We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, rooms were ok, service was poor”
Review of Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grand
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were there in the month of August 2011 for 2 nights. The location of the hotel was great. The room size was good with a nice balcony, but the bathroom was horrible. It was small and there was no room to stand straight in the shower tub. The service was poor. the staff of the hotel was rude. BReakfast was included in our package, but by the time we came to eat breakfast nearly everything was over. Looks like they were not ready for too many people staying in the hotel. They refuse to refill the stuff. It was a 3 story hotel with no lift.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms that are on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaskarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a touring cycling holiday. The hotel is superbly located for all the attractions of the town and is very well furnished and decorated inside. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the Square but didn't find it noisy - when there was noise from the Square (which was only very briefly) the windows were perfectly good to block it out so we had no trouble sleeping (though not sure how this would have worked had it been very hot). The breakfasts here were absolutely superb, very high quality hot and cold dishes and pastries. My only small suggestion would be that it might be nice to provide an in-room safe, rather than suggesting that valuables be left at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFCWNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel last week. It is very well located right in the town square and the staff were very helpful and friendly. It is a quaint hotel in the style of the area and our rooms whilst understandably small given the nature of the town and buildings, were perfectly adequate in fact quite clever in design. We stayed in a double room on the ground floor. Car parking is some distance away but that again is very understandable and you can drop your bags before heading off to park. My only negative was that the room was a little bit warm and I think lacked air conditioning but it wasn't such an issue that I went searching to make sure I hadn't missed something. Overall if I was heading to Cesky Krumlov I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteC_3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Absolutely good place. It was most expensive hotel I used during 2 weeks in Central Europe 74 euro / but all considered fine / great bacon / excellent bread for breakfast / of ourse many other items

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ee345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

The Hotel Grand is a very comfortable hotel on the main square in Cesky Krumlov. It is in an old building that has been renovated yet maintains its character. It is convenient to everything in the town. The room was on the 1st floor (second floor for Americans). It was spacious and quiet, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom modern. The staff was friendly. We had drinks on the hotel outdoor veranda overlooking the square and ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was first rate with a good selection of dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed for a night in Hotel Grand. Location is just excellent. rooms are nice and newly decorated and very clean. Breakfast was buffet and good quality. Great value for what we paid and meets all expectations. Only disadvantage is lack of activities, but Cesky Krumlov is a great town, you would not like to stay in the hotel room. Restaurant was not working when we were staying.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozco33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AneMagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
331 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
295 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand

Address: Namesti Svornosti 3, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £56 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The originally medieval house was reconstructed in a luxurious and modern way during the year 2005. Hotel capacity is 40 beds in 14 spacious and comfortable rooms. Grand hotel is the right opportunity for exacting clients as well as for wedding receptions, company schooling or parties; our staff is ready to arrange all related services. Our guests can have a gourmet experience in the well-known Grand restaurant offering brilliant Czech and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing