discretion. He also drove us to Salzburg (our next stop) from Cesky - with a stop at the Mauthausen concentration camp. While we were in Cesky Krumlov he drove us to a mountain to explore for the day and picked us up at the base later that day. Very reasonable.

Finally, the breakfast was good. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcjay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We had two fantastic rooms...lots of antiques, beautifully appointed rooms, with all the modern convenieces! Girl at the front desk extremely helpful and friendly. Made some great chioces for dining (Svetlana restaurant) Only drawback. hotel is just off main square and can be noisy with your windows open...but all windows were double paned, so closed, it was no problem. Nice inclued brweakfast...We loved Krumlov!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanCalabasas_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Hotel Seneca forms part of Hotel Leonardo. It has just nine rooms, which are all newly furnished in excellent taste and with high-quality bathrooms. It is well-sited in the pedestrianised centre of Cesky Krumlov (although it is too noisy for windows to be left open at night). On the downside, there is no lift and no help with luggage, breakfast is basic and there was no cleaning to speak of: new bin-liners and towels were deposited outside the door each day and we were left to make our own beds. But the availiability of 4-bedded rooms (a sofa-bed provided two extra beds) made the hotel price competitive. Despite the poor service, we have rated the hotel five stars because of the standard of accommodation, the location and relative value-for-money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

What a charming hotel the Leonardo is with its ancient stone walls, wide window sills,
stone and wood floors, great decor. Just off the main square in the town of Cesky Krumlov. Great room, comfy bed and pillows, lovely modern bathroom, nice amenities.
Buffet continental breakfast very nice. Hotel employees very accomodating.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank dandy985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The three of us received a very nice two-level room (#11) with terrace at Hotel Leonardo (2,350 CZK or about $120 for 3). On the lower level was a couch (converted to the third bed), table, chair, TV, bath, and door to a good-sized terrace. Up some stairs was a bed for two, more seating, and another TV - all very comfortable. The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful, and the included breakfast (usual sliced meats, cheeses, cereals, juices, etc.) was good. As noted by others, there's no lift, but pause on the way up and down to enjoy the atmosphere and interesting prints along the way!

When we arrived, we first parked at a gated pay lot at the edge of the old-town area and walked in to find a hotel. Since it was early March, we didn't reserve hotels in advance (with the exception of Prague) for our road trip, we just noted a couple of interesting possibilities for each town before leaving home - and here as elsewhere we had no trouble finding a room. At check-in, the hotel gave us a pass to drive into the old-town area to unload baggage and then provided a parking ticket for another lot at the edge of old town - about an eight minute walk. It didn't seem a good idea to just drive into the restricted old-town area without a pass - we saw police checking cars near the hotel.

Restaurants are nearby - we were the only guests in one on the square, and the dinner was good and reasonably priced. No castle tours in March, but we had a good time hiking through the passageways (one of the guard bears was out) and courtyards and enjoyed the views of the town from up there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImTeague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We were given an attic room with no windows, only ceiling "skylights" that opened for ventilation. Since it was heavily raining, these had to be kept closed - the room was sweltering. The next day we were promised another room, but when we came back at the time staff directed us to be there to move our belongings, they had given all 6 vacant rooms away! Also, the tub/shower was under the attic eaves, so you couldn't stand up. And the hotel is next to several discos, with blaring music and loud drunks shouting ALL night.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krcinuv Dum
Hotel Krcinuv Dum
#21 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension Nostalgie
Pension Nostalgie
#4 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penzion U Mrazku
Penzion U Mrazku
#105 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments U Zvonu
Apartments U Zvonu
#19 of 53 in Cesky Krumlov
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonardo

Address: Soukenicka 33 | 30 m From Main Square, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Renesance)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leonardo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town, just thirty metres from the central square and ten minutes from Krumlov chateau. The very first owner of this newly rebuilt house was mentioned already in the year 1582. We offer accommodation in 11 double rooms including four spacious deluxe rooms. All rooms are equipped with mini bars, satellite TVs, phones and, of course, own bath and toilet. They are furnished with carefully selected mix of original antique furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Leonardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing