We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming accommodation with great hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penzion Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Onyx
Ranked #41 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Charming accommodation with great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This accommodation was recommended to us by friends. We stayed with our two teenage daughters. We loved our apartment/room which was clean, spacious and comfortable with lovely views onto the Pension's gardens. Peter and Daniela are great hosts, willing to help with recommendations for places to eat, activities etc. We paid extra for breakfast and found it to be very good value with a lot of choice. The Pension is about 10 minutes walk into the Old Town - uphill on the way home. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassowary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We were scheduled to stay at Penzion Onyx for two days but extended our trip for a third as we felt so at home and loved the town. The owners Peter & Daniela keep a very clean Penzion and greet you at the door nearly everytime you arrive back at the house. If there is anything you need along your trip, they will do whatever they can to help you out. We were very pleased with the accomodations and would 100% recommend the Penzion to friends and family. Making things even sweeter, the Penzion is an outstanding value. The walk to town is maybe a little further than some penzion's in town, but it is still only about a 10 minute walk and very doable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teplice, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very nice rooms and tasty breakfast . There is a beautiful garden with green golf.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cthulkhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

I've been coming to Cesky Krumlov for the town's medieval festival with a group of friends every June for the past 6 years and we've stayed here every time. It's an easy 10 min. walk to/from the Old Town, in a quiet location, and car parking is available should you need it. The rooms are very clean and a continental breakfast is included but it is the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners (an Englishman and his Slovakian wife) who are the reason we keep going back. Whether you need help arranging transport from Vienna or Prague, or just advice on things to do during your time in this beautiful town, they'll always be able to help you. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My wife and I were traveling through Europe and booked our stay with Penzion Onyx based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. After staying with Peter and Daniela for 2 nights, I can say that all of the great reviews do not even begin to do justice to how great our stay was. In short, the house and grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, and the hosts go out of their way to make sure all of their guests have an incredible stay. The location of Penzion Onxy was PERFECT... we could be in the middle of town in minutes but did not have the noise and crowds outside our bedroom in the evenings. I had originally considered booking a room within the town walls so that we would be in middle of all "the action", but after seeing several tourists fighting their cars through the crowds and frantically unloading their luggage while other cars honked and piled up behind them, we were so thankful that we'd booked with Penzion Onyx, where there was plenty of private and secure parking. Peter and Daniela are as gracious and hospitable as all of the reviews say. On the night before we left, they were hosting a large dinner for a group that was staying with them and, knowing that my wife and I did not have plans, Daniela offered to make a little extra for us and served us a private dinner on their beautiful balcony. Being the last night of our trip before we began heading home, the dinner was a perfect cap on a perfect stay. I don't know when we will be back in Cesky Krumlov but when we are, we will be staying at Penzion Onyx.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed at the Onyx during our recent visit to Cesky Krumlov and it was one of the best pensions we experienced on our trip to Eastern Europe. Not right in the old town but only a pleasant walk away. Our room was very clean and well appointed with all the modern conveniences. Breakfast was served in their lovely dining room looking out on the garden and included a selection of cereal and breads, sliced meats and cheeses but also yogurt and fresh fruit salad which we missed at many of our other guest houses. Peter was very kind and took the time to chat with us and make us feel totally at home. We definitely recommend the Onyx if you are lucky enough to visit Cesky Krumlov - perhaps our favorite of all the places we visited during a month in the Czech Republic, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Hungary.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
641 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

An excellent place to stay when visiting Cesky Krumlov. The owners of Penzion Onyx do all they can to make sure that you enjoy your stay. The number of rooms is limited and the facilities (breakfast room, lounge/bar, garden, etc) are more than one might expect. Your hosts (one English, one Czech) can provide lots of local knowledge about the town, the area and points of interest - and language is not an issue. Situated a short walk from the town centre (also the station and bus station), you have the advantage of car parking if needed: this is almost unavailable in the town. Cesky Krumlov, a UNESCO World Heritage site, has to be seen to be believed, especially at night: the castle and its theatres are quite unique: the pedestrianised mediaeval town, encompassed by a virtually full 360 degree loop in the river, is a delight to explore: the Egon Schiele Centrum displays & explains the artist's work. The countryside beyond has even more to explore - e.g. Holasovice, Hluboka Castle and you can drink the real and original 'Budweiser' in the magnificent town square of Ceske Budejovice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Penzion Laura
Penzion Laura
#18 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Penzion Svet
Penzion Svet
#23 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#39 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Onyx

Property: Penzion Onyx
Address: Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Onyx 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Penzion Onyx is a family run, traditional, English Country Inn style, bed and breakfast. Penzion Onyx is situated on the edge of Český Krumlov old town just 10 minutes walk from the historical centre. It offers a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of this beautiful medieval town.The owners of the pension, Peter and Daniela are English and Czech, so they can provide a unique blend of Czech and English hospitality, with a high standard of room coupled with an extensive breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing