We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel”
Review of Grandhotel Pupp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grandhotel Pupp
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We had the pleasure of staying in a suite at this beautiful hotel. I believe it to be the best hotel in Karlovy Vary. The room was large and decorated in a grand old style and although the bathroom tiles were a little dated, the fittings were top class and the bathroom was very clean. The oversized bathrobes were wonderful. We had dinner at the restaurant where we were treated like royalty and the food was excellent. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The only down side was the lack of wifi in the rooms and you were charged to use the Internet connection in the lounge.
All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cat55PerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    168
    78
    36
    23
See reviews for
121
274
46
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Karlovy

I have reserved a rehabilitation package for my wife and I with emphasis on her vertebrate (disc) condition. I was blown away with he marketing I read and heard from multiple sources that this would be the treatment she needs to bounce back. I am a dermatologist and my wife is a dentist, we are capable of identifying good technical 'know how' when we see it. I am sorry to say they were under par and are not capable of delivering what they market! When we noticed the case, and informed the officials we were shocked that little was done to correct the situation. We were stuck with a treatment that has little if not minuscule value. Accordingly we decided to cut our visit short and salvage the trip as a normal vacation and ended up having another issue with the travel agent who proved rude and abnoxious. 
I will forever regret the time I wasted and will always reflect to people of interest my experience. I feel I have let down my wife with absolutely no conciliation. I will consider local alternatives which are much more comfortable, closer in proximity and knowledgable in this field. Although James bond's rehabilitation there was a movie and pure fiction and it is clear Karlovy vary's abilities are the same.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alnazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

An expensive 5 star hotel with 2 star sevice and below average facilities- No swimming pool and mixed sauna & jacozi which should not appeal to Mid East customers who are
one of the most frequent customers. The clinic and health program was poor with little attention to customer's condition. Treatments are more expensive than other hotels.

The breakfast was OK but lunch and dinner was below average for a 5 star hotel.
Management does not care about their guests and they favor the travel agent above the guest when there is dispute between the two..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

If you want to celebrate an anniversary, do not go to Beсhers bar at Hotel Pupp. This is a dark place with very expensive drinks, which are collected and reign prostitutes, and the staff encourages them to rudeness. Musicians behave like owners of the hotel and dictate their terms to visitors. Normal people should not visit this overly-expensive bar with lotvratitelnoy atmosphere. Just came from there with a broken spirits.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Clair274697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

If you want a fairy tale place to stay, the Grandhotel Pupp is the place! Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel being located in Karlovy Vary triples the experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frit0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

GRANDHOTEL PUPP is absolutely unique place to stay, for leisure or business, both very good. I have various experiences from last couple years and it is always great and fantastic, always very excited coming back. Always the same great service, food, nice, friendly people and unique atmosphere which you can feel it everywhere in the hotel, it has just its special own "genius loci". I would highly recommend this hotel to families, business people and everybody who are looking for something highest quality and special.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viktorie_perinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihlava, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed 2 nigts in this hotel. Very bad for the money. Room without air condition. The smallest fitness I ever seen! Never again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dzordzdzordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#2 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#12 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#11 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dvorak Karlovy Vary
Vienna House Dvorak Karlovy Vary
#18 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Pupp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Pupp

Property: Grandhotel Pupp
Address: Mirove namesti 316/2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#1 Business Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#3 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#3 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#13 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Pupp 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque spa town of Karlovy Vary in the Czech Republic, the Grandhotel Pupp is one of Europe's most famous historical hotels. Talking about its history would take a while, because it dates back to 1701. In recent years the Grandhotel Pupp has hosted illustrious names from the movie world including Morgan Freeman, Gregory Peck, Sharon Stone, Robert Redford, John Malkovich, Antonio Banderas, Jude Law, John Travolta and Nikita Michalkov. Such stars have descended on the hotel especially for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival each year at the beginning of July. As well as modern-day celebrities, the hotel has also attracted eminent historical figures from culture and the arts including German poet and philosopher Johann Wolfgang Goethe, composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Richard Wagner and Antonin Dvorak, violinist Nicolo Paganini, writer Franz Kafka and master of Art Nouveau Alfons Mucha. In two connected buildings, River Side and Park Side, the Grandhotel Pupp complex offers 228 rooms in the categories of Comfort, Superior, Superior Plus, Junior Suite, Premier Suite and Apartment. The ground floor of the hotel features restaurants, a cafe, bars, a boutique zone, a hairdressing salon and casino. Becher's Bar provides entertainment in the evening. The Grandhotel Pupp invites guests to the new Pupp Royal Spa wellness centre with pool and saunas. The complex includes a modern fitness centre as well as a private Royal Spa Suite with whirlpool, massage tables, sauna and a relaxation zone. The Pupp Royal Spa offers an extended range of treatments, from traditional procedures based on the natural bounty of Karlovy Vary and the region to modern massages and beauty treatments. Grandhotel Pupp - If you want a chance to see a star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grandhotel Pupp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Pupp De Luxe Hotel Karlovy Vary
Grandhotel Pupp Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing