We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if you want something completely unusual and unique”
Review of Hotel Jested

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jested
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Liberec
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you want something completely unusual and unique”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel sits atop a mountain and looks like a 60s sci-fi spaceship or James Bond villain’s lair. We imagined that hidden beneath us, within the mountain, were an army of blue-jump-suited henchmen all helping to construct a death ray.

The views from the restaurant and rooms are spectacular. The restaurant served good inexpensive food and provided a good breakfast. The menu was a bit disorganised and it was only after dinner that we discovered another page at the back with additional entree choices.

The en-suite rooms are clean and comfortable, but could do with some refurbishment. There are apparently some less expensive rooms with shared facilities. This could be turned into a luxury hotel but then the prices would be higher.

On the Sunday morning we found the car park and downstairs of the hotel overrun with extreme runners who had run up the mountain. I’m sure none of them bought any of the hotel’s food or drinks and if I were the owner I would be discouraging or charging them!

There is a cable car to bottom/top that is worth the ride even if you drive and park at the top. The tickets seem to be included in the room cost, although we only discovered this when we asked for them. I recored the trip down and put it on you tube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXjvk5jHYY4

Certainly worth a visit if you want something completely unusual and unique.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ondrej R, Manager at Hotel Jested, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Děkujeme moc za velmi kladnou recenzi. Opravdu si vážíme každého spokojeného hosta a pro náš personál je největší odměnou za práci pochvala. Děkujeme za vaší návštěvu a doufám, že nás brzy navštívíte. S pozdravem Jan Absolon DiS – provozní hotelu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    35
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My partner and I stayed here in the summer and booked the larger of the rooms. The staff were great and the trip up was worth the view. It was a unique experience given the nature of the building and the food and drinks were both good value and well presented. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in the area of Liberec. The decor was quite dated but it was more about the experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The location of this hotel is hard to beat anywhere in the region! Sitting atop the highest mountain peak in the region, it lies just 45 minutes from Germany and Poland, which are both visible from the lookout points. Getting here can be part of the adventure, as many travelers walk or bike up the road, hike up the mountain paths, ride the aerial cablecar to the top, or drive up the narrow winding road to reach the summit.

While the hotel may seem a bit dated to some visitors, anyone with an eye for retro design and an appreciation for what the hotel and tower looked like at the time of its construction will find this place to be a real gem.

Three classes of rooms are available -- suites, standard double rooms with private bathroom and shower, or basic double rooms with shared bath and shower on the same corridor. (The idea of a shared bath may seem odd for a hotel with such high-class potential, given its location, but makes sense given the extreme space constraints within the tower as well as the date of its construction in the late 1960's to early 1970's under the Communist regime.)

The design of the rooms, furniture, windows, etc. all fits into the 60's era, with the stylized windows and sloped exterior walls of the tower making you feel almost like you're in an airplane. Sometimes the clouds come up and surround the entire tower -- so much that you can't see halfway up the tower from the parking lot -- but this makes you feel like your room is up in the sky...truly amazing! And of course, when the sky is clear, the view is tremendous.

We stayed in a standard double room with private bath. The large entryway featured a huge closet, a door to the toilet, and a separate door to the shower and sink. Though they look a bit old, they were very clean, absolutely spotless, and smelled fresh. (*If you choose the basic accommodations with shared bath: we took a peek at the shared showers and toilets, and they looked identical to what was in our room, very clean, fresh-smelling, and well-taken care of.)

The Euro-style double bed (meaning two single beds pushed together) had fresh crisp linens, down comforters, and large plush pillows. The linens were fairly new, as was all of the bedding. When we first arrived, each side of the bed was cutely made up with a stack of towels, toiletries, and a chocolate. The bed itself was very comfortable and we both had a good night of sleep. If you are a very light sleeper, you may find the noise of the wind to be bothersome, but this depends on the weather and can certainly be tolerated to be able to have such great views :)

The hotel staff were very friendly and able to help in several languages. Given the hotel's proximity to the border, it was most likely that staff members who knew a second language spoke German. Some spoke Polish, and you might find Russian spoken by older staff (learned during the Communist era). Some staff spoke basic English and of course all were very patient in trying to assist guests who spoke other languages.

The menus in the restaurant are written in Czech, German, and English, and they offer a variety of foods ranging from traditional Czech cuisine to more international fare. Having come from our home in Prague where we're used to high metropolitan prices (and even higher prices in tourist zones), we actually found the prices here to be lower than typical (non-tourist) Prague prices. The two of us each had a meat-based entree with additional side dishes, a shared dessert, and a bottle of wine for the equivalent of $35 USD, and it was all freshly made to order and absolutely delicious. The restaurant is located one level above the main entrance and has newer furnishings that were wisely chosen to still fit in with the original design and style of the building. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful, and we noticed better English among some of the waitresses here compared to the desk staff.

Our room package included a buffet breakfast the following morning, which offered a wide variety of fruits, breads, cold cuts, eggs, bacon, cereals, yogurts, etc. Orange and apple juice are available from a machine, and you can make your own coffee at a fully-automated espresso machine.

For overnight guests, arrival by car is easiest, and hotel guests may park for free at the top of the hill. (Just tell the parking attendant you are a guest when you arrive.) If you are traveling without a car, it is possible to use the aerial cablecar to get up to the mountaintop, but it only runs until 7pm. If your room package comes with tickets for the cablecar, you receive these at the front desk. (The cablecar is run by the Czech transit authority, so you must have a ticket. Hotel guests don't ride for free and must have the tickets from the hotel in hand.)

This was a wonderful place to stay and we're already making plans for some visiting friends to spend a night in this unique hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irisheyes283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2004

Hotel Jested is one of the best places to stay in the Czech Republic. It is sitting on top of Mountain Jested, a high peak of Luzicke Mountains, which divide the mountaneous Northern Bohemia from hilly Central Bohemia. When booking a hotel, you may want to choose what you want to see - typically hilly Bohemia to the south or mountains to the north. When the visibility is the best, you see far in to the Poland to the north and as far as Prague to the south (according to a tourist guide), and also Germany to the west. We chose the northern view, where, in the valley, is the city of Liberec. View was just amazing. Hotel design came from a famous Czech architect, and it really shows a style. While tourist (most frequented) lower floors and observation deck show some aging, the restaurant and hotel is really clean, with refreshed interiors. Staff is friendly and food is very Czech with international items as well. My family enjoyed the entire stay: food, view, room, everything. There is a good hiking around, cable car down into the city, and great skying in winter (Jested Mountain is also well know by ski jump championships). Parking is small, on top of the mountain, but with a helpful attendant and reserved area for hotel guests. The view is related to weather conditions, as this mountain can be in clouds when clouds fly low. We certainly will stay in this hotel again when back in Northern Bohemia and recommend this stay to everyone who likes nature and mountains with some luxury included.

Helpful?
24 Thank vlku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberec hotels
4.2 mi away
Clarion Grandhotel Zlaty Lev
3.4 mi away
Pytloun Hotel Liberec
Pytloun Hotel Liberec
#10 of 15 in Liberec
51 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pytloun Grand Hotel Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pytloun Design Hotel
Pytloun Design Hotel
#11 of 15 in Liberec
54 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Babylon
Wellness Hotel Babylon
#5 of 15 in Liberec
203 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pytloun City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jested? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jested

Property: Hotel Jested
Address: Horni Hanychov 153, Liberec 460 08, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Liberec Region > Liberec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Liberec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jested 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of a restaurant and hotel in the Jested tower is a unique piece of architecture. It was built in the second half of the 1960s as designed by architect K. Hubacek who received the Perret's Prize of the International Union of Architects for it. The overall interior concept meets criteria of both common tourist visitors and the most demanding guests. The hotel features one suite, one family room, 12 double rooms extended with 5 double rooms in the tourist category. Full lodging capacity is 42 beds and 10 additional beds.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jested reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing