We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in a homelike pension during the flooding in Czech Republic 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garni Hotel/Pension Fan
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A week in a homelike pension during the flooding in Czech Republic 2013”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We came to this pension in the end of May just when driving rains started to generate flood in the country. Because of the weather we spent a lot of time at the pension so I was happy that it was so pleasant and comfy. The room was large, its space was sufficient for two bed, a giant table and chairs, but also for a built-in kitchen corner with a sink, a table, rangette, a cupboard with all the needed things like pots, pans, dishes, salt and so on, and a refrigerator (not a minibar!). We baught foodstuffs in supermarkets and cooked every day to save money (and to kill the time - the rains didn't stop). Minus was the sound of the refrigerator at night as it stands just near the pillow of one of the beds :-))
In the bathroom there is a shower corner and a sink with a large table. No negative remarks.
You can leave you car in the street in front of your window (for free) or in the yard of the pension (paid). 200 m from the pension is a bus stop, so you can get to the center of karlovy Vary and back without any problem.

The only important negative points of the pensions why I don't give "exellent" rating: now in 2010's even those cheapest hotels or restaurants provide free wifi for their guests. Here it was very strange to pay not little money for the accomodation and not to have it! I'm sure it's a wrong decision of the owner of this hotel bringing such negative remarks as mine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank olena_krush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Vera welcomed in spite of us not having booked. Our room was 100% clean with own kitchenette and bathroom. Vera supplied us with maps and pointed us to the local restaurant. The #5 bus regularly runs past the pension and takes one to Turnice (bus terminal) for 18czk pp. The #2 bus from the terminal takes one to the fenicular (look out point over Karlovy Vary). We arranged to have our washing done (15czk for a big bundle). Although not in the city centre, this pension give good value for money and free WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank MradInge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had a room for one person. It had everything I needed, a bed and closet, chair and desk. Even a small kitchen. The bathroom and toilet looked nice and was clean.
There is laundry service and breakfast, just ask. :-)
The lady was very friendly and helpful. She checked for me the timetables for public transport etc.

I can definitely recommend this accommodation!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emmytje1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemnitz, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Nice staff, spacious, clean rooms for a good price, delicious breakfast. If you are looking for a nice hotel for a good price, this is what you need. The city center can be reached within half an hour walking. I think that it is not far away. I can recommend this hotel for couples, friends or family accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We travelled to Karlovy Vary to participate in a bootcamp - seminar about personal development and we stayed there for 2 days. The Fan itself is beautiful and quiet and the rooms are well equiped - we had more accesories than we could possibly use. I really liked the possibility of having just a electronic card which serves both the door lock and the main switch - it is fast and easy. Our bootcamp was taking place in the backyard, which the owner kindly provided for free. The rooms facing street have magnificient view - you can see the town from height. The only downside was the connectivity - the buses went every 30 minutes to the centre and it took about 8 minutes if I remember well. But I suppose if you arrive with a car, than this is not a problem for you.
I can wholeheartly reccomend to any travelers who want great value for their money, and as a students we even got another discount.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TomReta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This was the best price/benefits that I had in hotel in Czech Republic. The location is perfect, the price is just great and the room is really clean and large.
I do recommend this hotel if you want to spend some days of leisure or business at Karlovy Vary. For friends or family, the place is just great!
The city is marvelous! It's like a dream visiting the city and surroundings. For me, you can find the bests sightseeing in central Europe, like nature, castles, and beautiful historical buildings.
I'm attaching some pictures to inspire your trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moika85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vitkova Hora
Hotel Vitkova Hora
#49 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marttel
Hotel Marttel
#55 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#19 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#57 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Derby
Hotel Derby
#52 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
EA Hotel Elefant
EA Hotel Elefant
#50 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Hotel/Pension Fan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Hotel/Pension Fan

Property: Garni Hotel/Pension Fan
Address: U Trati 57/5, Karlovy Vary 360 04, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Hotel/Pension Fan 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garnihotel/Pension FAN, 2006 certificated by the Hotel and Restaurant Associon of Czech Republic is a two-storied building, situated in the spa town of Karlovy Vary, district Bohatice.You can expect polished, cosy and quiet rooms with helpful staff and excellent connectiveness to the city centre with municipal transport. There is a kitchen unit in every room so you can cook your own meal or you can enjoy Czech breakfast every morning downstairs.Rooms are equipped with private bathroom and a toilette, satelite TV, fridge, coffee maker, alarm-clock, cooking stove and anti-allergic pillows and blankets.There is WLAN available in every room on request.Regardin your children, we can provide you children cots,stools and variety of boardgames free of charge.There is also a secured parking lot behind FAN.You can buy municipal transport tickets at the reception and we can store your golf bags/bikes in a secured room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Garni Hotel/Pension Fan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing