We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have been tricked” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Kralovny Elisky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel U Kralovny Elisky
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hradec Kralove
Newry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We have been tricked”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

In the restaurant, we ordered traditional Czech meals based on "uzena krkovicka" (cold-smoked pork neck) with cabbage, dumplings, plum sauce, etc. Instead of a chunk of smoked pork, we got tiny slices of processed ham, the kind you get in supermarkets. When I complained later, the waiter said that his chef had run out of smoked pork neck so he replaced it with "quality ham off the bone".
He apologised, but did not offer any discount. Instead, he prompted me to enter "the desired amount of tip" when I was paying by a card.
I would not expect such a luxurious hotel to be pulling cheap tricks like this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skrebsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    16
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
5
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Brieuc, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The first good thing was discovering the 16Th century building, ideally situated on a quiet and charming square in the heart of the old town.
I had a large room overlooking the square, very clean and comfortable, the only minor thing I could regret being the mattress which I found a bit too thin to my taste.
The breakfast was good with a wide choice of meal on offering, but I did not have a chance to try the restaurant. There is a wellness centre which I also had not time to try.

My stay was a two nights one for business, which in hindsight made it somehow frustrating, the hotel and its location simply making it very a seducing option for a private stay in this charming town.

The staff proved particularly friendly and helpful, even when I made very unwillingly their life a bit more complicated than I would have wished.

Overall a very enjoyable and comfortable stay in a great place, if I come back to Hradec Kralove I will obviously stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very nice, clean hotel, good location - old town, friendly staff. The breakfast menu could be wider (Di not have a chance to try restaurant in the evening...) and Wi-fi in the rooms is not very good. However, overall a very good hotel - would choose it again :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
199 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. it was great: 1) the rooms are very nice, we had a room with the view to the main square. the quality of the furniture is very good 2) we good some voucher for getting 50% off from the restaurant, which we used. i took some typical czech food plate, which was really very good. you dont get such food (for this price) very often in czech republic. if you dont have the 50% off, its not a cheap restaurant (but great quality) 3) there is some spa area with sauna, pools, etc... which we used heavily for relaxing after the day visiting the sights

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

nice building, nice surroundings, nice rooms... BUT some of the staff of the hotel - especially the present chief cook and one of the receptionist - are poor and stupid persons (my own experience, unfortunately)

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

very good excelent room and restaurant . Very good

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed one night for a business trip and the hotel was booked by my colleagues so I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised however - the building is elegant and understated and located on a small square just of Hradec's main town square. The rooms and interior are well appointed and comfortable. The only things I have to subtract points for are the lack of screen on teh shower (which soaked the bathroom floor) and the thin mattress. However everything else earns good marks - the breakfast was good, the staff friendly and efficient, the free internet fast and the location excellent. Overall a very pleasant stay and a place I will stay at again when I return to Hradec.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square, its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hradec Kralove hotels
0.2 mi away
EA Hotel Tereziansky Dvur
EA Hotel Tereziansky Dvur
#1 of 9 in Hradec Kralove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Okresni Dum
Hotel Okresni Dum
#3 of 9 in Hradec Kralove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vacek Pod Vezi
Hotel Vacek Pod Vezi
#5 of 9 in Hradec Kralove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boromeum Residence
Boromeum Residence
#2 of 9 in Hradec Kralove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cernigov
Hotel Cernigov
#7 of 9 in Hradec Kralove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harmony Hall
Harmony Hall
#9 of 18 in Hradec Kralove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Kralovny Elisky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Kralovny Elisky

Property: Hotel U Kralovny Elisky
Address: Male namesti 117/10, Hradec Kralove 500 03, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Hradec Kralove Region > Hradec Kralove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hradec Kralove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Kralovny Elisky 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel U Kralovny Elisky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing