We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel on the River”
Review of Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gold Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel on the River”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Really a great find, right on the river and across the bridge from the action, The Hotel Gold was perfect for us. Just far enough away to be completely peaceful and quiet, but only a football field away from everything you want to experience in Cesky Krumlov. Comfy room, great bathroom, ample breakfast, and super friendly staff made this a great stay. Wifi in the room is pretty much a no-show, but in the lobby it's adequate. Air conditioning was very much appreciated. Parking was free in their private, gated lot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalLove247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
63
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Contact the hotel prior to your arrival and ask for directions.Your GPS will chuck a wobbly as the street numbering is very strange.Don't be embarassed if you find yourselg driving through the pedestrian only mall.Everybody does it!
Once you arrive all is good.
Once again, no lift and no offer to help with cases.My husband is slightly disabled so it would have been helpful.(Later on we saw a staff member carrying up the cases of a busload of Korean Tourists)
Room was large and decorated with lovely antique furniture.We had no trouble with the wifi as others have posted.
Just stroll out,cross the bridge, and enjoy the delights of this gorgeous town.
Ate dinner in the restaurant both nights and the food was very good. There was a birthday party on the second night and they had hired a band so we were able to enjoy them as well. On site parking.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a river view.We requested one on booking but it was unfortunately not to be. You m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Be careful, they charged us fully for 2 rooms but only gave us 1 room, and put extra beds. When we contested they said, they providing the number of beds as promised. On repeated protests, they offered to give us free dinner.

But the dinner within their restaurant was so bad, we had to go leave everything and go out and eat (we had ordered risotto) . The cook said that's how the dish is made, where the rice is half cooked. We chose to eat out rather then risk have a upset stomach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved this hotel! Friendly staff, beautiful furnishing, perfect location and very reasonably priced. Our bedroom had a moulded ceiling with crystal chandelier in the centre, two big windows with a river view, and the restaurant is so elegant! Breakfast is varied, evening drinks on the terrace is a relaxing way to finish a day of sightseeing. Free car parking (which is essential in this medieval town), and you feel like you are in a country residence, although it is only a 5 minute walk across the bridge to the cobbled city centre. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for river view, ground floor or first floor since there is no lift (elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay at Hotel Gold & wish our stay could have been longer.
Although, our large room exuded old world charm, with our huge comfy bed, chandeliers & old oak furnishings, the modern touches of large tiled bathroom, TV & wifi were appreciated.
From our room we had a wonderful view of the river & the church above us & it seemed very special to wake to the sound of the church bells on our wedding anniversary.
We enjoyed a limited continental breakfast on the terrace - I could complain about the variety & quality of the food but this paled into insignificance when one considered the location & quality of the accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor, facing the courtyard lack privacy & could be effected by guests who s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed in this fabulous place- more like a guest house with a luxury boutique feel inside and outside the hotel. Very comfortable spacious room. Clean and good breakfast choices with quality food served. Although there is no lifts, it's no problem, although it's best for the less physically fit to request for a ground floor accommodation during booking. The scenery in the vicinity is absolutely breathtaking. Great place for a relaxing holiday. Restaurants and shops are walking distance away and the locals are friendly and mostly tourists and weekenders from other Czech towns. Well worth a stay if you are looking for somewhere special with a private surrounding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back there again. Great for young families too.

Room Tip: All rooms are slightly different. You can get room inside a room ie: an attic room inside your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,229 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Gold. The hotel is located beside a small park by the river Vltava, although it is only a very short walk to the centre of the town. There is a small car park, with a very narrow entrance although there is another entrance where the barrier is opened by reception via close circuit TV.

Our room was very large but decorated with Baroque style furnishings. It took a while to get used to, but it was very comfortable. The windows opened so the room was well ventilated

The WiFi worked fine on our first evening but wasn’t working the day after. However, after a call to reception it was soon working after being rebooted

We ate one night in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. My lamb shank was superb and the onion soup was good, whilst Mrs FB2000’s Candat ( fish ) was fine. The service was very attentive, although there were only two other tables occupied. It has an outside terrace which presumably would be very nice in the summer.

The breakfast is the normal fare served in Czech Hotels – mostly cold cuts, cereals, bread, pastries, jams/spreads, with scrambled eggs and sausages as the hot food available.

I recommend Hotel Gold if visiting Cesky Krumlov ( and have a car ). It was excellent value for money, in a good location, and the staff were very friendly and helpful in dealing with all our requests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel

Property: Gold Hotel
Address: Linecka 55, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing