We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Karlovy Vary! Clean, clean, clean...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Thermal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Thermal
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Karlovy Vary! Clean, clean, clean...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was our second time in Karlovy Vary since 2007 and our second stay in Thermal Hotel. We never wanted to choose another place when planning our trip and we're glad that we came back!
Even though the hotel building doesn't really fit in the city with old-style, 4-5 floor buildings, even though it looks a bit ugly outside - this is the best place to stay in Karlovy Vary and I mean it!
The hotel is extremely clean! The staff was very professional and friendly (most of them).
We were 3 people and we reserved the comfort apartment (not a regular room) and it was just great! The room was clean and very well organised. The bed sheets, the towels, the bedrooms - everything was clean, clean and clean...Standard rooms have a very nice balcony with a great view.
The food was fine with the carefully prepared menu. The reastaraunt was large and bright and the hotel staff did well serving so many people at one time.
Thermal has a perfect location. Only 10 min to a historical colonade with mineral water and 5 min to the center with shops, cafes, etc.
The medical examination, treatment, service at Thermal Hotel was just perfect. The medical staff was very professional and friendly. They speak perfect Russian and some english.
We never used the pool so nothing to say here.
Overall great place to stay for a few days or weeks. Will come back here again...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    64
    39
    14
    20
See reviews for
36
53
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We did not stay at this hotel but went to Karlovy Vary on a day trip from Prague. We scheduled a massage at the Hotel Thermal and were very, very pleased with the service and the price. One of the best whole body massages I have ever received and the price was the best. As we were a bit lost, the front desk staff was extremely helpful in locating the spa and the spa staff - while they did not speak any English whatsoever - were incredibly helpful and did a great job.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EspanaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkov, Kharkivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Better just visit the pool from this hotel. Its the best pool in the city, with clean water and awesome view!
It's definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My friend stayed in Thermal, I visited her and was impressed. Room was spacious, very clean and modern looking. Hotel was very comfortable and all visitors were very welcomed. Great meals in restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Thankfully, we did not stay here. On a recent trip to Karlvoy Vary my boyfriend and I parked our car at the Hotel Thermal (recommended by our hotel as we could not park at ours). The next day, we went to retrieve our car and pay. The machine did not take a 1000 Czech note, although it was pictured on the side of the machine so we assumed we could use it. We were told to go in a pay at reception. The amount that showed up on the machine inside was an extra 40 Cz crowns than what we were shown outside. I tried to explain that to the receptionist, but she was having none of it. She ended up changing our 1000 note and telling us to go back outside, and then simply walked away, snarling. I was left standing there with my mouth wide open -- in all of my travels I have never encountered someone so rude and blase as I did here. This is not what the tourism industry is about. Would not recommend the hotel based on that experience alone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saturdayedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Karlovy Vary hotels

Sandviken, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Karlovy Vary is an old small beautiful town with amazing buildings in the old traditional czech style.
There’s a coherence among the surrounding buildings but the Thermal hotel doesn’t do this place justice. It ruins the ancient vibe of this breathtaking story-book-like town, but on the other hand reminds about the communist history of the country. First and foremost the staff is indifferent, not very helpful when help is asked, for instance, we wanted to book a spa treatment at the so-called popular spa and were directed to call the spa directly only to find out that they only spoke Czech as if the hotel staff would not know that! Upon asking them to help us call and book for us, they did but in a nonchalant manner. The décor in the room was plain, boring, kind of what one would expect in a hostel or 2 star hotel…
Then came the breakfast, not so much to choose from…. Very average.
Would I stay at this hotel again? No! Would I visit Karlovy Vary again? Yes.
Note: This beautiful town is full of elegant shops so if you love to shop there’s lots of jewelry and fancy clothing shops and prices are not that cheap either especially along the promenade.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stelfe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I booked a single with half board and got 5 treatments included and got a really good rate especially as it was during the film festival.

The room was extremely tired and was probably pretty nice in the 70's, it had basic facilities and I would call it 2* at the most .. I had a balcony and it gave great views of beautiful Karlovy Vary.

The location of the hotel was perfect for me, right between the old and new parts of town, the reception staff were really polite and friendly and the medical treatments were relaxing.

The Hotel's external architecture is pretty brutal, but what can you do about that ! (In fact I quite like it), I just wish it would have a refurb in the rooms and it would be really nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15ian20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marttel
Hotel Marttel
#42 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#10 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#4 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.2 mi away
Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa
Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa
#31 of 94 in Karlovy Vary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prezident Luxury Spa & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thermal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thermal

Property: Hotel Thermal
Address: I. P. Pavlova 2001/11, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#26 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#31 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thermal 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Thermal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thermal Hotel Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing