We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and good location”
Review of Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gold Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
331 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Elegant and good location”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the location ideal for visiting the old city. Just outside the hustle and bustle, close to the river and the park. Nicely decorated with old furniture. Good beds. Why are there no power outlets in sight ? We had to move semi-fixed furniture to reload our phones and laptop. Internet is not free and weak. Parking is free. Staff is nice and speaks good english.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avdij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
63
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stopped by this hotel as the people my pension were out to lunch. Despite the fact that I wasn't staying here, they were very helpful, called my pension and found out what the problem was and provided me free Internet access (big thanks George at the front desk). I decided to stay at the restaurant for lunch and had one of the best meals during our two week stay in Czech Republic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed one night here. As we only had one day and were arriving by car in the morning from Prague, I emailed to ask to leave the car in the car park prior to check in; a request which was cheerfully granted. This is a lovely old building. Our ground floor room had a vaulted ceiling and heavy wooden furniture ..very old world. I liked it. I was disappointed that there weren't any smoking rooms at all so smokers: ask for a ground floor room and you can step outside into the courtyard. I couldn't resist pointing out that despite this policy, they were happy to sell cigarettes at reception. The bathroom was good except that the fixture to hang the hand held shower head was facing the wrong way and so was useless. Also there was no shower curtain,something we came across more than once in East Europe..tricky! Breakfast was nice in a well appointed dining room. There were no coffee making facilities and no fridge in the room. The hotel is within easy walking distance of this charming town.

Room Tip: Smokers: ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cojacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at Gold hotel at the end of April 2012 for only one night when we were traveling to Prague. We got a very good price for it, so we didn't hasitate reserving it, as it has a central location and a private parking. The premises were looking great, even better as on the pictures. The receptionist was friendly, we were given a room on a ground floor, on one side overlooking a green hotel parking lot and on the other the inner courtyard of the hotel. Room was fine without surpluses, the breakfast was very fine in a lovely restaurant room with a wooden ceiling. All in all we were very satisfied. The only thing to rebuke was a reflector in the inner courtyard, which was shining the whole night right thru te window on my bed. The curtains should be coarser or the reflector could be switched off after 11 pm or midnight. And the bed was to hard for me. It also should be mentioned that there is no free wifi internet in the rooms, although they advertise it. But on the other side, the hotel lies in a park by the river, just a minute walk to the pedestrian zone of old town and right below the church of St. Vaclav.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very quiet, maybe the one with the river view are nicer, but be aware of the mosqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyRiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

A friend gave us their one night free voucher for Gold Hotel, and so we decided to stay in the same hotel for the second night for convenience. And we are glad we did.

It was a bit far from the bus station, and at that time (past 7pm), it was quite difficult to get a taxi. but when we managed to get one, and when we arrived at the hotel, all the hassles of getting there vanished. we had a nice, spacious room. the furniture and furnishing felt like i'm in a room fit for a princess. elegant and charming. our room also overlooked the courtyard. bathroom is spacious, with proper amenities.

breakfast is good and satisfying. on the first morning, our breakfast was served in the room (we were given a checklist to personalize our breakfast choices). it was really good and served on time. the following day, we had our breakfast in the restaurant, where there were more food selection. we had one dinner in their restaurant (set dinner), but it was just ok. we expected some traditional Czech food but that was not the case.

the staff were also nice and helpful. there's free wifi but signal was kinda weak in our room.

Cesky Krumlov is a lovely, romantic little town and we are glad we spent two nights here. walking around the town in cold weather was really romantic. :)

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RezC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
170 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in November.
Cesky Krumlov is a delightful town and we are glad we came. Loved it.
Did we find the hotel ok - yes. We didn't spend a lot of time here and made the most of our time of being at Cesky Krumlov. The hotel was good value.
Frontline staff were friendly and helpful (although we had to pay for a map of the town which we thought was strange). First time that has happened. Restaurant staff are variable in their attitudes. Not complaining about the hotel because this hotel we thought was cheap (quite a nice location near the park) although if we came again we'd stay near the market square.
Looked like it was popular with groups with easy coach access being near the edge of town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewZealand-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is a beautiful boutique hotel with elegantly appointed rooms with large, beautiful bathrooms, deep tubs, and high quality amenities. It is right on the river and located within walking distance of town center. The breakfast buffet was one of the nicest we had in Europe. Staff was pleasant and efficient. This is a beautiful place for weddings. The courtyard is also very pretty and restful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elviraModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel

Property: Gold Hotel
Address: Linecka 55, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing