We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, awfull service.”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice room, awfull service.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We wanted to have romantic weekend at Marianske lazne. We choose hotel Continental as nice place to stay according comments.
Payment of stay was done more than 3times - nobody appology and it took more than 1 week to get money back!!!! any word or appology, absolutly non profesional behavior. We inform receptionist that payment was done more than once but any interest to solve it (no appology just excuse that is fist day in job of receptionist- but manager was also here and it seems that one more payment was done because "good" advice). Different price then on Booking.com they inform us that they have different exchange rate.
Internet connection was not functional during our stay (we were in 3rd floor).
We have two dinners included, both was awfull, one should be romantic with candels and one standard, Just one difference 4 hearts from fabric on table during "romantic" stay. Starter should be salad, but no salad on plates for everybody, main dish and dessert was disgusting.
We wanted to use sauna. Open hours should be till 19:00 - at 18:30 one person came to room without knocking turn off sauna without any words and informed us that in couple of minutes her collegues will come to lock room due to safety reasons..no more explanation provided.
If you expect profesional attitude and nice service choose another hotel. To be fair hotel room was very nice and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tereza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Traveler,
we truly apologize if the stay in our Hotel was not meeting your expectations.
Please, give us once again the chance to point out few issues to explain you what happened.
First of all, we have been assisting you personally during your stay and afterwards through email and I am very sorry that our efforts to explain you the situation were not successful. Concerning the payment, when we realized the mistake, you were informed straight away both by the receptionist and the Front Office Manager, it was fixed few minutes after as per time reported on the transactions from our terminal.
I am sorry to hear from your side that the staff was not helpful, because I was informed by the Front Office Manager that you were assisted all over the time since they asked also for our help from the headquarter in Prague. We promptly fixed the mistake: it was the bank in fact which kept the amount blocked but this depends only on the bank itself and not on us directly. Each bank has different measures and policies, which can be more or less strict.
Regarding the sauna timing, we have already investigated and taken actions.
Regarding the rate, booking.com mentioned in all its pages results "You will pay the hotel in the hotel’s local currency (CZK) at the exchange rate on day of payment" and this is what we do for all each guests.
We hope you could reconsinder our hotel once more. We would be happy to prove you our professionality, quality of services and staff.
Please, if you feel like having more clarifications do not hesitate to contact us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    51
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
66
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Got a spontaneous idea of visiting Marianske Lazne for a single night and booked a room online. Didn't do much research but was happy, we picked Continental.
The staff was friendly at arrival, we got the choice of which room we wanted, and the receptionist spoke good English.
The room had a good size, was very clean and had comfortable furniture. The bed was excellent and I slept like a baby.
During the evening we had a drink in the restaurant, but it was about to close (we should have come earlier). The friendly waiter - who also was able to give us helpful information in general - suggested that we bought a bottle of wine to enjoy on the hotel's terrace on the second floor. We ordered a bottle of Bohemian Sekt (0nly Czk. 190,-!!!), and the friendly waiter made sure we had an ice busket, beautiful glasses and even a bowl of water for our dog. We had a splendid time on the terrace.
Breakfast was really good as well. Plenty of choices in meats, cheases, sausages, honey, fruit, cereals, etc. etc., good coffee and the option of having for instance scrambled eggs cooked to order. I was sitting close to the buffet, and during my meal I watched the waiter (same as yesterday) check the buffet 5 times to make sure everything was still fresh and plenty.
After breakfast my boyfriend had a swim in the hotel's (small but nice) swimmingpool. He was happy.
This is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in the Czech Republic (out of app. 40 hotels), and I'll be happy to return, especially if the rate is the same :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you very much for your nice review!
It is very rewarding for us to see that we have provided an excellent service to our guests and you were fully satisfied with your choice.
Thank you for the nice words you used to describe the dedication and helpfullness of our staff, we much appreciate it.
We hope to welcome you soon and for any furture inquiry do not hesitate to contact us directly, we would be happy to assist you personally and guarantee you another plesant stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Very comfortable room. Good breakfast (although esspresso was for extra charge). We did have several complaints, though: 1. Although payed in advance for the parking, there was no parking space for us the second night (I should mention for the favour of the hotel that we were refunded for both nights). 2. Wifi did not work one out of the two nights of our stay. 3. The "Swimming" pool is too small to allow actual swimming.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are really deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miki367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for posting your feedback of your stay in Hotel Continental in Marianske Lazne.
We are glad you had a positive experience and we hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.
Regarding the parking slot, we are very sorry for the unconvenience.
For any information or inquiry please do not hesitate to contact us directly, the staff of Hotel Continental will be at your disposal.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel is newly refurbished, rooms are very comfortable. I can highly recommend the breakfast which is normally included in the price because it is delicious. City center is within a 10-minute walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room with park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Márton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for having visited us in Marianske Lazne and for posting your nice feedbacks on Tripadvisor.
We are happy you had a positive experience and we hope to welcome you back soon for another stay.
Do not hesitate to contact us in case you wish to have further information about our hotel, the spa services or any wellness packages you might be interested in.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Continental is along the strip of hotels hence much competition, caters mainly for elderly Germans but were happy to oblige with drinks on terrace otherwise empty, had a good meal there, comfortable rooms and bed and quiet enough although on main roads. Free Wi Fi

Room Tip: I would think most rooms would be good, perhaps face away from main road for ultra quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for your positive review about our Hotel Continental!
We are glad to see you had an enjoyable time in Marianske Lazne. It is very rewarding for us to read the feedbacks from our satisfied guests.
We are glad you enjoyed our summer terrace, where you can relax, sunbath and sip a nice drink on the sun! Thank you also for the tip about the rooms, we are sure future travelers will find it useful.
We are truly looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and we invite you to contact us directly for any further inquiry or information.
Best regards from Marianske Lazne and Hotel Continental
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Nice place to stay and relax, with an excellent kitchen and helpful staff.
Good spa offer and nice little wellness zone. Only the sauna closes at 6pm which is 2 hours before the swimming pool:-( We also didn´t like paying for parking (8 euros per night) so we found the place for free next tho the town swimming pool (2 minutes walk from the hotel).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Traveler,
thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay in Hotel Continental in Tripadvisor.
It is very rewarding for us to see that we provided a good service to our guests.
We are very happy you like our restaurant´cuisine. Our chef will be very glad about that, as all the staff is.
We hope to welcome you very soon for a second stay.
For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us directly we would love to assist you personally.
We wish you nice Christmas holidays and wonderful beginning of 2012!
The Hotel Continental Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianske Lazne, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My mother and I were moved to this hotel as our first choice double booked. The first day and night was a mixed experience as we had a room on the third floor that had a shower with a sloping wall (making it near impossible to stand straight) and internet was non-existent (despite touting 'free wifi').
After the first night we decided that we would leave but the lady at the reception after learning of our dissatisfaction bent over backwards to find us a suitable room during peak season. Eventually we were found a much nicer room on the first floor and we retained a reasonable rate per room.
Many times I was sitting in the foyer with my laptop (if you need speedy or working wifi in your room good luck if you can get it) using the internet. I noticed the staff appeared to have a good comraderie and supportive of each other. Yes its true Czech and German languages rule here so if you speak anything else you will find it hard. But if you can communicate and chat with the staff you'll also feel the pleasantness.
I recommend the package with breakfast and dinner. The cook/chef here is excellent and cooks traditional Czech food very well. Even the pasta with salmon was fantastic. The hot selection at breakfast is a little lacking but the rest makes up for it.
It's only a good 10 minute walk to the Kolonnade water springs.
CONS: This is NOT a hotel for business people. Rooms do not cater for much of a workstation and the wifi internet speed is, sadly, extremely poor - if you can even get it. I was on the first floor and my wifi signal was "fair" and the speed was 565bytes per second!!! My Google home page took 30secs to load and I have a new Toshiba laptop. The best signal is in the foyer. The other downside is having a room facing the road. It IS loud at night. Lastly there's no airconditioning so beware in summer. All in all a good stay with pleasant staff and great food.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the road if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Traveler,
thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel Continental. We are glad you had a positive experience despite the turbolent beginning. We are happy that you find our staff kind and helpful, we always try to make the best to satisfy our guests. We would like to apologize for the internet connection, we are working to have a more powerful one.
For the business we offer a very nice space equipped with sound and lighting up to 200 people.
We are glad you appreciated the restaurant service, I will forward the nice feedbacks to our chef and staff, who will be very happy to know that.
We hope to welcome you back soon and for your next relaxing and wellness trip to Mariánské Lázně please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards,
Hotel Continental
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Hotel Romanza
Residence Hotel Romanza
#54 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
#18 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Monty SPA Resort
Chateau Monty SPA Resort
#14 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spa Hotel Devin
Spa Hotel Devin
#35 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#2 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Palace Zvon
Orea Spa Hotel Palace Zvon
#17 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Hlavni trida 230/88, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to its position, Hotel Continental**** offers to its guests the chance of enjoying in the best way the historic and picturesque centre of Marienbad and its services. Hotel Continental is divided into two buildings - Aida and Tosca - which offer respectively 14 Deluxe rooms and 27 Standard rooms. Some of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel has a restaurant, lobby bar, swimming pool, sauna, wellness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing