We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent local food but lousy snobbish service”

Restaurace U Svejka
Ranked #13 of 141 Restaurants in Karlovy Vary
Cuisines: Bar, European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent local food but lousy snobbish service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The first waiter was a snob and disrespectful even before we ordered.
I ordered the lamb cutlet with croquets- it was a great dish that kept me talking about it later.
My wife had the turkey steak which was nice too.
Eventhough they didn't have a seat for my baby, a rude waiter blew us off when we asked about one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank y m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    209
    112
    46
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

They have the most kindest staff whom we met in Karlovy Vary. Quick serving, nice food. Worth your money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hermione21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've been to this restaurant twice, and i really recommend it. It is right in the center of the city, and it has a great value for money. I was there with my czech boyfriend and he really enjoyed the food there, so I would say it is authentic traditional czech food! They have very good Svíčková there, one of my favorite czech dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
320 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place to have lunch in Karlovy Vary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I managed to sit outside right next to the photo opportunity of the old soldier, which to me been alone was very enjoyable people watching, I had the bohemian platter which was really tasteful. Food came out fairly quickly (but not too quickly to be worrying) the staff was very friendly even though clearly pretty busy. A very good option for a lunch spot in the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good traditional food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good service ( fast) , good traditional food, that comes good with the beer.
We tried pork knee with the cabbage. Yes , it was very filling and fatty. But we shared one portion, and had this meal around 4 p.m and nothing after for dinner. It was a good experience ! Will come again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurace U Svejka also viewed

Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 

Been to Restaurace U Svejka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing