We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Believe them - go elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Joseph Royal Regent
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Believe them - go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

My wife and I have never complained about a hotel, so this is not 'just another unsatisfied customer' review. We've been traveling for many, many years, so put that in perspective. And we've never complained before. We just stayed at this hotel, and were way past being 'sorely' unhappy (pun intended). While the hotel looks (and sounds, from their web-site) to be spectacular, it is the worst hotel we have EVER experienced. EVER.

In a nutshell:
-Rooms: great - modern & clean. Room staff: great, helpful.
-Mattresses: way beyond firm. The floor is better. When we questioned this, we were answered that 'the mattresses adhere to European standards'. Not even close. You won't sleep...
-Hotel staff: Indifferent. Rude. Uncaring. They don't speak English, and they certainly don't want to help.
-Hotel Spa Doctor: Somewhat caring, but 'no English' puts a real damper on things and so you should be careful - them not speaking English can get you wrong, even harmful, treatments. Beware!

-Spa facilities: Reasonably good
-Food: To die for, and I really mean that. The food is terrible. Although it's buffet-style, there is NO healthy food, NO fresh food, NO good-tasting food. We just couldn't believe this lack of quality of food, horrid cooking, and lack of caring. We ending up dining in Karlovy Vary, where there's plenty of good restaurants. The problem is the 'spa package' must include their meals, so you're cooked (so to speak; again, pun intended) and essentially, double-paying for meals once you book in.

After we wrote to the hotel management with our complaints (we've also never done that before, in all our years of traveling), they stated everything was fine. Whatever happened to any semblance of Customer Service? Attentiveness? Quality?
You'll find none of that here.

CAVEAT EMPTOR: DON'T STAY HERE...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRegent, Manager at St. Joseph Royal Regent, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Stephen S,
thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments. We are very sorry, that we didn’t come up to your expectations.
Sincerely
St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great new luxurious hotel in the city centre, near the kolonade and perfect location for MFF visitors. Rooms are cosy and clean. There is a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, vapour etc. in the top of the building. From the terrace you can see the beautiful landscape and downtow. The hotel service was excellent and staff really kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katka_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRegent, Manager at St. Joseph Royal Regent, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Katka_V,
thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. It’s a pleasure to read, that you were satisfied with our services and staff.
We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely
St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have to say only: amazing place, excellent service and relaxing wellness. Everyone was very helpful and polite. I have no suggestions!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Valerie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRegent, Manager at St. Joseph Royal Regent, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Valerie018,
thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT. It’s a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back to the St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT in future.
With kind regards
St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

It is new hotel in Karlovy Vary and very clean and well managed.
Staf is helpful and professional, medical personals are great.
I want mention diet specialist Ladislava Kankrilova, who even order for me yeast free bread, and hotel did not charge me any penny.
Location is very close to springs (just 3 minuts to walk)
Rooms modern and comfortable though Wi-Fi in the room not available,
just modem.
Big surprise Tea and Coffe not available during lunch and dinner (you have to pay extra)
Food is good

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank madaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRegent, Manager at St. Joseph Royal Regent, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear madaphoto,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are grateful for your compliments.
We would like to inform you that Wi-Fi in the room is now available. Unfortunately tea and coffee are during lunch and dinner still for extra payment.
Thank you once again for your review.
We look forward to welcome you back to the St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT again.
Sincerely
St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Thank´s to this hotel I have enjoyed our visit for MFF KV 2011even more than I expected! It was great to stay there! Modern designed hotel where from ch/in to ch/out you feel invited and welcome. We stay in a nice modern and comfortable room, buffet breakfast was excellent and wellness area for a short relax in the morning - awsome! What I can´t forget to mention is the hotel staff - nothing was a problem for them! Attentive and always smiling, providing us with all information and tips requested. From all of them I have to mention young lady at front desk on her night shift and the bellboy on our check out in the morning! It was Almodovar movie we have seen on MFF and you guys who made our stay in KV special! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gabriella77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRegent, Manager at St. Joseph Royal Regent, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Gabriella77,
thank you very much for choosing St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT as your choice of your stay in Karlovy Vary. We are grateful for sharing the stay experience.
We are happy that you found our team members to be very welcoming and helpful.
We look forward to welcome you back to the St.Joseph ROYAL REGENT in future.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#4 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#12 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vienna House Dvorak Karlovy Vary
Vienna House Dvorak Karlovy Vary
#18 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#1 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa
Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa
#25 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prezident Luxury Spa & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Joseph Royal Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Joseph Royal Regent

Property: St. Joseph Royal Regent
Address: Zahradni 2125/7, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#13 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St. Joseph Royal Regent 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest spa hotels in Carlsbad offers you the new relaxing experience & relaxation. Be welcomed in a beautiful spa center in Czech Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Joseph Royal Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Joseph Royal Regent Hotel Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing