We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savoy Westend Hotel
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We loved staying here. Its a beautiful hotel, everyone was so friendly and helpful. It's got a short walk to the main part of the city which we didn't mind, and also enjoyed walking around the area where it's located to see all the other amazing hotels, churches, etc. Breakfast was wonderful with so many options - the buffet is unbelievable. The spa was decent too - it's a bit different than American spas so I thrown, but not disappointed. We had a Hot Mineral Water Bath which was so relaxing, then tried out the sauna/steam room, pool, jacuzzi, etc. I'm used to jacuzzi's being hot and this was just like regular pool water. Then I got a massage and I'm used to it being more of a relaxing environment with the lights turned low - this massage felt more medical instead of relaxing. It definitely helped my sore legs from walking though! I'm ready to go back and visit the Savoy again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear client,

thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    45
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
102
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

First, the hotel is actually made up of several buildings connected by a central courtyard. Not a big deal unless it is freezing (as it is in Nov) and you are willing to sprint between the main house (where the dining room, bar and main reception is located) and your room. There are no indoor connecting walkways, except between the spa and the Carlton wing. Second, the rooms are indeed plush and huge, even by US standards. Complimentary water, welcome chocolates, bathrobes and slippers are a nice touch. The spacious bathroom with its heated towel racks and 'pure' line of toiletries screams luxury. However,, the housekeeping staff do not speak English and requests are met with blank stares. The front desk clerks are efficient though abrupt and cold, so if you are expecting a warm welcome and gracious hospitality, you may be disappointed. Breakfast is included in the room charge and the buffet is the most varied I've seen (this side of a las Vegas casino). However, best to give the dinner buffet a miss -- it is overpriced for what it is...2,000 cz for two persons (with a glass of wine each) and sadly, we left hungry. The choices were just too exotic for us (tongue steak, grilled wild deer, veal meatballs). Better to brave the short walk to town for greater variety at more palatable prices. Finally, unless you are a marathon sprinter or mountain climber, or don't mind paying for taxis, you may want to rethink staying here. The hotel is located at the top of a long and windy steep hill. Good for the gluts, but a challenge for anyone returning home from an afternoon of shopping or dinner at the plaza.

Room Tip: Request for a room in the main house or in the Carlton wing to avoid freezing brisk walks between di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms06880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear client,
we would like to thank you for choosing Savoy Westend Hotel and for providing a feedback.
We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Even during International Karlovy Vivary Film Festival, the hotel is calm, somewhere out of tourist path in the city. But, probably, it is in the nices place in the city. Wonderful room, with only the air conditioning somewhere noisy. Otherwise, all is perfect: nice swimming pool. Spa looks perfect. Excellent brakfast. Yes, probably it is one of the nices hotels in this charming city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear client,

we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay of yours.

We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Last weekend, we have stayed at this hotel for the 47th International Film Festival.
the hotel staffs are very welcoming, friendly and eager to help whenever possible which is very nice to see especially knowing that Czech hotels lack this.
The hotel is well equipped with very nice Spa resort and plenty of space for outdoor relaxation. Rooms are good, our corner room was spacious other rooms as i have heard from friends are small.

I have enjoyed my stay there and will be returning back soon to enjoy the relaxation atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra_B_Issa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear client,

we would like to thank you for choosing Savoy Westend Hotel and for providing a very positive feedback.

We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. The hotel is very pretty and picturesque, its formed by five villas located in a quiet area, near the Orthodox church. I stayed in Villa Kleopatra. Nice indoors swimming pool and spa. The room was pretty big, with two small twin beds but bathroom was tiny and no bathtub. Coming from the Budha Bar Hotel in Prague was a big contrast. There is no housekeeping service in the evening, something I would expect in a five star hotel like the Savoy Westend. Pillows were not great either. If you are Russian you will feel like home as everybody seemed to be Russian and apart from Czech that seems to be the most spoken language in Karlovy Vary and specially in the hotel. The girl in Reception in the evening was very helpful. She helped us a lot to check timetables and buses for a half day trip to Loket Castle. Some other people were not so helpful but I think it was more with the fact they didnt speak a lot of English. There is free wifi everywhere in the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon_alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear client,
we would like to thank you for choosing Savoy Westend Hotel and for providing a feedback.
We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Well we went for a little weekend and the hotel divided in 4/5 very nice building/house all related by the spa is simply a paradise. Everything is very nice clean and almost the perfection. We loved the place, the service is what we wanted and that is what we got. The hotel is in a very quite area where you can rest from your journey and the spa is very nice to. A really swimming pool andyou can rent also mountain bike to go around. Well my wife and I wanted to rest and that is what we got in a splendid paradise of calm and very professional service. Room are luxury of good taste, we felt completely in another world. One of the best hotel in CZ.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LorenzoLivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear client,
we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay of yours.

We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I just want to share with you how wonderful, outstanding, way below expectations the service in this hotel was for my husband and I. We had an accident on the way to the hotel and the night watch Tomas helped us all the way through by calling the police, translating and getting them to find us after waiting in the forest for 2 hours on -20°. He arranged a taxi to get us then from the police station and bring us back to the hotel. Hot tee and sandwiches welcomed us after this awful night. The next day receptions Jakob would continue helping us with getting a driver to take us to the car and having then the car pulled out. The driver turned out to be the manager on duty who never introduced himself as so (we just found out later)and so kindly took us there, helped with the car, and waited for us in the freezing cold forest! AMAZING.Upon our return to the hotel, we could finally enjoy the stay. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. Our room was big, comfortable and cozy at the same time. We used the spa (all complimentary) and felt it was only us although the hotel was heavily booked as informed by reception. I guess its so big you just don't get to see many people around. We had a thai massage and this was also wonderful!The breakfast was spectacular. If coming to back to Karlovy Vary again, will definitely stay in the this hotel. As a professional in tourism and hospitality, Im proud to find such a costumer service. Thanks Savoy West End!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DebAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear client,

thank you very much for your positive words about our hotel and services.
We are very pleased, that your stay with us made your trip to Karlovy Vary memorable and that we managed to satisfy you in every aspect.

We hope there will be a possibility to welcome you back again soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#2 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
654 reviews
2.0 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.4 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#12 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prezident Luxury Spa & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Westend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Westend Hotel

Property: Savoy Westend Hotel
Address: Petra Velikeho 583/16, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Westend Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern spa hotel is located in the old prestigious residential quarter of Karlovy Vary. It was built in 1897 and many well known people enjoyed their stay at the hotel. Among them – T. G. Masaryk,the first President of Czechoslovakia, Mussafer Eddin – the Shah of Iran and many others were the guests of the Savoy Westend Hotel. The newly reconstructed hotel has maintained many original architectural features, and it off ers an exceptionally high quality of services to its guests adhering to the highest international standards.- Spa resort with the total area 7.000 m2- It consists of fi ve Art Nouveau villa houses: Savoy, Artemis, Kleopatra, Carlton, Rusalka- All villas are directly linked to the balneal centre- 3.000 m2 modern balneal centre Spa Afrodite- 1.200m2 summer resting garden- 2 air-conditioned restaurants- 2 air-conditioned bars- Sports centre- Conference rooms- Supervised car park and underground garage for 62 cars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Westend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing