We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Pension Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Villa Rosa
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Reviewed 14 November 2007

We spent 3 nights at this small pension. The bus stop is just next to it and if u go down from the hill you are directly at the colonade. We loved the breakfast they took very good care of us there. I recommend to pay extra for the viewit is wonderfull.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2007

The Villa Rosa is beautiful, and nicely situated, but very poorly run.

We had a guaranteed reservation for a balcony room (upgrade), but when we arrived at three o'clock with our considerable luggage, exhausted from a long day, the manager of the Villa Rosa told us there was no record of the reservation and no room for us at all. Luckily I had brought a copy of the e-mail confirmation with me! There was a huge language barrier, too, so it was another piece of luck that we had a Czech-speaking relative with us. Otherwise, we would have been out on the street. Literally.

With some persuasion, the manager found alternative rooms for us at another pension, but they were awful and we refused them. Finally, she spoke with the manager of the Hotel Amadeus and arranged for a room for us there. It was a little more expensive (100 Ck), but the Villa Rosa picked up the difference, as well they should. I don't know what would have happened if not for our Czech relative! The Amadeus was wonderful, just full of character, and the owner/manager was a gem.

I don't altogether blame the manager of the Villa Rosa. Once she understood, she was very enthusiastic and helpful. In retrospect, I should have maintained an e-mail conversation with the Villa Rosa as I did with the other places we stayed in the Slovak and Czech Republics.

But I still rate it as a terrible experience.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank LizG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2007

Pension Villa Rosa is perched on top of the hill above the Karlovy Vary Spa valley on the road that goes up behind the Thermal. It has a tremendous view of the spa area and we paid slightly extra to have a balcony - it was definitely worth it.

It is an easy and pretty walk down a path from the hotel garden to the central spa area,. The walk back up was harder, but I found a few shots of Becherovka made it a lot easier! For the less mobile, there are regular buses from the theatre - get off at "Promenada". Due to the steep path I would not recommend this pension between Mid-November and March as the path would be treacherous in ice.

The hotel has modern high quality furnishing throughout and relaxing decor. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. The staff were friendly but had limited English.

Breakfast was typical central european buffet of ham, cheeses, bread, jams, cereals and eggs were made to order. The pension does not serve any other meals so you need to go down the hill for supper.

We really enjoyed our stay here and I think it is probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at in the Czech Republic. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thirdpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Benjamin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Attendorn, Germany
1
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Magicofbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Välj rum med balkong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Dvorana
Hotel Dvorana
#12 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garni Hotel/Pension Fan
Garni Hotel/Pension Fan
#64 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASTORIA Hotel & Medical Spa
ASTORIA Hotel & Medical Spa
#25 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#63 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#9 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Villa Rosa

Address: Na Vyhlidce 2064/22, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Villa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing