We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Hotel Barbora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Barbora
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 20 September 2006

An interesting hotel in an interesting village. Staff was friendly, the room was clean and had a window for watching traffic stroll by.

Old Town is mostly closed to traffic, you will want to park at lot P1, but it is most economical to arrange your park pass through the hotel, iteself.

Also, we had arranged reservations well in advance and found the strict checkin times (2pm - 5pm!) somewhat imposing for roadtripping.

  • Liked — Convenient!
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan parking in advance!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2005

We stayed at Hotel Barbora end November 2005 - we were the only guests. It was great!

The snow had just arrived and we had to walk from the bus station through a virtual blizzard, with our luggage. When we got off the bus there was only the driver to point the way up a small hill with a small path! I'd recommend going by train and getting a taxi.

The room was great, the breakfast was fine, but the restaurant was closed. It seemed like almost the whole was closed by 8 pm. There's agreat place to eat across from the hotel in the converted mill which also houses a bicycle and motorbike museum.

I woudl recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
274 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 654 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Barbora for three nights, 8/28-8/30/05. It has character, comfort, location, and value, and we recommend it very strongly. The Barbora is off the main square about 50 meters, and sits just under the town Castle, alongside an old mill causeway that connects to the main river (the Castle is on a bluff on the other side of the river). The setting is as romantic as it sounds, but the views of the castle might be better from hotels a bit further away from the bluff. The hotel allows easy access to all sights in town, yet it is on a quiet side street. The English speaking staff was friendly and helpful.

Our room (#303) was on the top floor, up several short flights of stairs that were a bit of a challenge with our luggage (there is no lift). The climb was worth it, however. Our room was very large with cathedral ceilings and dormer windows, two of which face the castle and give a peakaboo view of its ramparts. There was a small entry alcove that opened into a sitting area with a couch, coffee table, t.v., and minibar with small refrigerator. The separate large bedroom had an armoire, a dresser, and a couple of upholstered chairs in addition to the bed (two twins pushed together, a common arrangement we found in Eastern Europe). The beds were low and comfortably firm. The tiled bathroom was very large, attractive, and newly redone. There were two sinks and a long shelf above them that gave adequate storage space. A possible downside for some travelers is that there wasn’t a regular shower but rather a large open tub with hand-held shower. We’ve encountered this often in Europe, and though it isn’t our preference, we find it a minor inconvenience if all else is ok.

The breakfast was buffet style in an attractive room on the main floor adjacent to the waterway. The selection was ample, and included some fresh fruit, juice, cereal, yoghurt, meat & cheese, bread and sweet rolls.

We walked from the main bus station to the hotel, but it was a bit far with luggage. The walk from the train station would be even farther. Our recommendation would be to take a taxi from either location to the hotel. One is usually waiting at the bus station, and the tourist information office at the train station will gladly call a taxi for you. The fare is reasonable and well-worth it.

All in all, we highly recommend staying in Cesky Krumlov for a day or two at least – it is a charming and welcoming town – and we also highly recommend the Barbora for those who like character and charm (but don’t mind climbing a few stairs).

Helpful?
4 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2005

We spent a night at the Hotel Barbora in Sept., 2005 and it was the nicest place we stayed anywhere in Europe! It's a centuries-old building decorated in gorgeous Art Nouveau style, smack in the center of town but totally quiet. Our room (room 302, I believe - or ask for the L-shaped room with a double bed and two twin beds, billed at the double rate of about $105 a night) was HUGE and looked right out on the castle. Breakfast was great and served in an enchanting little cellar. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I'd love to return there!

Helpful?
5 Thank europing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbora

Property: Hotel Barbora
Address: Shiroka 89, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barbora 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barbora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbora Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing