We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel close to the city centre, friendly staff”
Review of Pension Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Amadeus
Ranked #16 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice, clean hotel just close to the city centre of Český Krumlov. You will walk through a small park site and a nice park along the river Vltava and you can get just to the centre. It is also possible to park your car in a closed courtyard which is an advantage which is not offered by each hotel. You are just expected to book a parking place in advance for a small fee per a day. Breakfast is served at a ground floor with a great choice of fruit, drinks, bread and rolls, musli, cheese, bacon or sausages. The rooms are really comfortable and clean. There is enough space for hanging clothes. The only disadvantage is that the walls are pretty thin so you have an opportunity to have a conversation with somebody else who is accommodated in another room. The bathroom is large enough with a heated rack for towels which are changed regurally. The price per room is very reasonable. Geneally said I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2013, and really enjoyed our visit. The pension is on the far side of the town from the train station, so if you plan on arriving by train you might consider taking a taxi (taxi costs $10 from train station; we walked with our backpacks and it took about 45 minutes). When at the pension, you are only about a 5-10 minute walk from the town center. The rooms are spotless, breakfast is generous and includes cereals, yogurts, fresh breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, juices and coffee/tea.

We had only planned on staying one night, but once we were there decided to add another night and relax in the lovely small town: our upstairs room wasn't available for the 2nd night, but they moved us to a room one floor down which was even larger and didn't charge extra. If you are a tall person, you might want to choose the "deluxe" rooms for only a couple of dollars more, as the upstairs attic room had sloped ceilings and was a snug fit.

When we were ready to leave, the owner generously lent us his iPad to research and book a room in our next city. There is also WiFi available in all rooms. We would definitely choose this place again if we ever return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heathergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I chose this Hotel because it was priced well and had private car parking . On arriving I was welcomed by the owner, it is family run, and shown the room . I was very pleased , it was a large ground floor room, good bathroom with bath/shower, heated towel rack with plenty of towels and plenty of space for hanging clothes. It had TV and the free wifi was ok. There is no restaurant but the owner gave me a street map and recommended a place to eat typical Czech food. It is a very pleasant level walk into the beautiful ,historic town centre. Breakfast was fine. I was only passing through and would love to spend more time here, I would definitely stay in this hotel and can recommend it .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilkie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

When we stopped at a gas station to get our bearings, a cabbie said "I know the way. Follow me." We did. It was a simple drive from the gas station, a large sign pointed the way to Pension Amadeus. What a wonderful welcome to Cesky Krumlov! It was just as nice at the pension and in the Old Town. Our room was lovely, the parking protected and ample behind the pension, breakfast delicious. The room was very clean, had a cute bathtub, attractive. There were several English channels on tv and the wifi worked in the room. We paid a mere $77 which included breakfast at 3 euro each and parking 4 euro. That's a bargain, especially with the kindness of the staff and the wonderful accommodations. The town is charming as expected, a short picturesque walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

As you arrive, the building doesn't look very nice; it looks renewed but not so attractive. Only when you step in, you can realize which nice place it is, with the meticulous attention given to a lot of particulars: the small but nice reception, the "white and candid" room for the breakfast, the silent and active presence of the very kind staff, ready to support you in the best way. The rooms are very comfortable even if, personally, i didn't like to pillow (too soft) but this is quite common in this area :). The furniture is "IKEA like" and all looks very new and practical. We had a three room bed and there was space enough for everything; a small round table with three chairs was located between the two small windows, perfect place for a laptop or a quick "pizza". There is a TV with a lot of German, French and Czech channels (the only Italian channel - RAI1 - was not running) and very close a pizzeria take-away can deliver in few minutes something to eat directly to the room. The bathroom has a bathtub. The location is 5-7 min walking to the city center. A private car parking is available. Nice place in the quietness of the historical Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassimoBarberio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed here as a solo traveler for one night in mid-November. My room, and what I could see of the rest of the pension, was spotlessly clean. It was nicely decorated, and the heating worked very well. The heated towel rack in the bathroom was also a nice touch in November. I was surprised by an earlier review that said it was noisy, because I found it to be very quiet. Of course it was the off-season, so maybe that made a difference. But it's on a very small street next to the river, hardly a major thoroughfare. The breakfast for 3 euros was definitely worth it. The couple running the pension spoke excellent English, and were very pleasant. In all, I can highly recommend this pension.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I organized a trip to Český Krumlov for my American students and chose Penzion Amadeus. We had absolutely excellent experience - the penzion is in a wonderful location, close to center of town, the rooms are beautiful, spacious, unique, cozy, very clean, breakfast amazing, the owners welcoming, helpful, accommodating, kind and professional. I recommend to anyone - you will not be disappointed! Marketa San Diego

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marketa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension U Hada
Pension U Hada
#46 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Penzion Laura
Penzion Laura
#18 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#56 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Amadeus

Address: Po Vode 283, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: £40 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Amadeus 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing