We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Karlovy Vary”

Hotel Promenada Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 146 Restaurants in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Karlovy Vary”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Best restaurant in Karlovy Vary! Oustanding food and service, good wine pairings, creative appetizers, beautifully designed meals.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGirlnGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    71
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We come back ever & ever”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This was the third time that we are spending the year end in KV and Promenade, for lunch or dinner, is our kind of cantine. We are never disappointed, the service is warm, the dishes excellent and the wines excellent, local or from abroad. Yesterday we had delicious fresh oysters followed by an angus beef perfectly executed with various vegetables as side dishes accompanied with a tasteful onion sauce. A nice old Chianti wine accompanied it. As a dessert, we had crepe Suzette flambé prepared in front of us: just perfect! The price is relatively high but justified by the quality of the food. To be noted the elegance of the restaurant's furniture and internal disposition. We shall definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank DemandingAndy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A classic meal”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is the old school of fine dining, done right. We had a meal that would be scary in a US restaurant, but was perfect here.

We started with a locally foraged mushroom trio and an onion soup. We spent the day wandering through the woods that provided the mushrooms, but these were picked by a master forager, prepared simply as to not bury the subtle flavors, and artfully presented. The soup, which had the same ingredients as a French onion soup, was also distinct and light.

Our main was a chateaubriand for two, with several vegetables and potatoes. This was my father's favorite dish, and I don't think that I have had it in 30 years. It was delightful.

The restaurant is small — you must make a reservation — and the service is courtly without being intrusive or overbearing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highermath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The best service we've received on our entire vacation. Granted European service isn't that great, but this place is a pleasant exception. We had the venison and it was amazing. The sides were great, especially the mashed potatoes. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petesperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Rate”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very good food, many typically Czech. Excellent and attentive service with plenty of knowledgeable staff available. Many dishes flambéed at the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Promenada Restaurant also viewed

Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 

Been to Hotel Promenada Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing