We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel at the top of hill”
Review of Hotel Vitkova Hora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vitkova Hora
Ranked #52 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
A TripAdvisor Member
7225
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is located at the top of a hill overlooking Karlovy Vary. Beautiful location in a quiet corner of the Czech Republic.
Note that Sat Nav is not the best when entering the post code. It will take you to the centre of the local village - keep going straight on for around 2 km, you'll then see the sign for the hotel up a hill on the right.
Also don't be put off by the local airport - when we were there we did not see 1 plane land or take off. Those on the tarmac were of the small single engine variety.
Room was clean spacious and modern, breakfast is also included in the rate.

Note - This is no lift in the hotel - if you have heavy bags prepare to walk up (up to) 3 flight of stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vitkova Hora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel has great location...not far from city of Karlovy Vary, close to the airport but still outside enough to enjoy the privacy and silence. We loved the city view you have there.
The apartments are sized sufficently, equipped according to the expectations versus the money, you pay.
We had only the breakfast, which was OK for the money again, however, nothing special.

I can recommend this one, as it is great value for money with fantastic location, if you are looking for quite place.

Room Tip: city view ask for the double bed
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kusabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

The hotel rents out little cabins, with magnificent views. We stayed there for 3 nights, while visiting the Spa town Karlovy Vary because we like to vary the type of accommodation. So instead of going from one hotelroom to another, we visit the occasional hostel or campsite.
These cabins (for 3) have a sort of communistic old charm to it. Very sober, but warm and dry and cosy. Apart from the bathroom, this is how it must have been in the 50's.

Beds are okay; the bathroom the strong point of the accommodation: decent shower, clean toilet. A tiny little kitchen, but with a fridge. No other facilities.
From the hotel next door it's a relaxed (40 minute) walk to town, down the hill and through the woods.
There is a airport for small aircraft very nearby, but that was no bother at all.

At the hotel, communication with reception was somewhat difficult due to a lack of (western) foreign languages. What struck me was the fact that there didn't seem to be a place to relax and sit, apart from the dining room. Made me wonder what hotelguests do when they grow tired of their rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sterres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Although we live in the Netherlands, we agreed on spending the 2008 Easter in a Czech Spa Resort called Karlovy Vary (Karlsbad, in German). On the 20.March around lunch time we left home hoping to make the 850km to our destination in about 10 hours. We had previously called the hotel to confirm our late arrival and also highlighted this "detail" when we made the reservation. Weather got worse and worse and so that when we left the A3 (Autobahn3) we realized we were right in the middle of a snow storm. This caused a 2 hour delay and waiting in traffic jam and reached the hotel exhausted at 2.30am. Knocking at the entrance door nobody opened. We insisted another 15 minutes, while the snow and the chilly wind was blowing madly. We saw a light inside of a nearby cabin and woke up the person sleeping. He happened to be one of the hotel employees and opened the hotel for us. We waited another 15 min till the "hotel owner" gave us the keys of a reserved room. Next day, we were served breakfast and planned to visit the resort a bit. Weather was not on our side at all so by the end of the day, we agreed to have a hot tea and some blueberry palacincky (pancakes) in our hotel. When we asked for the bill, the male waiter apologized for not having a paper receipt and verbally told us the amount we had to pay. Once back in our rooms, we realized we had been charged 120 CZ Krones more than we should have been;-((((((((. In the next 3 days it snowed madly so that the snow layer reached 30-40 cm. We decided to shorten our trip to one day, having in mind our summer tires and the long way ahead. We let the owners ( husband and wife) know about our decision 24 hours beforehand and they seemed to understand our situation but by checkout, the lady-owner told us we would be charged the whole amount. This added the "final touch" to our whole trip.....a bitter taste, unfortunately. Seeing the greediness in the owners' eyes, made me ponder on the loss of goodwill in everyday human interactions. I hope whoever reads my review will consider twice before heading for VitkovaHora.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Rotedelweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank irenicus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terez Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matrix8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
1.3 mi away
The Beautiful Queen Hotel
The Beautiful Queen Hotel
#86 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#56 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
11 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garni Hotel/Pension Fan
Garni Hotel/Pension Fan
#53 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Smetana-Vysehrad
Hotel Smetana-Vysehrad
#35 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Resort POPPY
Resort POPPY
#5 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marttel
Hotel Marttel
#57 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitkova Hora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitkova Hora

Address: Olshova Vrata 59, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: £48 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vitkova Hora 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not very far from the centre of the town, at the very edge of the natural reserve of the Slavkovski Forest, a very pleasant hotel has been newly reopened which will be warmly remembered by many of you. The place you deserve - Hotel & excursion restaurant Vitkova Hora. The cozy hotel can sleep 24 people in luxurious rooms with the possibility of extra beds for very advantageous prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vitkova Hora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing