We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but no sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Romance Puskin
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location, in the middle of the city. Free wifi. Staff is friendly. They helped me park our car. We had to park our car far away, in a parking garage near the Imperial hotel, at CZK280 (EUR 11) per day. But someone drove ahead to show me the way and then drove me back after I parked. Breakfast was great, as many have pointed out.

Room was decent but the main issue was that we couldn't sleep well. It was hot that day and the room has no airco. Even with the windows open it was still too warm at night. Also, my wife was allergic to the (down) bed cover and pillow cover. Too bad, because other than that, we liked the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romance_puskin, Manažer at Hotel Romance Puskin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2014

Dear Eric1313,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your bad night sleep this way. We are always happy to change your bedding to anti-allergic. We can also bring powerfull fan to your room on request as well as we can upgrade your room to room with air-condition when it´s too warm for you. You could have all of this just telling us about it during your stay. We would be more than happy to welcome you in our hotel again and provide a good night sleep for you.

Best regards,

Lubos Bohunek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Three short blocks down the hill to the left, just over the bridge, is a huge main square (oblong really) with numerous parking spaces, some of them reserved for this hotel. Park here before you check in and sort out your exact parking spot at the desk. You CAN stop to offload in front of the hotel, but it is on a busy hill and a bit inelegant. The staff are cheery and helpful, the hotel itself is exactly what you would expect and Karlov Vary is a must for all Belle Epoque fans.

Now, about breakfast. Being on the road in Western Europe or several days, one easily tires of the "Breakfast Formula' - 3 lunch meats, 3 cheeses, 3 kinds of buns, 3 choices of juice and the not-so-ever-present 'coffee person', who must be flagged down for every cup of coffee after the first. Then there are the hotels that make it a bit more unpleasant with watered down juice, not-so-fresh buns and thin coffee!.

At Romance Pushkin there were home-made lunch meat offerings we'd never before encountered, cheeses that could win awards at the local fair, an entire bread 'exhibition' to choose from! Several coffee styles were on offer along with a large glass vat of hot milk with a mechanical stirring device so you could be sure there were no lumps in your latte. Need jam? How about 8 regular varieties plus four choices of home-made compote? The raspberry is strongly recommended. I could go on about the abundance and beauty of this breakfast extravaganza, but here is the real kicker - I counted 9 employees working the breakfast room the day we were there. Because the breakfast is 100% self-serve, not one of them had anything to with the hotel guests (although I'm sure you could have special requested anything and they would have been delighted to serve it to you). So what were these 9 staff members doing? Arranging and replenishing! Had a good go at the lunch meat or cheese display? You are immediately followed by an "arranger" who re-assembles the table to ensure the pleasant artistic balance is immediately restored and that this smorgasbord runs out of nothing.

Karlov Vary: come for architecture so sublime it could bring tears to the right set of eyes; stay for what could be the best hotel breakfast in Europe!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a balcony room. Karlov Vary is so special and sipping a glass of wine w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suremarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is of extremely high quality at a fair price. Many of the hotels in Karlovy Vary offer less for much more. The location of Hotel Romance Puskin is right near the colonnade which is where you want to be if visiting Karlovy Vary. It does make parking difficult, given the one way roads and lack of on street parking, but the hotel made this easy for us by offering a valet service. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the colonnade which was great for taking in the fresh air and people watching. As others have said, the breakfast was really good. We booked this online and the communication from staff was exceptional.
Be sure to try as many different spa wafer flavours as possible.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a balcony facing the colonnade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is located right next to a spa, which was very convient for us, as we booked treatment at that spa. The room was quite large and wifi was included as well. The breakfast was superb, great selection of cold meat, bread. cakes and juices. They even had a choice of honey!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dorami-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stay and have breakfast! It was fantastic. The location is a bit hard to find at first if using a GPS. You may need to get out of the car and ask. We used the massage salon here and it was very good. I would return here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bac4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We came back to HOTEL ROMANCE Puskin after several years. It goes on supporting the very high level of quality. We booked a huge room with balcony ( room12). The hotel manager especially reserved this room for us at our arrival. Breakfast buffet is perfect! It is the best breakfast ever been. A good WiFi in the rooms. Very tasty dishes in the restaurant - we had dinner there every day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor_Potapov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Perfect location - just over the street from the very center of old city. Diana observation train few minuted by lazy walk. Mineral water pipes just over the street or few minutes walk.

Breakfast buffet - choice and quality is just perfect!

free wifi

Very, very, very expensive for this hotel (paid around 145eur per night). It is definately not worth this kind of a price. If you can get it for 70-100eur per night, then it is definately good choice to stay.

rooms and hotel very, very clean and refurbished.
At the same time you have a feeling that something is not as it should be. If you stay in chain hotels, you will understand what I mean.
Just small things like size of the room doors, missing sewing and shoe polish in the room. no central switch for all the light. Room doors operated by ordinary key - just one, so if you are more than 1 in the room and need to go somewhere separately, it could be a problem to get in. Paper napkins/tissues stays there in carton boxes (different colors) etc.

Highly reccomended if you can get price to about 70-100eur per night

Room Tip: I would call it very good 3* hotel not 4*. In a perfect place, with perfect breakfast and a helpfull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romance_puskin, Manager at Hotel Romance Puskin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear BoWu,

thank you for your highly valuable review. I appreciate your comments and suggestions and would like to respond to them. First of all, I’d like to point out that the hotel is being refurbished gradually. The rooms on the 4th and 5th floor are after reconstruction while the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor are not refurbished yet. The plan for next winter season (2014/2015) is to renovate another part of the rooms on the other floors which will bring new doors being operated by magnetic cards instead of ordinary keys. We believe this would bring more comfort to our guests. About the key, we usually provide one key by check-in to our guests but there are at least 2 keys available at the reception and if a guest asks for 2 keys, we ordinarily provide them if requested. Another point were paper napkins in carton boxes which will be, based on this review, stored in paper tissue box covers – they will be bought during this month to ensure the carton boxes with different colors do not disturb our guests. Also, I’d like to mention that in every room, there is a sewing kit in the bedside table but if it was missing, please accept our apology, it would have been replenished in a moment if asked. And last but not least, you are right that there is no shoe polish in the rooms, there is only a regular shoe sponge but on the other side, we do have a shoe cleaning machine on the first floor with shoe polish so it is possible to use it anytime.
To obtain better prices, I recommend to use our special offers.
Thank you again for your opinion that we can learn from to improve the services we provide to our guests.
With kind regards,

Petra Kučerová
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.3 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
673 reviews
2.1 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.3 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#12 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thermal
Hotel Thermal
#45 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Venus
Hotel Venus
#20 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romance Puskin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romance Puskin

Address: Trziste 37, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#3 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: £64 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romance Puskin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Romance is situated in the spa center of Karlovy Vary, close to the Hot Geyser Spring and the Hot Spring Colonnade. This romantic Art Nouveau building dating from 1899 was converted into a stylish hotel in 2002, combining spa-town tradition and atmosphere with comfort and quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Romance Puskin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Puskin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing