We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host, shame about the”
Review of Family Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Pension
Ranked #18 of 71 Karlovy Vary B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The lady in charge is delightful, the B&B is very clean and tidy and you get a daily room cleaning service for a price that's cheap for Karlovy Vary. The place is a 10 minute walk from the centre, in a quiet part of the town, up a steep hill, which may be a problem for some. It wasn't for me - it's an enjoyable walk past some lovely buildings. If you do not wish to walk, there are many buses that can bring you to a close-by bus stop.

On the downside, I asked the lady NOT to clean my room, as I do not like people entering my room whilst I am staying there, but she did so anyway.
Also, I found the room cold on the first night. I was told that the heating gets turned down at night, so I asked for an extra heater, which was given to me and I had to pay a (negligible) surcharge (50Kc) for it per day. On the third night however, the heating was left on during the night for some reason (which I was later explained: the owners simply decided that it was time to turn the heat on) and it became hot and stuffy in the room. Personally, I would have preferred to regulate the heating myself.

The wifi-internet comes and goes but I managed to do what I needed to do in the end.

Most importantly for me (and the main reason why I personally would not return to this guesthouse), if you are a sensitive sleeper, you will find the walls are too thin and the rooms/public spaces all to close to your bedroom. This is a shame since the location is super quiet and restful otherwise. I was unfortunate that both on the second and the third night, the guests were getting up in the middle of the night. The third night, the guests were actually up all night - coughing, toilet flushing, walking - I could hear all despite wearing ear plugs and only got 2 hours of sleep.

I was supposed to stay for 5 nights in this place but after the 3rd night of no sleep, I decided not to take my chances anymore. I would not hesitate recommending this guesthouse to anyone, who is not so ear sensitive as I am.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Karlovy Vary is a high-end spa resort catering to rich Eastern Europeans, so if you are not careful you can shelf out a lot of money for lodging and food.

This is why the Family Pension is such a great bargain. It is inexpensive to stay in, and it has a fully equipped kitchen to allow you to cook great meals, bypassing the 20-30 euro a meal price tags in the resort town.

Positives:
(1) Excellent apartment with modern furniture, and a great bathroom and kitchen.
(2) I stayed on the first floor and it is very very quiet. The bed is very comfortable,
(3) The fully equipped kitchen allowed me to cook a wonderful meal with produce bought from the local market (close to the bus station).

Negative:
The Pension is located at a higher level relative to the spa resorts. It is 5 minutes walking down to the resorts and the hot springs, but about 10 minutes walking up the incline. I treated it as my daily exercise so it is OK. But it depends on the person.

For travelers traveling by train or bus, make sure to get instruction from the owner about the bus to take - it is bus #13. It runs daily every half hour up to about 10pm. This is important because if you have luggage, you should not try to walk to the Pension.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms will be great. I stayed on the cheaper ground floor, which is a "single&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We enjoyed family pension for three nights....room was very large, and super clean.
The owner was a very nice lady....spoke a little English. Breakfast was sparse.
The parking is very limited to three small spaces. The major problem was an enormous
road construction project on her street up to the pension. It started a month ago, and will
continue for another month. The workers actually have her driveway blocked with heavy
equipment. I think we should have been told when making the reservation.
The location was great, but given the choice, we would have stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for room with bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsnspales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Family Pension is a nice comfortable B&B. The family is very accommodating and friendly. The house is located out of the centre of town at the top of the hill. It is quite a steep walk up, but there is also a bus that drops you most of the way up the hill. It is nice and quiet and the breakfast is good. Cereal, yoghurt, eggs, cold meat and cheese and fresh bread. The double room on at the front of the house is very large. As it is on the edge of a forested are it has excellent access to some nice walks, but remember if you leave your windows open you will need your mosquito spray. Our family (with two small children) stayed in the self catered apartment below us which was 20euros cheaper than our double room. Not sure why, but I would choose the apartment if I was to go again. There is also the option of additional breakfast in the apartment room for 4 euros per person per night. The rooms are basic, but spacious. There are more expensive and flasher hotels in the city, but I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the self catered apartment and pay additional for breakfast if you want. It is cheaper than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatNZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I am not certain why I have taken so long to write about this lovely B & B. My wife and I stayed here for three nights. This quiet and pleasant home is just what we needed to get away from it all. This is at the top of a fairly steep hill away from the city center. Breakfast was included. Our room was spacious and had two very comfortable beds. A shared full size fridge was available to all to store victuals. A convienent store was just a block or so down the hill and right accross the street from that was the bus stop down into town. We often walked down into town but only once all the way back up. A computer was available to send email back home. A great price per night as well. I highly reccomend this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coldbrewky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Taty1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank ardanya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.4 mi away
Luxury Spa Hotel Atlantic Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#2 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grandhotel Ambassador Narodni Dum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
#13 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palatin
Hotel Palatin
#27 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penzion 33
Penzion 33
#14 of 71 in Karlovy Vary
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Pension

Address: Tyrshova 49/11, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: £30 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Family Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Family Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing