We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Svambersky dum Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice rooms”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

hard to find, but definitely worth staying - little hotel with 5(?) rooms, breakfast is included and served to your room

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stumbled into the Svambersky Dum restaurant because everywhere else that had been recommended was full - and we soon realized why this one was empty. After waiting 15 minutes for menus (even though only 2 other tables were occupied) and being brushed off when we asked, we finally ordered soup and main courses - and specified that we wanted the soup first. Forty-five minutes later our main courses come out - no soup - and no bread for the grilled camembert even though the menu said it was included. We ask the waiter and he says "yeah, yeah, I know" - but still no soup. We ask for bread, and ten minutes later it arrives - after the cheese is nearly cold. When we finally get the check, we are charged for the soup, as well as the bread. Stay away!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hana M, Manager at Svambersky dum Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience that you had to endure in our restaurant. Our restaurant has got a new employee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights from Tues.2011.Sep.27. The price was $71 Euros per night.

We got to this hotel a little later in the evening when it was getting dark and it's a little hard to find, so be sure to mark it on your GPS before you get there.

After arriving, we were told that parking was not available directly by the hotel and that we'd have to drive to parking lot "P3" and then walk back. We were given a 1 day parking voucher and a 2 day parking voucher to use.

The staff unfortunately did not have a 3 day pass. I believe the pass is good for in and out usage. If you don't get a pass for your entire stay, like us, you'll have to drive the car out and back in with the next pass. Use the pass with the machines to get in and out, you won't need to push the button, else it spits out ticket.

The room was on the second floor and was quite large, perhaps because it was a room for 3 people. The bathroom is extremely large as well and the tub is big enough to soak in. There is no shower curtain though and water will end up on the floor if you're not careful.

There's no hot water boiler, alarm clock or hair dryer. There is a table, five chairs, large armoire and 2 bedside tables. The WiFi was good and reliable. There's a radiator in the washroom and by the window. If you want heat, you'll have to ask them to turn it on. There was no A/C unit, so expect to be hot in the summer, didn't see a fan either.

The curtain is somewhat thin, but the view was the rear of another building, so there was not much light coming in during the evening that would make sleeping difficult. What did make sleeping difficult was the constant dance music that is played by the staff in the bar area. It does not get turned down until 23:00 hours.

The sound insulation of the building is not good but at least there was not a constant barrage of sound like in Prague.

The blankets are somewhat short and I had to put on socks while sleeping.

I think we tried the television very briefly, we couldn't find anything worth watching in English.

Breakfast was included in our stay, here's what they had:

3 types of bread. Fruits: oranges, bananas, peaches, apples, kiwi. Meat slices. Cheese slices. Plain yogurt. Cereal: corn flakes, granola mix. Jams, butters, spreadable ham. Orange juice, water, coffee and milk.

For some reasons, the smaller kiwis are more ripe than the bigger ones. If you want hot tea, milk, you'll have to ask for it. Not everyday will have all fruit. On one day that seemed busier, they also had boiled eggs, cut in half and tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, as well as a strudel type of dessert.

If I were to come back to Cesky Krumlov, I would stay at a hotel with parking closer by as having to bring your luggage to the car can be an inconvenience. As well, choose a hotel without a restaurant on the first floor as the noise of the diners and the music can be quite loud.

I've included a picture of a map of the city. You can see where P3 is as well as other parking spots P1 and P2, it looks like a far walk, but it's really it's only 5 - 8 minutes. Before you book a hotel, ask them if they have parking or if it's at one of the lots.

Overall not a bad place to stay but other places with less noise and more convenience would make your stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don't take the second floor, you'll hear all the diners from the restaurant and the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed for one night. I think for the price is a good deal, you have the basic, but is very clean, bathroom recently remodel (negative is the european shower) , few furniture, but have free WIFI, breakfast OK ,location excelent, they have a restaurant with a cozy fireplace
They say is the oldest building in town and I beleive it!
If you stay for no more than 2 nights is a good value

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steljor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Ok, this is a charming, clean and quaint pension in the heart of the old town but it has a number of issues that one needs to consider before booking it. Firstly, while the hotel information suggests that parking is available it is no where near the Svambersky dum itself. The hotel has an arrangement with the Eggenberg Brewery which is some distance away - on arrival you are given a mud-map and some garbled instructions (see next point) on how to reach it. We arrived in the evening and by the time we had found the hotel it was getting dark. I won't go in to detail, but navigating the complex nest of tiny roads in the old town to the carefully hidden carpark of the brewery, located on the outskirts of the old town, in the dark was somewhat of a nightmare seconded only by trying to relocate the hotel on foot in the dark. Having arrived in Cesky Krumov around 6.40pm, by the time we had done all of this we sat down to dinner, exhausted, at 9.15pm. Secondly, the woman who appears to be in charge (it is hard to tell at first) is constantly on the move, speaks very little English and seems generally flustered by your presence, especially if you ask any questions - for answers she gabbles at you non-stop in Czech as if you were a native speaker until you give up and go away. Thirdly, and probably the most annoying, is the fact that the hotel is located next door to the La Boheme nightclub which is open late and plays interminable, loud doof-doof music well into the night after which it ejects its noisy patrons out onto the pavement underneath your window. We had very little sleep on both Friday and Saturday nights which made our stay in the lovely old town a weary one. On the bright side the rooms are large and clean (although several things in our bathroom were broken) and the food is very good and very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMcPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hana M, Manager at Svambersky dum Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hotel Švamberský dům is located in the center of Cesky Krumlov. It is necessary to carefully read the information regarding parking.
Guests can drive with their car into the town center ( pedestrian zone, otherwise valid no entry for all vehicles), park shortly in front of our hotel, unload your luggage and check in. At check in, you will be given a map with detailed instructions on how to reach the guarded parking space, located in the Eggenberg brewery.

Our restaurant has got a new, more experienced employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of December to escape from the pre-Christmas stress in Prague. Cesky Krumlov is a lovely town and has a uniquely preserved historical center. This hotel is in the middle of the town and we really enoyed it. It is very personal and located in an authenic historical building. The rooms are very large which is nice. We stayed at a double room with a bathroom that had a bathtub. Overall we find it a very good value for money and a nice change from impersonal large hotel chains. Plan to stay again.

  • Liked — Size of rooms, location, building
  • Disliked — Parking - some distance away
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellena_el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svambersky dum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svambersky dum Hotel

Property: Svambersky dum Hotel
Address: Soukenicka 35, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Svambersky dum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Svambersky dum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing