We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the middle of old town”
Review of Hotel Barbora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Barbora
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel Barbora is in the middle of Cesky Krumlov old town. It was so quaint and charming. The room was large. The bathroom was modern and new. Everything was very clean. We stayed on the 2nd floor and could look out our window with a window box and flowers to watch the town below. It had four large windows which we opened at night for a nice cool evening. The night was noisy at times with music and talking but it added to the atmosphere of this idyllic town. The restaurant was good and had the locally brewed Eggenberg Czech beer. Very good! We sat right beside the river that flows through the town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank USACindyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel looks better in reality than on photos. Its in middle historical city. Stuff is very friendly. Wifi are everywhere on main building, rooms was clean. I felt at home. I also met family witch one work there as well with their stuff. I was happy when i found out the best view on castle from their terrase. My boyfriend asked for romantic dinner with flowers. We were surprised that it wasn't problem to make that for us. Breakfast - great we could chose what we wanted.
Food in restaurant - u can't find almost every type of food, portions were good,food was delicious!!
We decided to have a wedding party here, next year with my boyfriend.
I recommend this hotel! :-)

Room Tip: The best room is 303, big with view on castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice, clean rooms with beautiful view. Conveniently located. But it was indicated that the rooms are air-conditioned and free WiFi is available in all rooms. That is not truth. In our rooms WiFi was not available and our rooms were not air-conditioned.
Also we were very disappointed about the restaurant service (two girls). During breakfast they did not pay any attention to the guests, they didn't even said "hallo". We should ask them bring us cups and etc. They were unfriendly during dinner too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of ideal location, it is situated right in the middle of the old town.
It can become a bit noisy because of the summer night life in Krumlov but we didn't mind! :-) Rooms were clean and big enough, staff was really friendly, breakfast was nice - we didn't need anything more! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vladimir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is an old hotel which has been renovated so be prepared for uneven floor, limited power points and stairs. Our room was at the top of the hotel. It was not tiny and had an air conditioner - a bit noisy. However, it is in an ideal location for sight seeing in this charming town. We did not realize how far the railway station was from the hotel and we walked and worried how the suitcase wheels would survive the cobblestones. They did, surprisingly. The bus station is also a fair walk out of town but not as far as the train station. Most people take a shuttle service when they leave here to their next destination and that will pick up from your hotel. The breakfast was not a huge selection but enough for a good start to the day. Light next to the bed is not very good when reading. There is a good restaurant (Czech cuisine) in the hotel and a terraced area. Apart from the stairs we enjoyed our stay here. This hotel is one of the very few that offer aircon in the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor, not right at the top - too many stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LitsaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Visited Czech Republic several times and twice Cesky Krumlev - fell in love with this city! Second visit was exceptionally nice mostly because of friendliness and assistance of the family running Barbora hotel during our stay. We stayed as a group of friends (10 rooms 21 people) in Barbora hotel located in the heart of this medieval beautiful city and everything was absolutely nice and efficient. The rooms were comfortable and clean with all the needed amenities, comfortable beds and quality linen. Breakfast was reasonable with variety everything you need – fresh and tasty items including some of the organic products. All inquiries and extras we asked for were resolved in a very friendly and efficient way. Travelling a lot I have no doubts this is a very strong 4 star quality hotel. On the top of everything having several unexpected issues (after kayaking day tour several people were injured…) and the hotel family assisted my friends to get to nearest hospital escorting them by the private car, waiting for them in the hospital while the first aid will be provided and bringing them back. The whole family running the hotel was worried and cared a lot about our stay and we felt like home. Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Cesky Krumlev whether you travelling as a group or as a couple. I can’t say that Czech Republic is the most friendly country in general (I mean people’s factor, often people are closed or even rude) but Barbora hotel family completely changed this impression. I will definitely return to this place! PS: the hotel is much nice than you can see on website pictures – I was surprised!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel is very close to all the major sites in this amazing city. However, do not get stuck in the annex! There were no rooms in the main hotel, so we were housed a few streets over at the top floor. It's a chore to drag luggage up there. The slope of the rooms was so extreme, that we knocked our heads and limbs into the ceilings and walls!

If you can't stay in the main hotel, skip it. The terrace has a view of the river and is pleasant. Food is good, but not great. The clock was broken and there was no telephone so we were afraid of oversleeping. The staff sent a rep. over in the AM to knock on our door, however. Very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbcusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbora

Address: Siroka 89, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £45 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barbora 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Barbora Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing