We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxery Luxery Luxery”
Review of Grandhotel Pupp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grandhotel Pupp
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Leusden-Utrecht
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxery Luxery Luxery”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Since many year my favorite hotel in Karlovy Vary. Best location and fine staff. Love the valet parking and how they remember your name and their personal interest in guests in general.
It is a bit confusing, Pupp de Luxe and First Class, de Luxe is the building on the right side and First Class the building on the left side. First class is also fine but not so luxury as 5 star de Luxe. At the Luxe a large staff is available to take care about guests welfare and they realy care! Food is great, and Becher Bar is a place to visit, although sometimes not so crowded.
Rates for rooms are high and sometimes a great deal on room rate can be achieved.
For Pupp has become a sort of coming home over the last years and I hope many visits are there to follow. And yes, although interior seems te be a bit outdated, this belongs to the grandeur style of the hotel to my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    157
    74
    34
    21
See reviews for
115
261
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Although the Nr. 1 hotel in town and beautiful on the outside, this hotel did not meet my expectations. Scruffy, dated interior. Soviet-style service, in particular the valet. Mediocre food. OK for a one night stay and probably a must for hotel collectors. Beautiful location in a beautiful city nevertheless, surrounded by luxury boutiques.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribbean
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

we stayed for one night but definitely wish we would have stayed more, the city karlovy vary is to die for, looks like a postcard, the hotel is so nice and elegant, we even had a thai massage right there in the hotel, room is very big and superb, breakfast five star, they charged us for a hot chocolate which was shocking but is was so good that it was worth it, we were sad we couldnt use the services in the spa because they were booked, the guy in the casino was very rude, asking us for our passports which was strange although we were guests there, he said we could only look but not stay unless we show our passports, but the hotel transports you to the grandeur of 18th century, we will definitely stay here again, they have a parking in front of hotel very comfortable, is nice to walk in the area, the town is beautiful, loved the hotel overall in every sense

Room Tip: choose a room that faces the street so you can see the beautiful views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 17 nights in November 2010. I can tell you that the hotel (building) and surroundings are amazing. But, as always, all surprises are hidden inside of the box... everything in the hotel with the slight touch of time... the staff trained well enough to be non bothering...but i wish they could speak english better and be more helpful and friendly. sometimes their indifference seemed a bit annoying to us. The building deserves to be rated N1 hotel in Carlovy Vary (that was the reason of Casino Royal shootings), but in general i would not say WOW.... the food was good enough for that price.... though we always had dinners out. The SPA and gym can only be rated with three stars but definately not five...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LokiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It was a little confusing when arriving because there are two hotels, one De Luxe and one First Class. I'm assuming De Luxe is above First Class considering they greet you with a list of guests names, then send you to the smaller First Class entrance. The rooms are opulent but small. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the views from the room are magnificent. The only negative was they included a 45 euro charge for a charity. It's not that you don't want to be charitable. It's that you want to either be asked if you want to donate or it should be explained what the charge is when you are handed the bill, not an unexplained line item.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked a double room in the Deluxe (five star) section of this hotel. Although the building has some beautiful features and reminded us of an era of bygone elegance the hotel is NOT up to five star category. When you pull up to the hotel images of the Hotel Negresco in Nice and similar places come to mind but inside dissapointment awaits. The interiors look shabby (nothing like in Last Vacation!!!!) Our room was large and had nice river views but it had not been redecorated in decades and it´s seventies style decor looked cheap and was totally unsuited to this type of establishement. The ugly multi colored carpet could´nt conceal several brown stains. The "Barbarella" style bathroom had plastic plants and a shower which didn´t work the first day. I had paid more to be in the Deluxe (five star) section instead of the First Class (four star) section precisely to avoid this kind of situation. (I certainly expected ALL rooms in the Deluxe Section of the hotel to be up to date). The service was poor and unfriendly. The pillows were rather thick and when we asked if they had thinner ones (I have neck trouble) the concierge couldn´t hide his amazement and said they only had one size pillow. Breakfast was totally chaotic having to wait for ages to have coffee served or an omelette cooked. This is NOT a five star hotel in spite of publicity and prices to the contrary. It just makes me wonder what the First Class section must be like. The hotel urgently needs refurbishment and new management.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank giborny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We have stayed here twice once was on the James Bond package.. had a fabulous time and then on honeymoon... again had a great time. its a really lovely hotel and a great place to stay to explore the area. This is where they filmed Casino Royale and my husband loved staying here as he i a big Bond fan. Both times we stayed in a suite which were huge, staff are very helpful too. Breakfast was buffet style and had lot to choose from, Both times we were given little gifts and had trips out included in the package. We went to the spa were e tasted the water this is were Michael Palin stayed and visited the spa too on one his series. We traveled by car which takes about 2 hours from Prague but it is a little gem to stay at. Sorry I had to choose from the drop down menu but we stayed in May 2008 & 2006

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanyDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.0 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#4 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.8 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#12 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#11 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Spa Hotel Atlantic Palace
Luxury Spa Hotel Atlantic Palace
#5 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Pupp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Pupp

Property: Grandhotel Pupp
Address: Mirove namesti 316/2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#1 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#1 Casino Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#13 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Pupp 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque spa town of Karlovy Vary in the Czech Republic, the Grandhotel Pupp is one of Europe's most famous historical hotels. Talking about its history would take a while, because it dates back to 1701. In recent years the Grandhotel Pupp has hosted illustrious names from the movie world including Morgan Freeman, Gregory Peck, Sharon Stone, Robert Redford, John Malkovich, Antonio Banderas, Jude Law, John Travolta and Nikita Michalkov. Such stars have descended on the hotel especially for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival each year at the beginning of July. As well as modern-day celebrities, the hotel has also attracted eminent historical figures from culture and the arts including German poet and philosopher Johann Wolfgang Goethe, composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Richard Wagner and Antonin Dvorak, violinist Nicolo Paganini, writer Franz Kafka and master of Art Nouveau Alfons Mucha. In two connected buildings, River Side and Park Side, the Grandhotel Pupp complex offers 228 rooms in the categories of Comfort, Superior, Superior Plus, Junior Suite, Premier Suite and Apartment. The ground floor of the hotel features restaurants, a cafe, bars, a boutique zone, a hairdressing salon and casino. Becher's Bar provides entertainment in the evening. The Grandhotel Pupp invites guests to the new Pupp Royal Spa wellness centre with pool and saunas. The complex includes a modern fitness centre as well as a private Royal Spa Suite with whirlpool, massage tables, sauna and a relaxation zone. The Pupp Royal Spa offers an extended range of treatments, from traditional procedures based on the natural bounty of Karlovy Vary and the region to modern massages and beauty treatments. Grandhotel Pupp - If you want a chance to see a star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandhotel Pupp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Pupp De Luxe Hotel Karlovy Vary
Grandhotel Pupp Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing