We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Impressive, imposing, immaculate"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ontario Garni
Ranked #1 of 71 Karlovy Vary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Impressive, imposing, immaculate"”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Room 7 with balconies - and particularly the spectacular views towards the hillside. We found the hotel very easily with the satnav, and off-street parking was available just outside the entrance, which is controlled with CCTV. (Navigation and parking become much more of an issue just a few hundred metres further into the town). The staff made us feel very welcome and were ready with maps and information about K.V. The hotel is located on a road just above the centre. I was accompanied by my 88 year old mother who managed the walk to and from the lift that operates into the centre. The first night we ate on the bridge at the Embassy - rave reviews about this hotel meant we nearly stayed at this hotel, but were glad we didn't as the location (and, we later realized the quality of rooms) of the Ontario, in our view, far surpassed the hotels just that bit further into town. The restaurant of the Embassy comes highly recommended and it was charming to sit in the evening sun on the bridge looking toward the Grand Hotel Pupp, but sadly the food was disappointing and the waiter was rather cocky in presuming that our change (some 25%) was his tip. After a six hour drive from Berlin, I didn't have the energy to remonstrate. Breakfast at the Ontario was fine and more than adequate but not exciting. For our second night in K.V., we had to move hotels as the Ontario was overbooked (I knew this at the time of booking but thought it looked so charming - and easy to locate) that I didn't mind. Night 2 was spent at the Romance Puskin - a stone's throw down the hill. It was more expensive but not nearly as nice as the Ontario - room much smaller, furnishings much poorer, shabby - but not as in shabby chic - view half as nice, and a charge for parking. Even if we were not comparing, the Ontario sitting impressively atop the hill, with its stylish room furnishings and views takes a lot of beating.

Room Tip: Room 7 is well worth booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Located near the top of the hill, above the river and main walkway, the view was very nice. Our suite was huge and had a separate lounge/dining room equipped with mini-fridge and a kettle so we could have tea and coffee and sandwiches/snacks on our own. A balcony with outdoor seating off the bedroom would have been great if the weather was warmer. The electronic safe was really easy to use.
There's a huge continental breakfast available with both hot and cold foods and plenty of bread for toast, buns, cake, yoghurt and even fried/scrambled eggs.
The customer service is good and friendly, and one team-member in particular was very helpful when we were planning transport and timetables to an out-of-the-way gallery.
The free wireless internet was poor; only just adequate for some emails and too slow to work properly for most of our stay. Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gragra_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

On our short visit to Karlovy Vary we stayed at the Hotel Ontario atop the main drag. The view was nice, the room large and clean, the decor matching with the architecture, all rather new in "oldish" design, it was quiet, the staff attentive and friendly. I think only 2-3 of the 12 rooms were occupied during our stay. It was great to see that still there was an opulent breakfast buffet with all sorts of foods to match everybodys tastes on offer.

Best of all was the price - we got a good rate at 65 Euros per night, including free parking, wifi, etc. which is a very good price I think. You'd pay at least double that amount in western Europe for the offered services. Very good - if we'll return to Karlovy Vary, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JTH_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

The hotel is in a great location, just off the main throughfare. The staff is wonderful. A small European buffet breakfast is included and is served in the hotel cafe on the ground floor. The hotel appears recently renovated. Warm, inviting and comfortable, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Lovely building just a couple of minutes walk up the hill from the "main drag". Huge, quiet rooms with high ceilings, excellent breakfast, 24 hour reception, and an attentive and professional attitude from the staff which I was not expecting in a small hotel such as this. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The staff, the building, the attention to detail
  • Disliked — Hard to find any negatives. Internet access not perfect.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sagaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#4 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#12 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.0 mi away
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
#14 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ontario Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ontario Garni

Property: Hotel Ontario Garni
Address: Zamecky vrch 422/20, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ontario Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ontario Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing