We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Palatin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palatin
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location and Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Just Perfect! We spent 10 days in Prague for a business conference and then were looking for a one day visit to Karlovy Vary. We loved the hotel and its location. The breakfast was very nice and the room (we went with an upgrade) was very very nice. As a U.S. traveler, however - I do have recommendations before you arrive in Karlovy Vary and this hotel.
We took the bus from Prague (a very nice 2 hour ride). We did not do as much research on the town or maps as we should have. So when we arrived at the bus station (on a Sunday morning) - there were no maps or directions easily available to determine how to walk to the hotel.
We ended up taking a cab...which drops you off on a pedestrian only street - so if anyone has large or heavy bags - it might be an issue to walk to the hotel. But what a great location! Once we had a map - the city is very easy and we were able to walk back to the bus station for the return trip to Prague.
One other thing to know - the front desk clerk spoke very little English and in fact we spoke the enire time in German. So recommendations for restaurants and tours would have been a little more difficult if the conversation had been entirely in English.
Karlovy Vary was a unique (and expensive place) so the wonderful rate for the hotel was quite lovely. We also ate dinner at a great restaurant down the street (actually off the main street) call the "Soldier"? Wonderful Czech meal.
Unless you are really signing up for the spa treatments or want to spend time with high-end shopping...Karlovy Vary can be seen and enjoyed in one or two days.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Diablo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    28
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
37
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Everything about this reservation was great. Check in was easy and the staff was very nice and welcoming. The hotel has a beautiful interior. The local was great, the hotel is right next to the Mill spring, which is supposedly the most therapeutic spring, the one most frequently recommended by doctors. In the other direction, a 5 minute walk will get you to the end of the buildings and onto the path that leads to a network of trails.

The only complaint I had was that the beds are not the most comfortable, I could feel the springs through the mattress, but at least the bed was huge!

  • Liked — The room was very peaceful
  • Disliked — No WiFi.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lah101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

I stayed 4 nights in this small and cosy hotel. Although there were problems with my reservation (dont know if it is due to hotel or the conference organiser through I reserved the room), the stay was very pleasant and the staff was very sorry about the inconvenience. First night I spend in a hotel's apartment, which was ok (Good tip for the families). Next day I got my room, which was absolutely charming. It was stylish with big wonderful bed, big and clean bathroom, and nice&light coloured interior. Breakfast was excellent too and the breakfast room had nice atmosphere. The hotel is located in the pittoresque old town, just next to the colonnades.

I definitely recommend Hotel Palatin to anyone going to Karlovy Vary! Just lovely!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiralis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panos_the_beautiful
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Very nice location. In the centre of Karlovy Vary. The staff are very friendly and even though some did not speak English fluently they tried their best to help us.
Rooms were vey big, and very clean. It is a small hotel, only 15 rooms but it is very nice indeed. The breakfast is quite unique. There is a small buffet with jams, cheese bacon etc but the lady comes to your table and asks you for your order. You can have fried eggs, omellette with cheese, bacon, etc.
The main spa of the town is less than 50 metres from the hotel!
It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank panos_the_beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Close to everything, very central location, Room very big and clean, bathroom was big too, comfortable beds... I can not think of anything that I did not like. Very friendly staff helped me with everything I asked. Good breakfast too. I will be staying with you again next time! Thank you!

  • Liked — Nice confortable room, great location, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank natalyaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#4 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marttel
Hotel Marttel
#54 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#21 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petr
Hotel Petr
#62 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Dvorak Karlovy Vary
Vienna House Dvorak Karlovy Vary
#18 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatin

Property: Hotel Palatin
Address: Lazenska 16/10, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palatin 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatin Hotel Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing