We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“it was ok, but one time is enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandhotel Pupp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grandhotel Pupp
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Phetchaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“it was ok, but one time is enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

we went to the Pupp Hotel because of the great movie with Queen Latiffa "Last Holiday" it was nice, ok, but not much more. The room was a little old, the pic on the wall Nude.
The view from the hotel was nice and I enjoy to drink a last glass of wine on the Balcony.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    149
    69
    34
    21
See reviews for
108
247
42
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Overall the hotel was good - clean room, comfortable, helpful staff - but for us expensive for what it is. Does not have air-conditioning so difficult when it is very hot. Unless you are intending to go for all the spa treatments, one night here is probably sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent greeting service, check in was smooth, we arrived early morning and the room was already ready! Very informative people and reception/concierge/ bell boys spoke perfect English and told you all what you needed to know and where things were. We had a junior suite. Good selection in the mini bar and not overpriced either. The room
Was clean and decadent (TVs might need updating but the welcome with mum and my name in it made me laugh)! Watched Last holiday in the room and compared the building throughout to the film which was fun. Turndown service was good and location is fantastic we walked to the end in
The day and had a nice leisurely walk in the evening too. Be sure to get pictures at night. Notice the bricks outside the main entrance with the celebrity name dropping on them!

Restaurant was disappointing. There were 6 people and only 1 willing to help us. Probably because they did not speak English and were quite young. I am allergic to yeast, gluten, wheat and other things that are solved by simply serving meat and veg and mum is allergic to garlic, almonds and wine. The menus seemed to target an older market and we ended up eating in
The rendezvous which had a fantastic and reasonable menu (1,200czk for 2x mini meals and 2x desserts and 2x ice teas) but we felt that we had been shunned to the lesser area of the hotel. But our waiter there was fantastic and completely different to the ones in the grandhotel restaurant who seemed quite rude.
The bathroom in the junior suite should of had a proper shower but instead just had a bath with a shower head. We stayed at kings court 5* in prague also this holiday and it was easily better equipped than hotel pupp. Otherwise a great visit. Karlovy vary is stunning and the building is very impressive. Would still recommend as waking up to the river and mountain views from the room was delightful. A great shopping area but really is just a relaxing place as there is little to do. I do recommend Sensai part of
The royal hotel pupp spa (go in wearing your normal clothes). We had a 30 minutes arm and hand massage and a 30
Minute neck massage (total 1280 or something similar check their -Sensai-website). The Thai ladies are very strong and as someone who has muscles that are so knotted everyone has a problem sorting them out- this lady did the job! Vicious but the next day I was so relaxed on my neck, eyes and back!) they will
Book via email and use different oils if you have allergies. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booboo717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

First, if you are debating whether to go to Karlovy Vary, my advice is - GO! It is a very, very cool town which is unlike anywhere else I have been to. Really beautiful place.

The Hotel is very old but they have renovated it well. Everything is old in this town, so you won't find a new hotel here - but they have done a good job modernizing this place. I recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AdamLoewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardubice
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We already stayed in this hotel in the past and when we come back to Karlovy Vary we prefer to stay here even the hotel is not cheap, from these reasons: hotel is very conveniently located in the center but at quiet place, it has nice spa and offers all procedures in the premises, service is professional and excellent incl. valet parking, reception, concierge. All their public facilities like bars and restaurants are set in beautiful rooms and evoke feeling of "old good times". Grand restaurant improved a lot and even it is probably the most expensive place where you can eat in the town, they also probably serve the best food in the town. I think it is better to pay a bit more and take at least superior room which are located in the old part of the hotel. I can highly recommend this nice hotel from "old times" for couples, for a romantic stay and for spa lovers.

Room Tip: superior rooms in the old part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night but it was a luxurious stay. Lovely rooms and a great hotel. The swimming pool is indoors and lovely. Had a nice swim. There are hot water springs nearby where you can sip the spring water. Would love to come back here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SidsKaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful and classy, in a great location in Karlovy Vary. While very grand, it suffers a bit from its age. Rooms are not very efficient (and mine was to tell the truth a bit tired). They have no air conditioning, and older appliances (but incredibly fast wi-fi for some reason).
Common areas are very nice and the staff are attentive and polite, providing for great (if formal) service.
Overall the hotel is good, but would need a bit of a refurb to be great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.0 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#1 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#4 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#11 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Spa Hotel Atlantic Palace
Luxury Spa Hotel Atlantic Palace
#6 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#10 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Pupp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Pupp

Property: Grandhotel Pupp
Address: Mirove namesti 316/2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#1 Business Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#2 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#13 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Pupp 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque spa town of Karlovy Vary in the Czech Republic, the Grandhotel Pupp is one of Europe's most famous historical hotels. Talking about its history would take a while, because it dates back to 1701. In recent years the Grandhotel Pupp has hosted illustrious names from the movie world including Morgan Freeman, Gregory Peck, Sharon Stone, Robert Redford, John Malkovich, Antonio Banderas, Jude Law, John Travolta and Nikita Michalkov. Such stars have descended on the hotel especially for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival each year at the beginning of July. As well as modern-day celebrities, the hotel has also attracted eminent historical figures from culture and the arts including German poet and philosopher Johann Wolfgang Goethe, composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Richard Wagner and Antonin Dvorak, violinist Nicolo Paganini, writer Franz Kafka and master of Art Nouveau Alfons Mucha. In two connected buildings, River Side and Park Side, the Grandhotel Pupp complex offers 228 rooms in the categories of Comfort, Superior, Superior Plus, Junior Suite, Premier Suite and Apartment. The ground floor of the hotel features restaurants, a cafe, bars, a boutique zone, a hairdressing salon and casino. Becher's Bar provides entertainment in the evening. The Grandhotel Pupp invites guests to the new Pupp Royal Spa wellness centre with pool and saunas. The complex includes a modern fitness centre as well as a private Royal Spa Suite with whirlpool, massage tables, sauna and a relaxation zone. The Pupp Royal Spa offers an extended range of treatments, from traditional procedures based on the natural bounty of Karlovy Vary and the region to modern massages and beauty treatments. Grandhotel Pupp - If you want a chance to see a star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grandhotel Pupp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Pupp De Luxe Hotel Karlovy Vary
Grandhotel Pupp Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing