We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly B&B in the Czech Republic's Other Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penzion Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Onyx
Ranked #46 of 141 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B in the Czech Republic's Other Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Onyx visiting the lovely UNESCO World Heritage site of Cesky Krumlov (Krummau) in Southern Bohemia - which boasts the second largest castle complex, after Prague, and an enchanting mix of architecture.

A very peaceful stay in a B&B just outside of town. A short 15 minute walk along the river and you're in the Old Town with it's plethora of restaurants and shops.

Onyx is easily accessible and has secure parking. Good breakfast although nothing sumptuous, but the dining room is bright and inviting.

Peter and Daniella are engaging hosts as well. Nice rooftop seating to sit in the afternoon sipping a wine or beer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmooveP_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

home-made atmospere, great service, fire place, good breakfast, interlocutor at evenings, everybody knows English here, attention to every detail. Still a bit far from center but 700 metres will not make sence.

Recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agatha219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I loved Cesky Krumlov and Penzion Onyx was a good home base. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at ease, and the furnishings are comfortable and tastefully decorated. I wish I had booked longer, but there is so much more to see in the Czech Republic. Would definitely come back to Cesky Krumlov and would stay at Onyx again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights here, and would have been happy to stay longer. This is a great place to stay when visiting beautiful Cesky Krumlov. We received a warm welcome from Peter and Daniella and we felt more like we were visiting friends than staying in a B&B. It was great to be able to make tea and coffee in our room - not that common in Europe. Our room was excellent in every way and the gardens are lovely. It is not in the old city, but not that far away - a few minutes drive to one of the parking areas or a short walk. Breakfast was great and Peter was ready to suggest places to eat as well as places to visit in Cesky Krumlov and the surrounding country. Of course, as mentioned by others, having an English host is a real bonus in this country, because outside Prague it is not that common to have anyone speaking English. German is the second language for many Czech people.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in September and were very happy with our choice in accommodation. The Old Town was a pleasant 10 minute walk away and I liked the idea of a gated property which offered secure parking.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Peter who was working in the manicured gardens. Check in was relatively quick and we were shown to our tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean room. Upstairs there was also a computer with high speed wifi and a bookshelf with a variety of books in different languages available to guests.
This B&B offered quite a substantial breakfast which included fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs etc in a breakfast room which had views over the garden.
During the evenings we sat in the sitting room. Here we shared two pleasant evenings with our hosts - Peter and Daniella over a few drinks. Apart from giving us some valuable information on the old town we had such pleasant and interesting conversations over many topics. I might add that the drinks were very reasonably priced and that the nights ended just after 10.00pm.
If I were to return to Cesky Krumlov I would not consider any other accommodation and would look forward to seeing Peter and Daniella again. They were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had heard of Ceksy Krumlov through a friend and keen to look at it we booked one night at Pension Onyx. We were not looking forward to the language difficulties but found the Pension was run by an Englishman. This alone made the trip much more pleasant
We have stayed in around 50 different b & bs and motels in 12 weeks of Europe and I would have to rate this as one of the more tastefully furnished places I have stayed in. The room was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The walk to the old town is perhaps 10 minutes and quite pleasant. There is a lovely courtyard to enjoy a drink. Internet was strong as was the television signal (not that we could understand much!)
The breakfast was very good compared to many small places, with fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads and fantastic soft boiled eggs. Coffee excellent. To have breakfast in such a tastefully decorated room overlooking the garden was a great start to the day. Peter is obviously proud of the work he has done in the garden and it is a pleasure to wander around. There is even a mini golf course should you feel like a game but there is plenty to look at in the old town to keep you occupied. It was pleasant to finish off an evening having a drink with Peter and drinks supplied are reasonably priced
We had planned to move onto Prague and but Peter told us about a bus that went daily. The cost of the bus was low and the bus was equipped with toilets and coffee supplied. When we weighed up the cost of moving on, petrol, dearer accommodation and parking we decided to stay and take the bus. Peter arranged this and charged it to our booking. He was totally honest in this and gave is the ticket printout. As it was were so taken with this place we ended up staying four nights.
If I go back I would not hesitate in staying at Pension Onyx again and for English speakers this place is ideal. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debraj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

chose this place because of what it looked like from the outside and were not disappointed. big enough place not having to rub shoulders with other guests too often. quiet and peaceful. breakfast was good and filling. walk to the old town approx 15 mins, not a problem, immediate vicinity not so interesting. not exactly super good value for money. overall; nicely decorated, beautiful garden. free wifi was fast. in response to previous posters thoughts on the hosts; i couldn't help being reminded of Basil Fawlty, but in an absolutely nice way!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Pension Zavodsky
Pension Zavodsky
#55 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Penzion Svet
Penzion Svet
#23 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension U Hada
Pension U Hada
#45 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#29 of 141 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Onyx

Property: Penzion Onyx
Address: Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Onyx 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Penzion Onyx is a family run, traditional, English Country Inn style, bed and breakfast. Penzion Onyx is situated on the edge of Český Krumlov old town just 10 minutes walk from the historical centre. It offers a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of this beautiful medieval town.The owners of the pension, Peter and Daniela are English and Czech, so they can provide a unique blend of Czech and English hospitality, with a high standard of room coupled with an extensive breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing