We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but beware of tour groups”
Review of Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Perfect location but beware of tour groups”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel on the town square is in the best location.The breakfast is wonderful buffet, including omelets. Unfortunately, both mornings that we were there the breakfast room was overrun by a huge tour group. We had been asked to come to breakfast later because of them but we explained that we had early plans as well.So we filled our plates and had to eat on another floor lounge area. we had also asked for a wakeup call which the front desk conveniently"forgot". This was very annoying. The hotel itself was very comfortable and the rooms had sofa and chairs. The shower head was difficult to use without spraying the water everywhere. The quality of service here was the only down spot in our stay in this quaint town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    63
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
44
76
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hotel Grand is on the central square of Cesky Krumlov. If you are driving yourself it will take a bit of work to get to it. A GPS will be of little help. It will give you erroneous directions. Once headed into town stop and ask how to get to the central square. In addition, access to the central part of town is restricted for private cars. I walked a 1/4 km from where I could leave the car to the hotel and got a pass to drive through town to drop off luggage. Parking will be at a public or private car park just outside of the central town.

The rooms in the hotel are very clean and have good amenities. The bathrooms are new but neither of the two rooms that we used had a shower, if that is what you like. There was a bath tub with the usual awkward (and not necessarily efficient/quick way of bathing). You must walk up the stairs to rooms above the first floor. The breakfast was good but nothing special. The front desk staff was very friendly and willing to help.

The best part of this hotel was the location close to good restaurants in a beautiful old town. If you can, visit during the week when the crowds from Prague and Vienna aren't so evident.

The best thing abo

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors. There is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JerryA320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

On the day that we arrived CK, there was some kind of autumn festival going on, so the driver of our shuttle left us outside the old town square which was only about 2 blocks away. We understood the situation but the hotel is right in the old town square. The hotel is at the very central location. We can see what was going on from our room at the town square. There was lots of music and dancing until 10:00 on Saturday. We were very lucky that our room was facing the square. The hotel was pretty old but clean. Breakfast was included and the food was excellent. However there is no elevator but it was expected that old hotel like this won't ;have an elevator. Overall, we would hightly recomment this hotel if you go to Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaFamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile


The Grand This is a nice eclectic hotel right in the central square of Cesky Krumlov. Rooms are comfortable with modern amenities. Great service. Nice breakfast. They also serve delicious dinner on the terrace with a view of the square. I shorted one star because having to climb 3 stories to our room - no elevators was a challenge to my fellow traveller. Perhaps we could not get a room at a lower level because they were fully occupied. The view from our room was nice, however. Great boutique hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulldistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this small boutique hotel. The location was excellent, staff were helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view over the town. The buffet breakfast was excellent and varied.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Apart from not having any elevators, though it has like 3 floors with steep steps, this hotel was a great and pleasant surprise for me. Stuff is excellent, rich buffet breakfast (unlike in the big 4* hotels, when they run out of sg you have no chance to see it ever again), free WiFi, spacious and clean rooms, super location at the main square...this hotel fits into the city image very well. I would recommend it to anyone by pleasure!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoriBp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a great hotel. It is located right in the main square. We had a double room and a triple room. We were shocked by how huge both rooms were! It was a great change of pace from the cramped rooms we have been finding at other comparable hotels. The breakfast was simple but there was something for everyone! Cleanliness was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lktillo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#9 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand

Property: Hotel Grand
Address: Namesti Svornosti 3, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The originally medieval house was reconstructed in a luxurious and modern way during the year 2005. Hotel capacity is 40 beds in 14 spacious and comfortable rooms. Grand hotel is the right opportunity for exacting clients as well as for wedding receptions, company schooling or parties; our staff is ready to arrange all related services. Our guests can have a gourmet experience in the well-known Grand restaurant offering brilliant Czech and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing