We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and I will come back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savoy Westend Hotel
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Carlsbad is my favorite destination and Savoy Westend is a flagship among hotels in Carlsbad city. Room, service, facilities are great. Food is also excellent. We enjoyed a beautiful romantic weekend there and we will come back again next year.

Room Tip: I prefer Villa Savoy which is the main building where is reception and F&B facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magico79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear client,

thank you very much for your positive words about our hotel and services.
We are very pleased, that your stay with us made your trip to Karlovy Vary memorable and that we managed to satisfy you in every aspect.

We are looking forward to welcome you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

Stayed for a weekend with my sister to relax. breakfast was good although more of a Russian style with fish, eggs and lots of cheese and cold meets. Staff were friendly in general but not exceptional. spa area is more medical in feel than what you would find in Thailand. had a Thai massage, it was good but the rm was not soo nice and a bit expensive. The food sizes were small for dinner and too pricey for what you get. overall though enjoyed our stay and made the most of the hotel. If you are use to European hotels it is fine, but nothing like what you get in Asia or middle east.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aust87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear client,
we would like to thank you for choosing Savoy Westend Hotel and for providing a feedback.
We certainly take your comment into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas period, our first visit to Karlovy Vary (and Czech Republic). We arrived from Prague airport to the Karlovy Vary bus terminal, where we found that most people could not speak any English to direct us toward a taxi. In the end, we rang Savoy who were very helpful and sent their hotel van to pick us up (took less than 10 minutes).
Upon arrival, we were greeted by a well lit, festively decorated hotel. Front desk staff were excellent at English and were very helpful. Our room was in the Rusalka wing (initially right next to the lift, however, this was soon rectified) and was very beautifully decorated and spacious. We had a view of the woodlands opposite and of the front of the hotel.
It is true that communication in English was difficult. Most staff spoke either German, Czech or Russian. Having said that, they were never rude, but tried to assist us where-ever possible (with my limited German) and by calling the front desk to interpret.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and is a good spread of breads, cereals, cold meats and hot foods (sausages, scrambled eggs, eggs made to order, porridge). We also attended the mandatory Christmas Gala dinner on Christmas eve, which, was a little disappointing for the price, as it was a fairly regular buffet dinner.
The spa side is not as luxurious as I was expecting, honestly, it was a little bit "clinical". My husband and I had a Lavender Mineral Bath which was very relaxing, followed by the sauna, jacuzzi and a light swim.
The hotel is located a little further out from the main town. It is not that far away though as there are two ways of walking. The first way, is a gentle slope downhill, through streets of large hotels and shops - it takes about 5-7 minutes to walk down to the river. The second way is a much steeper downhill and leads to the other end of the river (closer to Hotel Pupp), is less scenic, but in my opinion is much closer.
Overall, our stay was relaxing and fun. We are glad that we stayed here and for those who want to get away from a large, commercial hotel, Savoy Westend is a good option.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear client,
thank you very much for your review on our hotel.
We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We loved staying here. Its a beautiful hotel, everyone was so friendly and helpful. It's got a short walk to the main part of the city which we didn't mind, and also enjoyed walking around the area where it's located to see all the other amazing hotels, churches, etc. Breakfast was wonderful with so many options - the buffet is unbelievable. The spa was decent too - it's a bit different than American spas so I thrown, but not disappointed. We had a Hot Mineral Water Bath which was so relaxing, then tried out the sauna/steam room, pool, jacuzzi, etc. I'm used to jacuzzi's being hot and this was just like regular pool water. Then I got a massage and I'm used to it being more of a relaxing environment with the lights turned low - this massage felt more medical instead of relaxing. It definitely helped my sore legs from walking though! I'm ready to go back and visit the Savoy again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear client,

thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

First, the hotel is actually made up of several buildings connected by a central courtyard. Not a big deal unless it is freezing (as it is in Nov) and you are willing to sprint between the main house (where the dining room, bar and main reception is located) and your room. There are no indoor connecting walkways, except between the spa and the Carlton wing. Second, the rooms are indeed plush and huge, even by US standards. Complimentary water, welcome chocolates, bathrobes and slippers are a nice touch. The spacious bathroom with its heated towel racks and 'pure' line of toiletries screams luxury. However,, the housekeeping staff do not speak English and requests are met with blank stares. The front desk clerks are efficient though abrupt and cold, so if you are expecting a warm welcome and gracious hospitality, you may be disappointed. Breakfast is included in the room charge and the buffet is the most varied I've seen (this side of a las Vegas casino). However, best to give the dinner buffet a miss -- it is overpriced for what it is...2,000 cz for two persons (with a glass of wine each) and sadly, we left hungry. The choices were just too exotic for us (tongue steak, grilled wild deer, veal meatballs). Better to brave the short walk to town for greater variety at more palatable prices. Finally, unless you are a marathon sprinter or mountain climber, or don't mind paying for taxis, you may want to rethink staying here. The hotel is located at the top of a long and windy steep hill. Good for the gluts, but a challenge for anyone returning home from an afternoon of shopping or dinner at the plaza.

Room Tip: Request for a room in the main house or in the Carlton wing to avoid freezing brisk walks between di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ms06880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear client,
we would like to thank you for choosing Savoy Westend Hotel and for providing a feedback.
We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Even during International Karlovy Vivary Film Festival, the hotel is calm, somewhere out of tourist path in the city. But, probably, it is in the nices place in the city. Wonderful room, with only the air conditioning somewhere noisy. Otherwise, all is perfect: nice swimming pool. Spa looks perfect. Excellent brakfast. Yes, probably it is one of the nices hotels in this charming city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear client,

we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay of yours.

We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Last weekend, we have stayed at this hotel for the 47th International Film Festival.
the hotel staffs are very welcoming, friendly and eager to help whenever possible which is very nice to see especially knowing that Czech hotels lack this.
The hotel is well equipped with very nice Spa resort and plenty of space for outdoor relaxation. Rooms are good, our corner room was spacious other rooms as i have heard from friends are small.

I have enjoyed my stay there and will be returning back soon to enjoy the relaxation atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra_B_Issa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoywestend, Manager at Savoy Westend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear client,

we would like to thank you for choosing Savoy Westend Hotel and for providing a very positive feedback.

We hope, there will be a possibility to welcome you back to our hotel in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
2 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#4 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#9 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
#10 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Westend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Westend Hotel

Address: Petra Velikeho 583/16, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: £78 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Westend Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern spa hotel is located in the old prestigious residential quarter of Karlovy Vary. It was built in 1897 and many well known people enjoyed their stay at the hotel. Among them – T. G. Masaryk,the first President of Czechoslovakia, Mussafer Eddin – the Shah of Iran and many others were the guests of the Savoy Westend Hotel. The newly reconstructed hotel has maintained many original architectural features, and it off ers an exceptionally high quality of services to its guests adhering to the highest international standards.- Spa resort with the total area 7.000 m2- It consists of fi ve Art Nouveau villa houses: Savoy, Artemis, Kleopatra, Carlton, Rusalka- All villas are directly linked to the balneal centre- 3.000 m2 modern balneal centre Spa Afrodite- 1.200m2 summer resting garden- 2 air-conditioned restaurants- 2 air-conditioned bars- Sports centre- Conference rooms- Supervised car park and underground garage for 62 cars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Westend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing